Cummins "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Cummins Reviews

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
83%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Industrial Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cummins full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent work life balance. Great work culture

    Cons

    Not the best medical insurance plans

    Cummins2019-12-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Mixed Feelings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cummins full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance Retirement plans Overall people are nice and generous with their time to help

    Cons

    Uninspiring Don’t address low performance effectively Communication is broken after a certain level

    Cummins2019-12-13
  3. "Great place to work, but somewhat old-fashioned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Engineer in Columbus, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cummins full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pro: Solid work-life balance, I never had any issues if I had to leave work early to take care of doctors appointments or anything reasonable. Pro/Con: Company genuinely tries to get employees into a team where they can thrive, but also has no qualms about shifting employees out of positions where they're doing well into one where they may not do so well in order to meet business needs.

    Cons

    The office is pretty... old-fashioned, as much as a place with people from so many different places in the world can be. Dress codes are somewhat stringent (I've been approached about not having my shirt tucked in, and also wearing a tucked in button-down with too many colors). Being recruited from a career fair can place you in a position that's nothing like the job described in your offer letter. By far the worst thing I've experienced while there.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Overall, you do a very good job. I would pay more attention to how employees recruited from colleges are placed, however.

    Cummins2019-11-26
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Nashville, TN

    I have been working at Cummins full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice place to work, value diversity. Great pay

    Cons

    No work life balance. Employees are overworked.

    Cummins2019-11-22
  5. "Good place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - MBA Marketing 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cummins for less than a year

    Pros

    Good culture Good work life balance

    Cons

    Full time conversion rate is low

    Cummins2019-11-18
  6. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cummins full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is a healthy work-life balance

    Cons

    more events for interns outside headquarters

    Cummins2019-11-07
  7. "Good workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Team Leader 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cummins full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good work life balance and low cost of living

    Cons

    conservative, slow paced, not exciting, not challenging

    Cummins2019-11-14
  8. "good culture and work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Engineer 

    I have been working at Cummins full-time

    Pros

    good culture and work life balance

    Cons

    location is not the best

    Cummins2019-10-30
  9. Helpful (1)

    "NA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cummins full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company follow it's core values. There is a good work life balance. The quality of work is good

    Cons

    I didn't find any. It's been a few month only

    Cummins2019-10-10
  10. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sourcing Manager in Columbus, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cummins full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great work-life balance, company cares for people

    Cons

    slow in change not many cons as such

    Advice to Management

    please provide more opportunities for younger people

    Cummins2019-10-01
Found 517 reviews