Cummins Reviews | Glassdoor

Cummins Reviews

Updated Nov 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
83%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Diversity Environment I love it !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Intern 

    I worked at Cummins full-time

    Pros

    Diversity, involvement, community, team work and opportunity

    Cons

    No cons i love it there

    Cummins2019-08-27
  2. "Great Pay and Benefits, Poor Location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineer in Columbus, IN

    I worked at Cummins full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay, Benefits, people, Company cares about its employees

    Cons

    Location and lots of red tape navigation required to get things done.

    Cummins2019-08-29
  3. "Management needs to improve to retain employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - New Product Development in Shoreview, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cummins full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great group of people work with. Meaningful work and very well defined processes

    Cons

    There has been a movement to take job originally located in MN and move them to Corp headquarters in IN

    Cummins2019-09-13
  4. "Great Place to Work and Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Business Analyst in Columbus, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cummins full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunities for growth both within your field and associated fields

    Cons

    Insurance could be better. Some Union workers take advantage of their 'protection'

    Cummins2019-08-26
  5. "Good Engineering & technology company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Specialist 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cummins full-time

    Pros

    Pros 1. This place has a lot of great technical know how of making diesel & natural gas engines 2. Can learn a lot by taking up roles in various aspects of business

    Cons

    1. Location - Manufacturing plants and even the technical centers 2. Slow to adopt new technology - cautious

    Cummins2019-08-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Caring as Core Value"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Generalist in Shoreview, MN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cummins full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people at Cummins truly make it a great place to work. Over the last couple of years Cummins renewed their core values and I can say the people really care.

    Cons

    HR department is toxic and unhealthy. A lot of leadership turnover and the ones that stick around really need to go. When you are honest and authentic which is a leadership behavior Cummins strives for, it will only hurt one in HR. It’s better not to share your MBTI personality type of open up. I felt I could be me at work, except within my own department.

    Advice to Management

    Give opportunities to all and not just your favorites. Truly learn how to give feedback. Do as you say! Working from home should not just be for those who have paid their dues over time.

    Cummins2019-08-13
  7. "Cummins is a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Product Development Engineer 

    I have been working at Cummins full-time

    Pros

    Good culture Friendly people Good support to H1B and GC applications

    Cons

    Can be too structured Promotions in engineering are very slow

    Cummins2019-08-30
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Powert 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cummins full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cummins is a unique place to work in the auto industry. It has a much better inviting work culture than other large companies in the auto industry.

    Cons

    Cummins has the same woes as any large company.

    Cummins2019-08-12
  9. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Communications Specialist 

    I have been working at Cummins full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - flexibility - challenging work - engaged leadership - passionate teams

    Cons

    - making change can be a slow process

    Cummins2019-08-13
  10. ""School to Work""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - School to Work 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cummins part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been working as a school to work for the past year. This is a great environment to develop skills whilst still finishing degree.

    Cons

    Not much option of overtime.

    Cummins2019-08-08
Found 2954 reviews