Cue Clothing "sales targets" Reviews | Glassdoor

Cue Clothing Employee Reviews about "sales targets"

Updated Jul 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
39%
Recommend to a Friend
26%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Great pace with weekly deliveries of new season stock and the staff discount is amazing(in 16 reviews)

  • "My personal experience at Cue has been a positive one(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "However Cue is a business that I have known person after person be promoted internally and it does it's best to always retain its people(in 14 reviews)

  • "Constant pressure to make sales targets that were simply not possible(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "sales targets"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Avoid like plague"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Cue Clothing part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A FEW nice supportive people

    Cons

    Horrible work culture, everyone hates each other, so much pressure After working here for 3 years I was still made to feel like I was a bad employee who wasn’t doing well enough. Constant pressure to make sales targets that were simply not possible. Huge staff turn around.

    Continue reading
    Cue Clothing2019-07-21
  2. "Great Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I have been working at Cue Clothing for less than a year

    Pros

    -people are nice to work with

    Cons

    sales targets -pay -no career opportunities -forced to work a lot of hours

    Cue Clothing2019-05-17
  3. "AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Cue Clothing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I met some amazing people while working with the company, friends for life that were going through the same things as I was. There was a huge sense of solidarity between staff because we were all so neglected by upper management. The pay was good but it wasn't worth the stress.

    Cons

    I honestly don't even know where to begin, if I could give them zero stars I would! When I first started with the company I was promised every perk under the sun and they sounded like a fantastic company to work for. I genuinely loved the clothes too so I was excited to work there. I was given an Assistant Manager role and told I would have full time hours. Great, I thought! Turns out that my role was based in a consession that was at the time unmanned in Myer. There was no Store Manager. So even though I had the title of Assistant Manager, I was actually doing everything a Store Manager would do. I had no full time or part time staff. Most of the time for the first few weeks I was on my own, sometimes they would put a casual with me. You are not permitted to have your own selling style with this company. You have to approach customers and if they say they don't need help, you have to keep going back to them multiple times. This resulted in customers actually leaving the store but in upper management's eyes, if you weren't doing this then you weren't doing your job. If they saw you approach the customer less than 3 or 4 times you were reprimanded. Also if a customer was to pick up a garment and go and check out with one of the Myer staff members at the tills, you cannot use that sale on your daily target. Some Myer staff were kind enough to write down the amounts for us and bring it over on a piece of paper so we wouldn't miss the sale. If you sold a $400 dress it wasn't good enough, you would be asked why didn't you force them to buy a jacket or a blouse etc? An exact quote from the area manager was "The customer doesn't tell you what they are looking for, you sell them what they NEED." It was not acceptable for a customer to have an opinion on a garment without it being forced down their throat by being told how great it was and how good it would look on them, even if that was a lie. It was so dishonest to the customer! The store was absolutely trashed when I started, from various casuals who weren't trained correctly trying to do their best to run the store without a manager. Security tags through random parts of garments and not seams, absolutely no organisation in the stock room and stock missing. The pressure from the area manager was something I would not wish on my worst enemy. She was an absolute bully. Daily sales targets were absolutely extortionate and when they weren't met there would be emails sent to all management staff in the state detailing what individual person didn't meet targets and how they have to do better. She would cut me off while speaking to customers, one time to tell me that I should have used the word 'material' rather than 'fabric'. She instilled fear in all of the staff and would send multiple emails and text messages at all hours of the day and night, even on days off. She once arrived to my consession, logged into my computer and changed my hours so that I only had 12 per week from then on and didn't even speak to me about it. I was still expected to manage the store and was responsible for budgets etc on 12 hours a week. On the daily I would go to the stock room to cry. All of the other Myer staff knew the pressure that the Cue and Veronika Maine staff were under and would comfort us when we were upset. It was probably the lowest I have ever felt in a job. When I was thrown into the consession I received no training and was told to go find someone to ask questions if there was a problem. I wasn't even shown how to work the till. From the moment I started to the moment I finished I received absolutely no praise, even though the store went from failing miserably to meeting budget in those few months. PLEASE for the sake of your mental health, do not accept a position with this company!

    Continue reading
    Cue Clothing2019-04-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Don't work here for the sake of your mental health!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Cue Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ethical, Australian made and strive towards sustainability

    Cons

    
 
 
 
God, where to begin? I worked here for 4 years and battled all the time over quitting, the only reason I didn't is because I loved some of the girls I worked with. Never in my life have I been in such a toxic work environment. The toxicity begins from the CEO and family who set extreme pressures down the food chain of performance; bullying and intimidation of staff is normal and encouraged. Employees are given hourly sales targets (often unreachable) and are called daily to be berated (sometimes by the CEO himself) about the performance. Because of this there is no team mentality or morale, instead it’s a gross and viscous fight over sales and customers. Sales staff would turn against each other and there would consistently be drama and politics. You would be sat down on a weekly basis by the store manager to talk about your personal productivity, why you didn’t make it and how you can improve. If you don’t improve you are put on a ‘productivity plan’ whereby you’re intensely watched and ‘trained’ to make sales. At the Christmas party, the CEO’s first words in his speech was about how disgusted and embarrassed he was that NSW did not make No.1 in sales for the last week. There is high pressure to purchase the clothes and to not only wear current season, but only full price styles. With zero allowance and only a discount, I watched as many managers would divulge majority of their salary for this. Multiple store managers I worked under (huge turnover rate) took stress leave from the amount of pressure they had to undergo for a poorly paid role. The HR is a joke, one of the store managers I worked under filed a confidential report about being bullied and intimidated by her superior regional manager. They responded through showing the regional manager the report which resulted in the resignation of the store manager. Don’t ever expect to move up, they only hire for higher positions externally and refuse to promote loyal staff. The company has extremely backward philosophies which involve ‘how woman should look’ as the CEO is extremely conservative. They banned the staff from wearing shorts (I quote “because we don’t want the fat girls wearing them”- from a regional manager) or having their own take on how to wear the clothes as it should be styled the way they like it. The only reason why there is ‘good reviews’ on this page is because the company found out about glass door and pressured the HO members to skew the ratings.

    Continue reading
    Cue Clothing2019-03-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "TOXIC COMPANY AVOID THEM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Full Time Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Cue Clothing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discount is 30-50 % but that is normal for the industry.

    Cons

    - ALL NEGATIVE REVIEWS CLEARLY REFLECT THIS COMPANY - Workplace bullying - girls are cliques, hate new staff and will make this very clear, will say it’s not worth their time to get to know you, will take your sales and force you to clean up after them - Head office have unrealistic sales targets for low foot traffic stores - Will get new staff to cover late night or overnight Christmas periods and the “managers favourites” will get the more desirable working hour shifts - Even the state managers mention that the company is very difficult to work for - Unpaid training, asked to do this in your own time at home -No support : told you need to make targets or you don’t have a job -No commission and no incentive - Minimum wage with more stress for a casual than management positions in other companies - expected to wear new season stock all year round - No wardrobe provided - FORCED to buy new if it is last season or sold out

    Continue reading
    Cue Clothing2019-02-18
  6. Helpful (7)

    "I developed anxiety"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Cue Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good clothes, great casual teams, always able to pick up extra shifts as there is such a high turn over and always understaffed

    Cons

    Ridiculous sales targets, rude management, fighting for sales, no support from upper management I felt anxious and sick about coming into work everyday knowing I wasn’t going to make the $300 an hour I was expected to. No loyalty to employees, willing to kick you to the curb when you don’t make enough money. No clothing allowance yet expected to always wear current product.

    Continue reading
    Cue Clothing2018-08-29
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Hell no"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Cue Clothing part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - clothing discount - excellent quality clothing - fun work culture (provided senior management is not present)

    Cons

    - unrealistic pressure to meet sales targets - above point results in pressure to 'steal' sales from fellow colleagues and an unhealthy competitive work environment

    Continue reading
    Cue Clothing2018-02-11
  8. Helpful (1)

    "It's too hard, don't bother working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Cue Clothing part-time

    Pros

    Amazing store team to work with and learn off Quality clothing

    Cons

    Head management treats team unfair They only care about personal sales targets and nothing else Pressure to sell with unrealistic targets Expensive clothes every with your discount (there was no wardrobe allowance)

    Continue reading
    Cue Clothing2017-11-13
  9. "Bad work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Auckland, Auckland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Cue Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount off clothes but the clothes were still expensive so it didn't make much of a difference (eg. Plain sweater for $100...You'll get it for $70)

    Cons

    They were very strict on individual sales targets which was ridiculous because the staff ended up working against each other rather than as a team. It would cause a lot of 'drama' as well because employees would accuse one another of 'stealing people's sales' and the customers would be able to detect the vibe and feel uncomfortable. It was embarrassing. Working in Cue had a very 'highschool vibe' basically.

    Continue reading
    Cue Clothing2017-08-15
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Bullying from above"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cue Clothing full-time

    Pros

    Establishing lasting customer relationships, fashion and styling focus. Great bonus structure (if you can reach it), great product, well known brand.

    Cons

    High staff turnover, bullying tactics used from senior management, no promoting within, no support in reaching sales targets but plenty of pressure, had to performance manage out team members who did not meet productivity, not a people focused company, managers are not your typical manager - we were just glorified sales people.

    Continue reading
    Cue Clothing2016-02-24

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews