Customer Engineering Services "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Customer Engineering Services Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Aug 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 79 reviews

2.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
21%
Recommend to a Friend
25%
Approve of CEO
Customer Engineering Services CEO Jim Fox
Jim Fox
8 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "(in 8 reviews)

  • "Upper management is focused on the bottom line and very little on staff(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "All About The Money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Depot Repair in Edison, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Customer Engineering Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company brings you in with such a great proposal then they drop you like flies.

    Cons

    I worked for this company and gave it my all and the first chance they had they dropped everyone in depot repair because upper management was in fear of not getting their bonuses.

    Advice to Management

    Give people raises once in a while the whole - we give raises based on performance - is really saying we will never get raises. You lie to everyone to get them to do a good job and then you lay off 40+ people because you are too greedy. What happened to taking care of employees? You have this bogus management training program that is really fluff so that people will think they are going somewhere. Unless you are... working on the new account as a TSR everyone is going away. You are stealing employees from other accounts such as Elite just to make the new account look good. Be open with your employees and do the right thing. Everyone in the office sees and has been told where the future of the company is.

    Show More
    Customer Engineering Services2019-03-02
  2. Helpful (5)

    "District Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Customer Engineering Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Full use of company vehicle, work from home, training was good. Wellness program kept insurance costs reasonable during a chaotic time in the industry.

    Cons

    Benefits were meh. Company is self-insured. Some claims take months to be processed. My first manager seemed to have it in for me and had a "hatchet man" to harass me on a nearly daily basis. I was laid off with no warning, after receiving a good annual evaluation, and a bonus. The company is going through severe cash flow issues and upper management is in "Stage Four" group think. They will not listen to... anyone outside the clique. They take the dregs of service that other companies don't want. Management manages by numbers and really doesn't give a rat's behind about their employees.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Group think is going to kill this company. I'm actually glad I got out when I did.

    Customer Engineering Services2017-12-01

    Customer Engineering Services Response

    December 4, 2017HR Generalist

    CES was informed that its previous responses to former employee postings were lost by glassdoor and should be re-entered by CES. CES has decided to not re-enter them and to not respond to future postings. We have numerous avenues for employees to provide feedback to CES, including ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Technical support in a call center environment of multiple accounts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Phone Support Representative in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Customer Engineering Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Laid back atmosphere, casual dress, team support, good location, friendly coworkers, paid lunches on occasion, the pay is good here. Enough independence in the job to excel. Potential move into field technician (car provided). A great job to gain experience in this field and move on.

    Cons

    This place had some very serious issues. Bad management who is/was favoring certain employees and giving them special treatment. Some management was trying to get people fired by altering their work. Management was replaced, but some issues remain. No raises in years, benefits are ok, but could be better, you will work on holidays, eveining shifts and weekends, some employees are still favored, training is... terrible and makes starting this job stressful. Upper management is focused on the bottom line and very little on staff. Hard to have a family life and plan sometimes.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give raises, better benefits, more vacation/sick time to compensate for lacking health care benefits, better training and new call center software.

    Customer Engineering Services2017-09-08
  4. Helpful (6)

    "I agree with others posts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Elite 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Customer Engineering Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love the team that I work with and my direct manager she is truly wonderful in every way that I can imagine someone being and I loke everyone I work with

    Cons

    I see that someone discussed the weirdness from upper management for the Elite team and how they look down on you with those creepy eyes during video calls I am so glad that I am not the only one who sees it and when they do field visits I feel as though it should be outlawed I know even my manager feel stressed when they come to town and are peering in at what they do Everyone is uncomfortable around upper level... management for the Elite team Aside from the creepshow it is also that cocky attitude like they are better than everyone

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Cmon those of you above the upper managing Elite team do something that you should be doing and stop turning a blind eye to what is really going on.

    Customer Engineering Services2016-05-11

    Customer Engineering Services Response

    June 28, 2016HR Generalist

    I am pleased to hear that you love working with your team. One of the many goals we have as an organization, is to make the work environment an enjoyable experience while exceeding our customer’s expectations. We understand that video calls may be new to some employees and will ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Everyone is great except for upper managemnet that I encounter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Customer Engineering Services full-time

    Pros

    I am a Value added tech I like to work for CEs. Everyone is very friendly kind and fun to work with. i think the pay could be a little better the insurance is stupid, but it still a ggood job. i like my boss.

    Cons

    The threats come from upper management. I do not like threats when upper management sends everyone emails to respnd to and upper management threatening when you speak with them. the video calls we are required to go on occasionally with upper managemnet has these meetings on some fridays and invites people to them, i have to go and i hate going because it is so weird starring at everyone and it makes me feel... uncomfortable. They amakes everyone feel as though they will be fired even if they dont do nothing wrong just by the tone. Everyone I talk to feels the same way. Even hr people and my feloow people that I work with.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    please be kinder upper management. There is soemthing wrong. It makes me shaky and nervouse just writing this review, but I am afraid that I will be fired if I bring something up.

    Customer Engineering Services2015-12-20

    Customer Engineering Services Response

    January 27, 2016HR Generalist

    Thank you for your feedback regarding our company. I am pleased to hear that everyone is friendly, kind and fun to work with. That is the culture that we strive to create at CES. I am also pleased to hear that you like your boss. Again, this is the culture we strive to create among ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (5)

    "TSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Customer Engineering Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company car, laptop, smart phone, there is a lot of great coworkers willing to help.

    Cons

    The raises are a joke, I received a 30 cent raise in 3 years. Little to no training. When you finally get training is when you pretty much know when to fix the machines. Working on equipment you've never seen is the norm. Not enough positions available so there is little to no advancement opportunity. Major projects are not planned well and it falls on the service techs to deal with the headaches. Everything is last... minute and lots of traveling. Seems like the only people making money are upper management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Value the employees that make all the money for the people up top, keep them happy.

    Customer Engineering Services2015-09-15

    Customer Engineering Services Response

    September 18, 2015HR Generalist

    Dear Employee, Thank you for the feedback. CES understands that great things happen through great people and we value every CES employee. I hope that you have shared your concerns with your immediate manager and with upper management via one of the communication channels available ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Good to build experience from entry-level, but keep your resume updated and jump when you have a chance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Service Representative in
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Customer Engineering Services full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    If you work as a TSR (technical service rep, about 90% of their workforce) you get a car, phone, computer and tools provided. Scenery changes daily. Pay is decent to start but...

    Cons

    ...don't expect frequent or significant raises - I went on average 3 years between 5% raises, and usually only after I brought it to the attention of my manager several times. No year-end bonuses or profit-sharing of any kind, and they only recently started 401k matching at a level that is a complete joke (something like $150 per $1,000 contributed.) Most of your days will be spent dealing with minimum/near... minimum wage retail employees in a retail setting. LOTS of driving, after they started issuing company cars I went through them at a rate of 1 every 2 years (the fleet company initiates a replacement at ~85,000 miles.) Managers have completely unrealistic expectations on travel time (ie, "it took you 1 hour to drive 60 miles, I could have done that in 25 minutes") and call ETAs are set arbitrarily by a computerized dispatch system, often giving you no time to cover large distances. Training is hit or miss, depends on the account you end up working on. By the time I left they picked up a service contract with a major office equipment supplier and we were expected to BS our way through convincing the customers that you were an old hand at servicing their copier/printer (etc.) when often it was the first time you laid eyes on the equipment you were working on. They don't really promote from within, all the upper management are IBM alumni and seem to always have someone waiting in the wings when a position opens up. In 8 years I saw one coworker move up substantially, there's really no opportunity for advancement here. Provides benefits but you pay through the nose for them and I had an independent insurance agent tell me their healthcare plan was "on the mediocre side of terrible" and not worth buying, I was able to do better buying my own policy.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Offer your employees some incentive for working hard. A 5% raise every 2-3 years hardly keeps up with inflation.

    Customer Engineering Services2012-08-11
Found 79 reviews