Cupertino Electric Reviews

Updated Jul 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
83%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Cupertino Electric President and CEO Tom Schott
Tom Schott
18 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cupertino Electric full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Cupertino works on some of the most challenging and skyline changing projects in the areas they serve. There are so many opportunities in different locations, different divisions, and with different managers. If something isn't working for you, there is another place within the company you can go before leaving altogether. Cupertino really cares about it's people and often rewards it's employees with bonuses, profit sharing, unique Christmas presents, Employee appreciation parties, etc. Tom Schott is a great CEO and really knows everyone that works here.

    Cons

    Some internal departments feel like they are working against you. The business system change was extremely disruptive.

    Continue reading

    Cupertino Electric Response

    January 2, 2020People Team

    Thank you for your positive, honest feedback. It’s wonderful hearing that you appreciate our robust benefits, employee rewards, and the diverse and challenging projects CEI is involved with. We aim to place employees in roles where they continually learn something new and challenge themselves, so thank you for recognizing the many growth opportunities available. We’ll take your business systems comments into consideration to minimize any future discomfort as we continue to grow. Thanks again for taking time to share your experience with us!

  2. "Solid Foundation"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CAD Designer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cupertino Electric full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Uh... Everything? So far I have not disliked the way business or work has developed.

    Cons

    I'll have to get back to you on that when I find any.

    Continue reading

    Cupertino Electric Response

    June 29, 2020Sr Staffing Coordinator

    Thank you for the positive comments. We’re glad to hear that you are enjoying your experience with Cupertino Electric and appreciate you taking the time to let us know how you feel. Keep it coming!


  3. "Hired to complete training packets"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CAD Detailer in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cupertino Electric full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Occasional free meals. Company events happen often.

    Cons

    Inappropriate comments are tolerated by management. It has been said to me that the BIM Department is seen as less-important by some members/departments of the company.

    Continue reading

    Cupertino Electric Response

    July 24, 2020The People Team

    Thanks for providing feedback on your experience. We plan to take your suggestions into consideration as we continue to improve our management and training effort across the company. Feedback like this is important to give us visibility into areas where we can make changes that improve the employment experience for everyone. Thanks again for taking time to submit your comments.

  4. "Great Opportunity --- As long as you fit"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Scheduler in Benicia, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cupertino Electric full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good money, flexible as long as you go-along

    Cons

    Management Lacked Experience and was spread too thin

    Continue reading

    Cupertino Electric Response

    June 29, 2020Sr Staffing Coordinator

    Thanks for your honest feedback. We will take your suggestions into consideration as we continue to improve our management training and development efforts. It’s feedback like yours that gives us the visibility to make important changes that benefit everyone. Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments.

  5. "Fast Growth if you put in the time!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cupertino Electric full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you are willing to work the extra hours and ask the hard questions, you dont go un-noticed. Senior level management takes input from all tiers of employees very seriously. VERY good perks!

    Cons

    Project team is under-staffed. Its easy to have a lot of work on your plate that is unrealistic at times. But, thats the world of construction.

    Continue reading

    Cupertino Electric Response

    June 29, 2020Sr Staffing Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. Because our business has specific staffing needs, we take into account the right resources needed for the right task and project. We’re always looking for experienced project engineers and assistant project managers, which are in high demand. If you know of someone with the right focus and experience, we’d love to hear from them. We encourage employees to spread the word about working at CEI and to take advantage of our employee referral program. Thanks again for your comments.

  6. "Great Company To Work For"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cupertino Electric full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Team, Benefits, and Pay

    Cons

    Some dysfunctionality but every company experiences

    Cupertino Electric Response

    January 8, 2020People Team

    Thanks for the positive feedback about CEI’s culture, benefits and compensation. Because our people are our most important asset, we strive to create an exciting, supportive culture for each and every employee. We’re sorry to hear you experienced dysfunctionality, and do hope that you can bring your concerns to your manager. Thanks again for your comments.

  7. "Working at Cupertino"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Journeyman Electrician 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cupertino Electric full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Highly organized Many resources Safety conscious

    Cons

    Management without experience Culture of fear

    Continue reading

    Cupertino Electric Response

    December 18, 2019People Team

    Thank you for your candid feedback. We’re very sorry to hear about your experience with your manager. Our recruiting is done with the intent of providing a long-term career path at CEI. While many of our employees have been here for years (and sometimes decades), we also welcome new ideas and people to challenge our beliefs in a positive way. With your feedback in mind, we will continue to evaluate how to best reward and recognize those who are loyal to CEI and who perform year after year.

  8. "Safe"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Foreman in Eagle Mountain, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cupertino Electric full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company with safety a priority

    Cons

    Occasionally hard to get tools

    Cupertino Electric Response

    December 18, 2019People Team

    Thank you! Safety is of utmost importance to us at CEI and is one of our core values. We’re always working hard to improve safety performance and encourage employees to take responsibility for working safely. Very sorry to hear that you had difficulties obtaining the necessary tools on occasion and hope that you’ll bring this to your supervisor’s attention so that we can provide you what you need to be successful.

  9. "Good experience."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cupertino Electric full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work. Many opportunities to learn new skills and add to my resume.

    Cons

    Management and field teams had a few challenges at times.

    Cupertino Electric Response

    December 18, 2019People Team

    Thank you for the positive feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed your time here as a CEI employee.

  10. "It's okay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Cupertino Electric full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The benefits are great and hr is helpful

    Cons

    Management turns a blind eye on drama and protecting it's employees.

    Cupertino Electric Response

    December 19, 2019People Team

    Thank you for taking the time to recognize our Benefits and HR team. People are one of our most important assets and we believe in fostering an environment where our employees are excited to show up and do their best work. We will take your candid feedback into consideration as we continue to improve our practices and create an award-winning culture.

Found 67 reviews