KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Custom Built Personal Training

Is this your company?

Custom Built Personal Training

Add a Review

Custom Built Personal Training Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 of over 34 reviews

1.9
12%
Recommend to a Friend
16%
Approve of CEO
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good company

    Sep 16, 2019 - Territory Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Take care of employees very well

    Cons

    Not many cons to discuss

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Dishonest Company

    May 11, 2017 - Personal Trainer in Dunwoody, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I got my start in the personal training industry through Custom Built, so there's that. Otherwise, I don't have many positive things to say about the company.

    Cons

    The trainers are compensated poorly compared to other companies, even after receiving certifications and accruing experience. I was started at a paltry $7 a session while the clientele were paying the company up to $40 a session. Plus, they encouraged trainers to manipulate and deceive people into signing up for a personal training contract that is very difficult for them to get out of without paying a hefty fee. Learning how to trick clients into signing up for sessions that will continue to be billed to their credit card indefinitely is part of the job-training process for new trainers. There is very little integrity.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    I love doing my Job, I could do with out the micro management

    Jul 30, 2012 - Assistant FItness Manager in Modesto, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you enjoy educating clients and showing them new workouts or helping them build a program that customized for them, then this is a career for you.

    Cons

    hours 9am-12am 4pm-8pm split shift, thats 7 hours a day, that they have you make up the 5 hours on saturday 9-2 to make it a 40 hour work week. New Comp plan to move the company in the upward motion, is really just the owners taking more money and giving us less!!!

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Terrible

    May 26, 2014 - Assistant FItness Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I met some good people. I feel I provided a better service based on my own experience from previous companies I have worked for (using my own ethical selling strategies)

    Cons

    Bait and Switch offering a range of $32,000-$72,000 salary, when in fact they sell you the job, and you start at minimum wage and the highest salary a fitness manager makes is $24,000 per year. They only care about selling training and locking people into contracts. Upper management (at least everyone I worked under) couldn't care less about the clients reaching their goals, only looking to reach further into their pockets. Under qualified superiors, which were only glorified salesmen themselves with little to contribute as far as training to move up with the company.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Sales Manager

    Apr 17, 2015 - Sales Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great experience builder, and it's an excellent opportunity for someone starting a career in sales. If you are young, passionate about fitness, and not afraid to work for a solid commission on your paycheck it's a great company.

    Cons

    Lots of hours and 6 days a week. Week after week, after week, after week. Like I said, if you're scared of hard work keep looking.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Trainer - sketchy company, sketchy employees

    Jul 12, 2017 - Personal Trainer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of leeway in how you make your sales. You're pretty much out there alone all day.

    Cons

    It's all sales, your commissions are crap, and your wage is $5-15 lower than industry standard. Rambling hours. If you're some kind of sales wonk, don't take the manager position - it's minimum wage and 80 hours/week. Every manager I worked under was arrested for things they were doing on the job.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Assistant Manager/Manger

    Jul 17, 2015 - Sales Manager in Auburn, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Custom built initiates fun environment for new clients through sales tactics

    Cons

    Scarce middle level management to apply strategic decisions towards regional conflicts. Really poor professional structure for personal trainers for region of Auburn. Southeast centrally built for to compensate for contract compromises using old fashioned sales incentives. Company is declining due to low level calling service and sub par fitness methodology.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Illegally held my paycheck

    May 2, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They claim to be a "family" and take care of you. The do reward hard work with promotions.

    Cons

    John Cuthill ILLEGALLY held my paycheck claiming I had cash in my club that hadn't been deposited. However, all deposits with tracking numbers and been sent to my District Manager. This action is against the law and I have no idea when I will have a paycheck and be able to pay my rent and bills. Also, one of my employees put in for a raise 4 months ago and it was granted. It still has not shown up on the check. Another one of my employees wasn't paid for the clocked in hours and only part of the commission earned

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee

    EID was an awful experience!

    Mar 10, 2015 - Customer Service Inbound and Outbound in Hillsboro, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company has a service and product that I believe in. They do background checks for people/companies that have to go on military bases. Once approved, they then receive a credential that allows them to go on base.

    Cons

    I'm not sure about the other departments, but the call center is the worst department of the company. Daily, sometimes twice daily, we would receive an email stating, "Effective immediately, NAME Here, no longer works at EID. If you have any questions, please contact your manager.". Seriously, everyday people walked in wondering if their name would be on that "Effective immediately..." email. Also, this department is number one with the "Clicky" people. As a matter-of-fact, they had their own department called, "Only US".

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Field Operations Manager

    Jul 13, 2017 - Field Operations Manager in West Hartford, CT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great corporate office and upper management team to work with. Everyone is professional and helpful.

    Cons

    A bit unstable but that is the fitness industry in general. A lot of facilities opening and closing all over the states. Work day never ends.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 33 Reviews

Custom Built Personal Training Reviews FAQs

Custom Built Personal Training has an overall rating of 1.9 out of 5, based on over 34 reviews left anonymously by employees. 12% of employees would recommend working at Custom Built Personal Training to a friend and 20% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Custom Built Personal Training employees rate their compensation and benefits as 1.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Custom Built Personal Training. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

12% of Custom Built Personal Training employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Custom Built Personal Training 2.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 1.7 for culture and values and 2.1 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Custom Built Personal Training to be culture, coworkers and the cons to be benefits, management, career development.

Work at Custom Built Personal Training? Share Your Experiences

Custom Built Personal Training logo
or