Cummins Reviews | Glassdoor

Cummins Reviews

Updated Oct 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Powert 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cummins full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cummins is a unique place to work in the auto industry. It has a much better inviting work culture than other large companies in the auto industry.

    Cons

    Cummins has the same woes as any large company.

    Cummins2019-08-12
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Communications Specialist 

    I have been working at Cummins full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - flexibility - challenging work - engaged leadership - passionate teams

    Cons

    - making change can be a slow process

    Cummins2019-08-13
  3. ""School to Work""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - School to Work 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cummins part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been working as a school to work for the past year. This is a great environment to develop skills whilst still finishing degree.

    Cons

    Not much option of overtime.

    Cummins2019-08-08
  4. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Technical Analyst in Columbus, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cummins full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Strong Core Values Flexible work environment Great People

    Cons

    Headquarters is in a small town Hard to get ideas to departmental leadership Hires managers that don't always fit with company core values

    Cummins2019-08-07
  5. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Payroll Analyst in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cummins full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible shift, helpful leadership, friendly environment.

    Cons

    there is nothing negative that I have to say about working there.

    Cummins2019-08-07
  6. "Very caring employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in Columbus, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cummins full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very ethical, respects diversity, stands for social causes, promotes being part of a community, great leaders, good people.

    Cons

    Limited locations (generally small towns), average salary, networking based rather than merit based, behind current technology.

    Cummins2019-08-06
  7. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cummins full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits and company perks in the company

    Cons

    limited opportunity for growth in the company

    Continue reading
    Cummins2019-07-31
  8. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Materials Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cummins full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay, good atmosphere, flex time is awesome

    Cons

    Could be better pay and better health

    Cummins2019-07-30
  9. "Great place to start but not the best place for young people that wants to grow fast!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cummins full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, pretty good benefits for Indiana area, and nurturing environment to start your career. I found great mentors and friends in the company!

    Cons

    The way things work are quite traditional and structured. In my perspective being here for few years, I can say that Cummins would not be the best place if you want to grow fast and move up the corporate ladder quickly by overachieving your target. HR structure is so rigid thus getting evaluation of your pay based on your added responsibility is always full of hustle. In my case I have been doubling my responsibilities and hitting all my targets but my manager just didn't support in terms of getting salary bump or promotion based on how I have perform. My experience has been mixed but I would not encourage young people that have a strong ambitions to grow and move quickly to work long term in Cummins.

    Continue reading
    Cummins2019-08-10
  10. "Good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cummins full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance Cheap cost of living

    Cons

    Growth potential limited Extremely hierarchical

    Cummins2019-07-23
Found 2919 reviews