Culver Capital Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Culver Capital Group Reviews

Updated Mar 6, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Culver Capital Group CEO  Michael Thomas (no image)
Michael Thomas
23 Ratings
  1. "Investment Banking Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Investment Banking Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Culver Capital Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Boutique investment bank so you are able to have exposure to full deal process

    Cons

    Required to work long hours with little guidance

    Continue reading
    Culver Capital Group2017-03-04
  2. "Entry-level sales with young boiler-room feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate Or Something That Sounds Better On A Resume in Culver City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Culver Capital Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you stay past the salary break probationary period and are consistently bringing in capital loan agreements for management to 'close' for you, then you may break past a traditional entry-level salary. With luck.

    Cons

    The top-down structure regarding leads and sales pipeline means that management is always luckier than you.

    Continue reading
    Culver Capital Group2017-03-06
  3. "Junior Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Culver Capital Group

    Pros

    Teaches you a lot about financial

    Cons

    Make lots of phone calls

    Culver Capital Group2016-06-09
  4. "Truth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Culver Capital Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Can't really think of any I had while working there

    Cons

    Every single negative thing you are reading here is absolute truth. I experienced a lot of it while there

    Continue reading
    Culver Capital Group2016-01-14
  5. "I'd recommend passing on working here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Costa Mesa, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Culver Capital Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You'll work with smart people, and there is a lot you can learn.

    Cons

    The requirements for the job are just not worth it. The pay is incredibly low, and at the end of the day, it is highly unlikely that you'll be rewarded for any of your work. All the negative reviews are absolutely true. I'm actually not sure how there are some reviews that are 4 or 5 stars. Truthfully they don't value their employees, and they are pretty cut-throat with their clients as well.

    Continue reading
    Culver Capital Group2015-10-18

    Culver Capital Group Response

    October 27, 2015VP of Operations

    Culver Capital management is committed to uphold the highest standards of professionalism for all Culver team members and customers. Our firm fosters a positive and transparent work environment and is highly committed to ensuring all employees are given the best possible opportunity to be successful. Our people are some of the very best in the industry!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good working environment. Great learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Costa Mesa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Culver Capital Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company and management really want everyone to be success. There's a lot of opportunity where you put he work in. What you can learn about business and finance isnt available almost anywhere else besides a NYC investment bank.

    Cons

    There is pressure to work hard. You have to enjoy working on the phones

    Continue reading
    Culver Capital Group2015-08-26
  7. "Account Exec"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Culver Capital Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You learn a lot about different industries which is beneficial when you move on.

    Cons

    This is literally the worst company to work for. No matter what you do it will never be good enough. If you work here be prepared to cold call at least 160 people a day. They tell you the hours are 7-4 but they prefer you to be in the office from 6-5. This place has higher turnover than anywhere I’ve ever seen. There is just no value with the employees. They see everyone has expendable. There is little vision on keeping people here long term.

    Continue reading
    Culver Capital Group2015-09-16
  8. "Junior Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Executive in Costa Mesa, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Culver Capital Group

    Pros

    There were none that I can think of.

    Cons

    This was my first job out of college, and was I in for a surprise. I worked here for about 8-9 months, and it was the worse job I have ever had. It's kind of unbelievable to see that they are still around. It is a very poor working environment, and I would not recommend it for anyone. They give you a great presentation to hire you on, and then the entire time you are there you feel like it could be your last day. It's very boiler room. There are certain individuals that are completely demeaning to the staff, and they are not very helpful. I wouldn't recommend this job to anyone.

    Culver Capital Group2015-09-10
  9. "Recently Left Culver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Account Executive in Costa Mesa, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Culver Capital Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They have good sales training that will help you learn how to talk on the phone. The training was good. It teaches you how to read a script very well.

    Cons

    They overwork and underpay you, and treat you like you don't matter when you're an account executive. You will be expected to make 160+ calls a day, and will be expected to "do whatever is necessary to get leads and apps." Management has a tendency to listen in on your calls and berates you for no reason. On blitz day, the reward for making 100 calls by 10AM is that you "can take your tie off" and that's just demoralizing. They expect you to work excessively hard for very little pay, and only a handful of people there make a good living (namely, management makes all the money). They post everyone's call times and call number as a way of shaming people into competing against one another (if you're in red, management ridicules you). This is the worst job I've ever had.

    Continue reading
    Culver Capital Group2015-06-20

    Culver Capital Group Response

    June 22, 2015VP of Operations

    Once again, this (as well as others posted by the same person ) appears to have been created for the sole purpose of disparaging our firm. We pride ourselves on fostering a positive and transparent work environment and are highly committed to ensuring all employees are given the best possible opportunity to be successful in the financial services industry.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Opportunity to Learn Financial Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Culver Capital Group

    Pros

    Culver offers the best in industry training; mentoring, coaching, and encouragement to learn and become a professional in the industry.

    Cons

    You work hard the first 3-6 months as you develop your book of business and need to be serious that this is a career opportunity, not a job that you don't apply yourself to.

    Continue reading
    Culver Capital Group2015-03-29

    Culver Capital Group Response

    March 31, 2015VP of Operations

    Thank you for your review, we strive to develop best in class professionals.

    Continue reading
Found 30 reviews