Cunningham Agency Reviews | Glassdoor

Cunningham Agency Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
James Cunningham
56 Ratings
  1. "Hurting the Culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cunningham Agency full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    easy to advance. Money can be very good. Even though it is high pressure sales. 100 percent commission. Strictly business no drama.

    Cons

    if you get in a slump even being in management they will kick you to the curb and say your hurting thr culture, even when your nothing but positive.

    Advice to Management

    give people more of a chance, more training.

    Cunningham Agency2016-10-18
  2. Helpful (14)

    "Adminstrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Cunningham Agency

      Pros

      This is only for folks that want to sell insurance.

      Cons

      They do not tell you when they invite you for an interview that it is all insurance sales. They run ads for Admin assistants and once you show up for the interview, that ends up being with a room full of people and then the sales pitch starts. They want you to sell insurance bottom line. Don't fall for the scam of advertised job of Administrative Assistant. It is only to get you in the door to hear their sales pitch to...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Don't lie to people in your job ads and waste job seekers time and gas money by not being honest and stating this is an insurance sales position up front.

      Cunningham Agency2016-09-05
    • Helpful (6)

      "Never go there unless you want to become a insurance salesman"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Agent in Indianapolis, IN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Cunningham Agency full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Absolutely nothing!!!!! Don't go there. Google Cunningham weatherspoon agencies. See pissed consumer report.

      Cons

      There's so many. 1. Fake phone interview, without seeing your resume. They just get phone numbers from career builder and monster sites. 2. You will have to pay for your insurance license and never get reimbursed. 3. Spend a lot on your gas and time just to follow one of their insurance agents during training period. You will see a penny for at least 2 months. 4. Too much show off from senior managers, and you...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Stop lying to people and giving fake promises.

      Cunningham Agency2016-09-07
    • "Full Time Agent"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Cunningham Agency full-time

        Pros

        The culture is amazing, there is no drama and everyone is very welcoming. There are always incentives and competitions going on to keep a positive and motivated energy going around and it makes it one of the best places to work here!

        Cons

        You do have to be willing to sacrifice and work really hard, but it honestly pays off so much in the end

        Advice to Management

        Keep on trying to inspire and motivate your teams. Keep being supportive and having your agents backs.

        Cunningham Agency2016-05-03
      • "Executive Assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Cunningham Agency full-time

          Pros

          It's refreshing to come to work every day and feel appreciated and respected. The opportunity for advancement is motivating. I love the work environment and being a part of something larger that makes a difference.

          Cons

          Absolutely nothing! I love my boss, my coworkers, the benefits, the amount of paid time off I get per year, the culture, etc.

          Cunningham Agency2016-03-24
        • Helpful (5)

          "benfits rep"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at Cunningham Agency full-time

          Pros

          none really. no drive to succeed, too worried about your bills that you are behind on because its comission

          Cons

          Terrible that there is no base salary, I mean come on people are we supposed to starve?? I dont see how you expect new employees to receive NOTHING and be excited about a career there. Really silly in my opinion. Have a BASE SALARY, I spelled it for you.

          Advice to Management

          Wake up and realize what it would be like for you to go 6 weeks with no paycheck, think about that. Not talking when you started Im talking with the way you live now,6 to 8 weeks no pay???

          Cunningham Agency2016-04-04
        • Helpful (2)

          "Unless your a body building meat head who likes to brown nose this isnt a place for you."

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
            Doesn't Recommend
            Negative Outlook
            Disapproves of CEO

            I worked at Cunningham Agency

            Pros

            It was a great company to work for before it just became the Cunningham agency.

            Cons

            Horrible managers. They treat recruiters like dirt if you aren't a "favorite " of James. I was there for a year and not once got a raise. Worst place I have ever worked.

            Advice to Management

            Remember we are people too. We aren't not there for you to yell at constantly and be belittled we are there to try to earn a living. Oh yeah, remember to pay your recruiting team.

            Cunningham Agency2016-04-06

            Cunningham Agency Response

            April 11, 2016CEO

            Thanks for your feedback and we wish you the best in your future endeavors.

          • Helpful (4)

            "Say goodbye to your family if you want to be "successful"."

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - Benefit Representative in Indianapolis, IN
            Doesn't Recommend
            Neutral Outlook
            Disapproves of CEO

            I have been working at Cunningham Agency full-time

            Pros

            If you want to make a ton of money and you are able to tell your kids why you can't go to their ball games, recitals or just have a day in the park. This is the job for you.

            Cons

            I was unaware of the lack of family-work balance until I had already dropped a couple of hundred dollars to take a course and apply for a license. After 6 weeks, I have yet to make a single dollar. If a company care as mush as this one does, you would think they would make a way for new people to take care of their families during the training.

            Advice to Management

            Pay your new employees at least something during their training. Your own presentation admits that the loss of just one paycheck can be tough. But you expect your new employees to put in a lot of time and effort for 0 dollars. Those of us with families can't take a month and a half with no income. Also, be up front from the beginning about the hours you expect them to work. I didn't realize that the work is basically...

            Show More
            Cunningham Agency2015-09-23
          • Helpful (18)

            "Total scam"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Benefit Representative in Indianapolis, IN
            Doesn't Recommend
            Neutral Outlook
            No opinion of CEO

            I worked at Cunningham Agency full-time for more than a year

            Pros

            Absolutely nothing. I would give no stars if possible. Their hiring process is a total scam. Most candidates just waste good 2-3 months without making a single penny. They just waste their gas and money for insurance exam.

            Cons

            1. Hiring process They do not have applications. Just get a list of phone numbers and names from career builder and call randomly. callers act like they have the application or the application was reviewed by the manager. 2. There is no selection process. They hire any one as long as they can afford to pay $200 for insurance prep course and $70 for the insurance exam. Candidates do not get them reimbursed. 3. Agents...

            Show More

            Advice to Management

            Stop giving false promises. Advertise who you are and call for applications just like all other insurance companies.

            Cunningham Agency2014-10-14

            Cunningham Agency Response

            November 4, 2014CEO

            We appreciate your feedback and everyone is entitled to their opinion. As you know we can't make everyone happy although it's our goal. We want to wish you the best in your career. We're sorry for your experience and we will look to improve things like always. It would help us if ...

            Show More
          • Helpful (8)

            "Great Job for Sales Minded, Hardworking Extrovert with little Work/Life Balance"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Agent, Supervising Agent, General Agent, Managing Director in Fishers, IN
            Doesn't Recommend
            No opinion of CEO

            I worked at Cunningham Agency full-time for more than 2 years

            Pros

            This is a great company that can provide endless opportunity if you are willing to sacrifice. I was able to get over 3 promotions in one year and build my resume for other opportunities. I also learned some very valuable skills as far as sales, time management, money management (10-99 tax form), recruiting, hiring firing, training...etc. You basically own your OWN business. I loved commission as I am a very hard worker.

            Cons

            I was expected to work 80+ hours per week with NO work/life balance. I was essentially moved up into management very quickly which was good for my Owners, but detrimental to my health, stress level and eventually moving on to other better opportunities. They are so interested in their own goals that they don't really care what you want for your career. Although I liked the commission structure, I didn't like the stress...

            Show More

            Advice to Management

            Slow down!! There is no point in working employees 80+ hours per week and moving people up in management too quick. Slow the process down, give people a day off and your team will be trained better, more excited and will make you more money.

            Cunningham Agency2014-08-18

            Cunningham Agency Response

            August 21, 2014CEO

            We appreciate your feedback and wish you the best!

          Found 65 reviews