Curves International Reviews | Glassdoor

Curves International Reviews

Updated Feb 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 162 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
H. Gary Heavin
61 Ratings
Pros
  • "Helping people change their lives and getting healthier(in 8 reviews)

  • "Wonderful feeling helping women reach their goals(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, gym not open enough hours to accommodate clients or bring in new clients(in 11 reviews)

  • "25 is the minimum wage at the moment(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great franchise!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Franchise Owner in Concordia, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Curves International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent start up help. They assisted with everything from lease negotiations to training employees.

    Cons

    No Cons. As owner, the success was what you put into the business.

    Curves International2019-02-12
  2. "Coaching Position Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Coach 

      I worked at Curves International part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The people I was able to work with.

      Cons

      There aren't any that I can think of.

      Curves International2019-01-24
    • "Was Franchisee"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Franchisee in Garden Grove, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Curves International full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      My clients were my reason to give it my all each and every day. My club was top notch in appearance, location, and service.

      Cons

      No corporate support at all, even so a monthly percentage of gross revenue was required for the purpose of National Advertising which headquarters produced only once each year and only about 3 television time slots were booked. 2010 I was actually advised to post a flier for the purpose of advertising my franchise on a telephone pole. Pittyful!

      Advice to Management

      Practice what you preach. If senior Management collects funds for national advertisement use it for that purpose.

      Curves International2018-11-25
    • "Overall, great place to work part-time"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Curves International part-time

        Pros

        Free facility use Good work culture Supportive staff

        Cons

        Sometimes, there was not that much work to do during shifts except talking to the clients.

        Curves International2018-10-08
      • "HR/Operations Manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Human Resources/Operations Manager in Fremont, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Curves International part-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Flexible work, fun environment; you won't regret working here

        Cons

        average pay, not much room for growth

        Advice to Management

        Provide more growth opportunities

        Curves International2018-09-06
      • "Manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Curves International full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Very Easy Job. Met like of nice ladies!

        Cons

        Low Pay. Have to follow scripts or get in trouble..... and they do not feel natural

        Advice to Management

        More Flexibility and allow your employees to speak their "scripts" in a manner that feel natural to that person.

        Curves International2018-08-29
      • "Fitness Instructor"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Curves International part-time

        Pros

        You can work out all day.

        Cons

        Physically tiring. It's methods of gaining a client basis felt unethical. I didn't like measuring the women monthly. Many clients just wanted a safe place to exercise with other women.

        Curves International2018-07-12
      • "So much change at Corporate Office!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waco, TX
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Curves International full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        -It was an average place to work. Upper management was a little disconnected, and often very critical for their disconnect, however immediate management was great! - Employee celebrations were frequent before family sold company.

        Cons

        - Upper management was little involved with everyday dealings of running the business and was fairly disconnected to the average worker. -Business sold. Called to have my employment history verified for a future job and no one had my records. I had my information verified for a mortgage before and HR was great (internal/before sale), but now how do I verify that I even worked there?!

        Curves International2018-07-07
      • "Franchise owner"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Franchise Owner in San Francisco, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Curves International full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        The concept is great and the workout is great

        Cons

        The franchise owners are not well supported they are losing franchisees. In the last 5 years they have gone from over 8000 to around 500. Do not invest in this franchise - I don’t see them lasting.

        Advice to Management

        Support your franchise owners. Don’t micro manage. Get live help- a real person to talk to. Help tickets take weeks and they typically do not answer the question you needed help with. Include the operating system and curves smart, the gateway fees etc in the royalties. Don’t nickel and dime your owners to death!

        Curves International2018-07-20
      • "OK place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        Current Employee - Curves Coach in Grand Rapids, MI
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Curves International part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Ladys workout at the club are great

        Cons

        Hours are all over the place, have to make a lot of cold calls to book appointments, always getting texts about work on off days, always have to cover for everyone

        Curves International2018-05-15
      Found 162 reviews