Cover image for Custom Ink
Logo
See All Photos

Custom Ink

Engaged Employer

Custom Ink

Add a Review

Custom Ink Reviews

Updated Nov 16, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 465 of over 482 reviews
3.7
74% Recommend to a Friend
Custom Ink Chairman, President, CEO, and Co-Founder Marc Katz
89% Approve of CEO

Found 462 of over 482 reviews

3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Custom Ink Chairman, President, CEO, and Co-Founder Marc Katz
Marc Katz
328 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Custom Ink and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year
    Featured Review

    Great Company!

    Jan 18, 2022 - Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great training, pay, and breaks

    Cons

    There really aren't any downsides to this job. Overall has been a great experience.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Custom Ink Response

    Recruiter

    You just made our day! We strive to be a great place to work, and it really helps keep us going when we learn that we did something that had a positive impact. Please don’t hesitate to share more of your thoughts if you have them!

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Company!

    Nov 9, 2022 - Key Account Manager (KAM) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very healthy work/life balance Competitive pay Great benefits Remote

    Cons

    I do not have any cons

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Custom Ink Response

    Recruiter

    We’re so glad to hear your thoughts. It’s very important to us that Inkers have a great experience when working with Custom Ink. We know that everyone is busy, and it takes effort to stop by and write a nice comment. We appreciate that you did!

  3. Join the Custom Ink team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Overall, a great place to work

    Nov 6, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I would recommend this company to others. The working conditions are great and they were successful in managing the pandemic and are flexible, helping balance your personal life with your work life. Managers have the ability to run their team and manage their people effectively. They have a good work environment and inclusivity, full of positivity and good communication with whole company goings-on and business plans.

    Cons

    Underwhelming pay bump for a promotion, and confusing pay structure (annual raises connected with reviews don't always result in a pay increase if you've recently been promoted or moved departments). The employee discount is also underwhelming and, this being a product-based industry, you're expected to reach production goals consistently. That's not necessarily a con, but might be stressful for some people.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Custom Ink Response

    Employer Brand Manager

    We appreciate your taking the time to write this review. Strong communication is one of our favorite things about Custom Ink too! We’re so happy that you had a positive time working with us. We take each review to heart and will share your feedback with the team, so thank you for the constructive feedback as well. Please let us know if you have thoughts to share on anything else: employerbrand@customink.com.

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Not perfect, but pretty good all things considered.

    Nov 14, 2022 - Satisfaction Assurance Associate in Fairfax, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Relatively simple job Good health benefits Good people for the most part Work from home

    Cons

    Unclear and ever-changing expectations Productivity stressed over accuracy Clique-ish vibes Dissenting opinions not tolerated

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Atmosphere

    Oct 11, 2022 - Fundraising Coordinator in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Custom Ink was built on the principles of community and therefore places a ton of value on its customers and employees; treating all like family. Senior leadership is intentional about gathering feedback from everyone and then letting that guide its decisions. This was prevalent during and now post-pandemic as they reevaluate its work environment and processes; embracing a work from home culture and methodology. I've never been a part of a company that embraces diversity and celebrates individuality like Custom Ink. They allow for mistakes, feedback, growth, ownership, and development both personally and as a team. Great benefits, relaxed dress code, a lot of personal time off.

    Cons

    With the new work from home structure, there are now more opportunities for career advancement beyond your local office. However, since we are a larger company, it is difficult to know / visualize those direct career paths sometimes.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Custom Ink Response

    Recruiter

    We’re so glad to hear your thoughts. It’s very important to us that Inkers have a great experience when working with Custom Ink. We know that everyone is busy, and it takes effort to stop by and write a nice comment. We appreciate that you did!

  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Totally awesome

    Nov 16, 2022 - Customer Service Representative in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun people, and they care about the service they provide. Very technologically innovative as well.

    Cons

    Sometimes the hours are a little different than normal office hours.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Custom Ink Response

    Recruiter

    This is wonderful to hear! Thanks for sharing!

  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Culture Until Covid Hit

    Oct 11, 2022 - Lead Satisfaction Assurance Associate in Fairfax, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The benefits are incredible. The people are amazing. The CEO is awesome. The HR team was extremely supportive during different seasons of health issues that I went through.

    Cons

    There always seemed to be a moving target as far as expectations go. A lot of people ended up in middle level management that didn't really have the soft skills of people management. There tended to be a lot of toxic positivity with no space for employee concerns to feel validated. I had 8 managers in my 4.5 years there, so if you build repour with one manager then they leave, you have to prove yourself to someone new like every 6 months. Oh. also, the more "inclusive" Custom Ink became the more it was not okay to be moderate or conservative.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Custom Ink Response

    Recruiter

    We are sorry to hear that you had a challenging experience working with us. We are constantly working to improve our Inker experience, and feedback like this truly helps us get better.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    Nov 8, 2022 - Key Account Manager (KAM) in Charlottesville, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The team is usually very supportive. It's a great place to work

    Cons

    Toxic positivity is a problem

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Prepare to be pushed

    Oct 12, 2022 - Logistics Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits, great diversity and WFH options

    Cons

    Working under hourly with the promise of great bonuses but bonus structure makes it almost impossible to consistently receive. Very poor management. Has talkspace for free but more than half the people I knew including myself never got to use it due to "technical issues" that were never able to be resolved. Company is also actively looking to mainly source threw thrid party companies now.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Custom Ink Response

    Recruiter

    We truly value the fact that you took the time to share your thoughts with us. We are always striving to improve and feedback like yours helps us immensely.

  11. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Can be a career or just a job

    Sep 3, 2022 - Production Associate in Charlottesville, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The benefits as of now are pretty generous which was an incentive in the first place (401k, dental, medical, vision etc.), catered food on Thursdays, first dibs on failed or returned merchandise from clothes to wireless chargers. The weekends are always off, Saturdays can be voluntary overtime, but it's rare to take place. If you want responsibility and experience in leadership-climbing roles, just ask. If you like overtime checks, they hand it out like candy. There are problems, but there are good people truly trying to make it a better working environment. The company is young (about 20 years old), I wrote a lot in the cons section, but I'm thankful for this competitively paying job, and the type of people that see this as their career.

    Cons

    Mandatory overtime gets old really fast, some people are for it $$ but it wrecks any attempts at a work-life balance (if you've normally been able to get things done during the week) and plays a role in the high turnover rate. I've had three different managers in almost six months, making for conflicting plans for job growth trajectories amounting to setbacks in pay-increase opportunities (since as a warehouse, they care about numbers). While it's great that management approves time off requests with little reason to say no when you have the hours, they sabotage team deployments constantly, for some people can be flexed in certain positions, while others cannot, so the burden falls on the same people to the point of frustration/exhaustion. They still use outdated electronics and software making for constant disruptions (we still have printers waiting on parts going on four months currently). The Golden Rule is in their motto, but there is weak synergy between day and night shift. If you have a series of skill sets, you will be moved around a lot, great for people who like to diversify their day, frustrating for those that one to stay in one place for the day.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 462 Reviews
</>Embed

Custom Ink Reviews FAQs

Custom Ink has an overall rating of 3.7 out of 5, based on over 482 reviews left anonymously by employees. 74% of employees would recommend working at Custom Ink to a friend and 70% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Custom Ink employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.7 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Custom Ink. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

74% of Custom Ink employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Custom Ink 3.9 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.1 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Custom Ink to be culture, career development, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, compensation, management.

Popular Careers with Custom Ink Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Custom Ink? Share Your Experiences

or

Custom Ink Careers

Cover image for Custom Ink

The Custom Ink story began in 1999 when three former college classmates got the bug to start a business about a year after graduating....More

  • Three Hearts
  • Environment
  • Benefits
  • Become an Inker
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Custom Ink

13 days ago

Community
We are excited to announce that we are a #CAREAwards winner for the 13th year in a row! The CARE Awards celebrate companies for using outstanding culture and employee engagement strategies to create the best places to work across the DC Metro Region. Thank you, Northern Virginia Family Service for this honor!
Shared image - CARE Awards - Northern Virginia Family Service
CARE Awards - Northern Virginia Family Service
www.nvfs.org
See all

Custom Ink Photos

+ Add Photo
Custom Ink photo of: Production Inker safely working on orders
Custom Ink photo of: Team Development Connection Days!
Custom Ink photo of: Lunch with friends!
Custom Ink photo of: Lunch time!
Custom Ink photo of: Part of our Reno Team!
Custom Ink photo of: Sales conference with some of our Inkers!
Custom Ink photo of: Team Development Connection Day!
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Custom Ink Job Seekers Also Viewed

CARFAX Logo
CARFAX

4.4

505 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 482 Custom Ink reviews submitted anonymously by Custom Ink employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Custom Ink is right for you.