Cummins "small town" Reviews | Glassdoor

Cummins Employee Reviews about "small town"

Updated 15 de Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
84%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "small town"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Company to Grow In"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Human Resource Intern in Columbus, IN
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cummins for less than a year

    Pros

    - Everyone cares about you and your growth - I always asked questions and everyone made time to answer them- even when they didn't have time - I met over 50 HR professionals and did not meet a single person I disliked - Room to really grow within the company - Great potential for full-time - Really was given a great internship experience

    Cons

    - Small town, so don't expect a heavy nightlife

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the intern program and the structure- HR's intern program is amazing and very structured.

    Cummins2019-09-16
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Technical Analyst in Columbus, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cummins full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Strong Core Values Flexible work environment Great People

    Cons

    Headquarters is in a small town Hard to get ideas to departmental leadership Hires managers that don't always fit with company core values

    Cummins2019-08-07
  3. "Cummins is a good company specially for the new college hire."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Advisor in Columbus, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cummins full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    stable company, good work environment

    Cons

    location of the company. Columbus is a small town.

    Cummins2019-07-21
  4. "Okay company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Engineer in Columbus, IN

    I have been working at Cummins full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Low work pressure. Okay salaries for mechanical industry. Flexible working hours.

    Cons

    Location of the headquarter is a too small town.... Nothing to do here.... incredibly small. You would never get used to it if you grow up in big cities like New York, Beijing.... You would probably like this town if you are raised and lived all the time in small cities.

    Cummins2019-07-08
  5. "Entry level job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Associate in Columbus, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cummins full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good place to start your career

    Cons

    HQ in Columbus is not a great place to live, very small town and boring if you are young

    Cummins2019-06-27
  6. "Excellent Company and Work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sourcing Team Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cummins full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Diversity is a key for Cummins and work life balance - also able to gain experience in different field if you planned appropriately

    Cons

    Located in Midwest small town

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on Leadership Developwmnt and retain talent

    Cummins2019-03-11
  7. "cummins - a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Quality Engineer in Columbus, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cummins full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    it has the perfect work life balance

    Cons

    small town and not much to do in and around the town

    Cummins2019-01-11
  8. "Calibrations and Diagnostics Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cummins

    Pros

    Great Company Culture, Very Diverse, Lot of room and opportunity for growth

    Cons

    Locations of the company can be a small town, Projects can be a little tedious

    Cummins2018-09-05
  9. "Best Employer in my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cummins full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Leadership that walks the talk Genuine Great Benefits Excellent opportunities within the company - cross borders, cross functions Family atmosphere without being too personal Employee resource groups

    Cons

    Headquarters is located in a very small town in Indiana

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. Don't forget the history and the principles on which the company was founded...they have built and sustained a strong foundation.

    Cummins2018-08-22
  10. "Marketing Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Business Associate Off-highway in Columbus, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cummins for less than a year

    Pros

    The company sticks to its values. It is very easy to network with interns and full-time employees. Everyone is willing to help you out with projects to help you succeed. Great team and meaningful projects (This is subjective based on the manager you get, but my experience was great. ) Provides the ability to develop skills for future employment opportunities. Innovative company, not stuck in the stone age.... No one is looking over your shoulder all the time.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes too laid back in terms of the intern expectations (not true for myself, but definitely saw it with several of my peers). It is a small town, but with a good group of friends and a car, you can have a blast visiting different places and finding fun things to do.

    Advice to Management

    Set higher expectations for interns. Sometimes people do not try very hard because the bar is so low (or they feel that it's low).

    Cummins2018-08-07
Found 86 reviews