Cumulus Networks Reviews | Glassdoor

Cumulus Networks Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 102 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Cumulus Networks CEO Josh Leslie
Josh Leslie
73 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work/life balance can get out of whack if you let it so its up to you to say "I've got too much on my plate right now" or to say no to things sometimes(in 4 reviews)

  • "No real complaints working for Cumulus Networks(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cumulus Networks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working at Cumulus has been the best job I've had. The culture in RDU is particularly cozy, and the office has three catered meals a week. The company is the right size to allow cross-functional collaboration between teams. People are generally approachable and helpful.

    Cons

    Any job can be stressful from time to time, especially in a rapidly changing industry, but the high caliber of skillset and professionalism of people employed here goes a long way to help.

    Advice to Management

    Continue making careful hiring decisions to maintain the quality of the team.

    Cumulus Networks2019-01-16
  2. Helpful (4)

    "If you're a millennial and/or first time mom, good luck working here (only applies to a certain department)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Mountain View, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cumulus Networks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Open office space, great CEO and CTO, health benefits are some of the best I've had

    Cons

    Hr does not know what they're doing. They can't even send a simple w2 to the correct address, I've received incorrect information on leaves, disability, not to mention I've been discriminated against because I'm a millennial and a first time mom. My manager at the time would make statements such as "why is your baby always sick? He has a nanny and not even in daycare," or "why can't you work straight for 8 hours then...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I would have anyone with a direct report take classes on discrimination and management. In addition, don't shrug off a loyal and committed employee because there is a shift in priorities for him/her. Makes the company look as if they don't value their employees.

    Cumulus Networks2019-03-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Company that is bringing long term value to customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cumulus Networks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    With Open source products this company does not try to lock in customers.

    Cons

    Fierce competition from incumbent vendors

    Cumulus Networks2019-01-11
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Very challenging future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cumulus Networks full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Smart CEO, pockets of great people, industry starting to move towards technology.

    Cons

    Can't get sales and marketing right despite countless attempts. Broken or semi built processes across the board. No real care for employees. Unrealistic expectations for the future. Degrading leaders, and overall horrible attitudes masked with fake smiles and drive.

    Advice to Management

    Get out as quickly as you can, push back on the board.

    Cumulus Networks2018-12-28

    Cumulus Networks Response

    January 4, 2019CEO

    Dear Employee - I'm sorry you are not feeling good about the Company's direction right now. If you are open to a confidential discussion, I'm certainly interested in better understanding your concerns and seeing if we can address them. Building a business against many large incumbents ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Rare startup that is inclusive, has epic fun, and innovates constantly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cumulus Networks full-time

    Pros

    I'm going to say that to date, this is probably the best job I've ever had. I've been fortunate to work at at least three other places that received 'Best Employer' awards, and some of them had me scratching my head, to be honest. So it wasn't the primary influencing factor for me joining Cumulus. Instead, I was drawn by the respectful and inclusive environment, the disruptive Linux technologies we leverage, and the atmosphere....

    Show More

    Cons

    The only con I can think of is that with such a great product and such a fantastic work atmosphere, we are GROWING WILDLY and may soon outpace the size of our current Cary office which I love, and would miss. But it is the good kind of growing pains.

    Advice to Management

    Don't change a thing. Keep being open, transparent, and communicative - it means that your staff can have faith in you.

    Cumulus Networks2018-06-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Cumulus Networks full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      High calibre engineering team On a mission to disrupt a huge industry

      Cons

      Lacking a viable business model

      Cumulus Networks2018-07-14
    • Helpful (2)

      "sales"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Cumulus Networks full-time

      Pros

      great people, opportunity does exist

      Cons

      pay low for the expectations

      Cumulus Networks2018-01-30
    • "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Consulting Engineer in Raleigh, NC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Cumulus Networks full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Smart Passionate People Fulfilling Work New technologies

      Cons

      Work life balance can be a challenge if you're not careful.

      Advice to Management

      Keep it up!

      Cumulus Networks2017-12-30
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Member of Technical Staff 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Cumulus Networks full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Smart friendly people who understand work/life balance and recognize when an employee has gone above and beyond. There are sprints but it's not the typical startup death march. Interesting work that allows for learning new skills, some nice perks like free lunch and excellent dental/vision coverage. Flexible remote working policy.

      Cons

      Well, you are expected to get stuff done.

      Cumulus Networks2017-10-21
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great place to work with talented staff"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Cumulus Networks full-time

      Pros

      Cumulus Networks is a great place to work where I consistently feel that the work I'm doing is valued by the entire company. The leadership of the Cumulus Networks responds well to the needs of their employees while trying to balance resources to continue running a successful company.

      Cons

      Sometimes resourcing decisions are made that employees may not necessary agree with, but they rationale behind the decisions is explained transparently so that everyone can at least understand why the decision is made.

      Cumulus Networks2017-10-06
    Found 102 reviews