Cummins Reviews | Glassdoor

Cummins Reviews

Updated Dec 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
81%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager - Law in Indianapolis, IN

    I have been working at Cummins full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to find application for your expertise

    Cons

    Not a place for a lazy person

    Cummins2019-12-05

    Cummins Response

    December 6, 2019Digital Media Brand Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! Glad to hear you are having a positive experience at Cummins. We hope you continue to grow your career with us.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Industrial Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cummins full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent work life balance. Great work culture

    Cons

    Not the best medical insurance plans

    Cummins2019-12-02
  3. "Great place to work, but somewhat old-fashioned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Engineer in Columbus, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cummins full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pro: Solid work-life balance, I never had any issues if I had to leave work early to take care of doctors appointments or anything reasonable. Pro/Con: Company genuinely tries to get employees into a team where they can thrive, but also has no qualms about shifting employees out of positions where they're doing well into one where they may not do so well in order to meet business needs.

    Cons

    The office is pretty... old-fashioned, as much as a place with people from so many different places in the world can be. Dress codes are somewhat stringent (I've been approached about not having my shirt tucked in, and also wearing a tucked in button-down with too many colors). Being recruited from a career fair can place you in a position that's nothing like the job described in your offer letter. By far the worst thing I've experienced while there.

    Continue reading
    Cummins2019-11-26

    Cummins Response

    December 6, 2019Digital Media Brand Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry you had a poor placement experience. Your concerns are being raised to the rest of the team.

    Continue reading
  4. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cummins full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company practices Integrated business planning

    Cons

    Salaries are low or uncompetative

    Cummins2019-11-16
  5. "Great Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Performance Engineer in Columbus, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cummins full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people So much to learn Very Diverse

    Cons

    The weather there is so cold

    Cummins2019-11-12
  6. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cummins full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is a healthy work-life balance

    Cons

    more events for interns outside headquarters

    Cummins2019-11-07
  7. "good culture and work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Engineer 

    I have been working at Cummins full-time

    Pros

    good culture and work life balance

    Cons

    location is not the best

    Cummins2019-10-30
  8. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cummins full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of support for Job

    Cons

    Not much mentoring for middle management.

    Continue reading
    Cummins2019-10-28
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Director in Columbus, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cummins full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity to try different roles. Good culture. Good benefits and vacation time. Located in a low crime are with good scools and local culture. Very solid internal processes for development and manufacturing. Investing in the future and key technologies.

    Cons

    Very heavily weighted with new hires (not many professional hires). Lots of new inexperienced people with little knowledge of the product or processes. Very cyclical in nature and downsizes about every 4 to 5 years... which isn't terrible but need to be aware and prepared for that stress.

    Continue reading
    Cummins2019-10-22
  10. "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cummins full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a great place to work

    Cons

    I cant think of any

    Cummins2019-10-22
Found 3250 reviews