Cue Clothing Reviews | Glassdoor

Cue Clothing Reviews

Updated 19 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 72 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Cue Clothing CEO  (no image)
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great pace with weekly deliveries of new season stock and the staff discount is amazing(in 13 reviews)

  • "Good discount and if you perform well with sales you are given shifts(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "However Cue is a business that I have known person after person be promoted internally and it does it's best to always retain its people(in 10 reviews)

  • "unrealistic pressure to meet sales targets(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Full time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail in Brisbane, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cue Clothing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fashion Forward, Design driven Australian buisness. Supports team members to achieve thier career goals. Fun and energetic envrionment. Team is so passionate and great to work with.

    Cons

    Haven't experinced any cons. You get out what you put in!

    Advice to Management

    Love the everchanging environment of the buisness. Have loved working here for many years!!!

    Cue Clothing2018-02-19
  2. "Veronika Maine - Standard Fashion Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Cue Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Veronika Maine team was a pleasure to work with. The set times for arrival and lunch help you to get out the door at a decent time and give you early Fridays. They are loyal to those who have been with them for a long time. It is a good name to have on your resume.

    Cons

    If you like a job where, you just go in, get the job done, and leave, then this is a good place for you. For me they were not open to the ideas or growth. Not very inspirational.

    Advice to Management

    Some management made it impossible to grow within the company. Also, they were not willing to give credit to the work you've done outside of your roll, in fear of higher compensation or growth.

    Cue Clothing2017-09-05
  3. "Amazing company to work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager/Strategy - Product Development in Boulder, CO
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cue Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Work schedule. Collaborative environment.

    Cons

    Sometimes work gets overwhelming combined with studies

    Cue Clothing2017-04-06
  4. "Respect your staff members and they will respect you in return"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Cue Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have worked with some of the most amazing people

    Cons

    Senior management (particularly the owners) are irrational, unappreciative and hot-headed.

    Advice to Management

    Consider your actions. I'd give you 1 star had I not worked with such incredible people.

    Cue Clothing2019-09-20
  5. "Horrible owners"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Cue Clothing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount was ok I guess, but incentives weren't

    Cons

    Owners expect u to live only for cue. They practically treat u like slaves.

    Advice to Management

    Kindness never hurt anyone

    Cue Clothing2019-08-31
  6. "Production assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cue Clothing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance and manager support.

    Cons

    Low salary compared to other companies/ living costs.

    Cue Clothing2019-07-31
  7. "Save Yourself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Cue Clothing part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I made some beautiful friends here, it is easy to bond through trauma.

    Cons

    I spent 5 years at Cue and it was a hellscape from start to finish. Everything that can be wrong with a company, is wrong with this one. The toxic culture starts with the family who own and run it, who are known to randomly call workers and abuse them if they cannot meet their unobtainable standards. The management is at best clueless, and at worst; bullies. This company does not care about you, this company will... not care about you. Management is only concerned with what dollar value you can bring in, and will constantly pressure you to be making more than is ever realistic in the current retail environment. Cue has spent years relying on a good name to bring in new employees, please save yourself the trouble, and go work for a company with less institutionalised venom.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I have none- there is no advice that can fix this broken system.

    Cue Clothing2019-08-24
  8. "Cue"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant 

    I worked at Cue Clothing part-time

    Pros

    - high end fashion - a sense of professionalism -decent wage -can work your way up

    Cons

    - demand to meet weekly and personal targets -micromanagement from all sides -can get boring real quick

    Cue Clothing2019-07-19
  9. "Great workplace for passionate retailers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Melbourne

    I have been working at Cue Clothing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Respected Australian owned and made brand Hard working and passionate teams - very driven to perform/succeed. Great staff discount A lot of longevity within the business

    Cons

    Not a Monday - Friday job.

    Cue Clothing2019-07-15
  10. "You need to be thick-skinned to survive at Cue."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Cue Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Store teams are made up of fantastic groups of girls - you will make friends for life here. Decent discount on Cue and Veronika Maine product. Shifts are easy enough to come by (although you may get stuck in a store that is so quiet you feel like you’re in solitary confinement).

    Cons

    Despite discount on product, no clothing allowance is provided so keeping up with current season stock (as is expected of all staff) is expensive. Bonuses can be difficult to get due to impossibly high targets, and staff are disciplined for not meeting said targets when it is often beyond their control (lack of foot traffic in certain stores, unwearable/poor quality product, etc). Very little initial and ongoing... training is provided. Upper management are disorganised, unhelpful, unresponsive, and overall incompetent, and do not care about the high staff turnover, instead relying on the public's positive perception of the quality of the brand and the company itself in order to constantly replace its employees. Very few staff are made to feel valued or appreciated. Make sure you have enough other things going on in your life that you aren't consumed by the sales-driven nature of this cutthroat company.

    Show More
    Cue Clothing2019-07-23
Found 72 reviews