Cvent "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Cvent Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Jan 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Cvent Founder & CEO Reggie Aggarwal
Reggie Aggarwal
645 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance difficult to manage(in 88 reviews)

  • "Very busy in the run up to and during CONNECT - had to work long hours way past my scheduled timetable and no Time Off In Lieu(in 50 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great experience, people, culture, and projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Product Analyst in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cvent for less than a year

    Pros

    People, People, People! Also great food days & events

    Cons

    Long hours - but very worth it

    Cvent2019-10-10
  2. Helpful (9)

    "Worst place to work in the DC area"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cvent full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Happy hours and inner office romances ...

    Cons

    Where to start.. - terrible pay - well beneath industry standard -micromanagement -inept management - long hours with no compensation for overtime -force you to sign a training "loan" shackling you to the company for at least 18 months - politics play biggest part in your success - HR violations from senior management.. disgusting - compensation changes halfway through the year that only benefits the underperforming employees- great way to motivate your top performers! - no satisfaction in work you do ** I could go on for hours but you get the idea

    Continue reading
    Cvent2019-09-20
  3. "Account manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Cvent full-time

    Pros

    Great perks and good offer letter. Great environment

    Cons

    Long hours (45 contracted), tough commute,

    Cvent2018-10-23
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Great company culture, but they will work you around the clock"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cvent full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Young culture, high energy, really fun environment and industry, travel.

    Cons

    Low pay, long hours, and they are very watch dog - they track everything from your productivity to when you take your lunch. Management is grown in house so they dont have external leadership experience. Very high school click-ish.

    Cvent2018-09-26
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Good working at Cvent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Cvent

    Pros

    Learning new technologies. Fast growing. Nice place to work

    Cons

    Long hours. Not flexible work hours.

    Cvent2018-10-02
  6. Helpful (17)

    "Don’t believe the hype!!!! (Or the other reviews)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cvent full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Job security. The company is growing, so unlike other companies, there are no layoffs here and to my knowledge there has never been any, unless you count the very early years and the acquisitions.

    Cons

    So many. Trust me I was there for several years (4+) so I’ve seen it all. The micromanagement there is terrible. Big Brother is everywhere. For example, they run reports of when employees swipe in and out of the parking lot to see how many hours you’re on premises. The assumption is that if you’re not in the office and they can’t actually see you working, then you’re not actually working. Zero trust and respect for employees in that regard. Second, the pay is miserable, way below market. Don’t believe otherwise. Third, 9.5 to 12 hour days are the norm there. You’re nothing but a widget there and you’re expected to work long hours for below market pay, all the while being measured to death by ridiculously aggressive KPIs. Fourth, the company has a plus 20% annual attrition rate due to all of these reasons. Look and see all the open positions on the Web site. They like to attribute it to growth, but the fact is that it’s mostly backfill slots. They try to indoctrinate the young employees right out of college into thinking all of this is ok because they get experience, happy hours, free food etc., basically a corporate extension of fraternity life. “Bleed Blue” is their Fascist mantra. But most kids wake up and smell the stale, burning coffee after a couple of years, hence the attrition rate. So if you enjoy working in a sweatshop, Cvent has a spot for you! #cventsweatshopnation #dontbelievethecventhype

    Continue reading
    Cvent2018-05-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cvent full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Growing company that in turn gives employees many new opportunities due to that growth! -Employees that perform well will see many promotions -Open/collaborative environment -Best thing about the company = the PEOPLE - fantastic and smart co-workers, managers, and senior management

    Cons

    -Can be long hours but moving to more of a flexible work environment

    Continue reading
    Cvent2018-04-13
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Project Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cvent full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    ability to grow and gain experience, lots of responsibility early in your career, strong training programs, transparent senior level executives, travel opportunities

    Cons

    micromanagement, very underpaid for quality of work, you have to get reimbursed for company expenses when or if you travel, poor middle management, very long hours, poor work life balance, high stress job

    Continue reading
    Cvent2017-06-03
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Good But Going Downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cvent full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with exciting technology. Depending on your manager, flexible hours and work from home policy. A lot of nice, hard working, smart and passionate people. Company seems to be stable and is growing. Lots of work to be done. You can grow quite quickly, if you perform.

    Cons

    Long hours. Very tight deadlines which leads to having no time making the product more stable and less buggy. This leads to spending more and more time fixing bugs and even longer working hours. This spiral is not good and cannot end well. Company is growing way too quickly. Working with a lot of remote employees is just not the same as working with people in the same office. Pay and benefits are pretty meh.

    Continue reading
    Cvent2016-10-01
  10. Helpful (17)

    "Do NOT work here. Do not believe the good reviews. Low pay, no work life balance, no 401k matching, taxed bonus check"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tysons Corner, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cvent full-time

    Pros

    I met some awesome people. Made some great friends who are still my friends to this day. I have to say, some of the people here made my time at Cvent tolerable. They have free healthcare plans too. The healthcare plan was okay. Nothing spectacular about it. Some of the senior management members were nice, funny and easy to talk to. Surprisingly. They let people travel to India office for a few weeks. I'm honestly having a hard time thinking of pros because this company this that bad.......

    Cons

    LOW PAY! Horrible! The worst I have ever seen! Their salaries are only competitive with McDonald's and other service sector jobs. I'm not kidding about that either. The CEO is always talking about offering "competitive salaries". Ha! Competitive with who? Burger cooks at McDonald's hahaha! Expect no work life balance. Expect to work long hours, especially if you are in Sales. They make you work a minimum of 9.5 hours a day and you are monitored. You will work more hours..especially in Sales, trust me. Expect no life here. They make you sign a 2 year bond or you have to pay back $7,500. Yup, you read that right...$7,500! Many leave before the 2 years because this place is so horrible. No 401k matching, despite everyone requesting this. Reggie says that stock options replace 401k matching. Are you serious? Oh right, anything requiring Cvent to pay employees they cheap out on. Only 15 days of PTO and no sick days. No President's Day or MLK off like most other good companies. They promote people a lot, but guess what? NO PAY INCREASE! Oh of course they won't increase your pay for promotions like NORMAL companies. All of your hard work is for what? NOTHING. They are so cheap! But OH they have plenty of money for Cvent Connect at fancy Las Vegas venues, a fancy new Tyson's office and steak dinners for prospects. Explain that. The bonus you get is taxed heavily and the annual pay increase is minimal every year. Only like 6%. They talk about being the "Best Company to work for in the DC area"...yeah right. If your company is so great, why do you need a 2 year bond to hold people here? Cvent is CHEAP CHEAP CHEAP. They won't even cut on the A/C and heat during the weekends and they shut it off after 7pm on the weekdays to save on the power bill. But again, Cvent has plenty of money for fancy Las Vegas venues, a new Tyson's office and steak dinners for prospects. Explain that. I have moved on from this horrible place and now I earn a market rate salary now (which is very high for me), only work 8 hours and my commute in the DC area is awesome now. I work at a NORMAL company now. DO NOT WORK HERE. READ THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS, THEY ARE SO ACCURATE! I speak nothing but the 100% truth. Everyone here is complaining about the same things. Ignore the glowing positive HR reviews. HR needs to post negative reviews because they know this company is bad. AGAIN, STAY AWAY FROM THIS HORRIBLE PLACE! I HAVE WITNESSES WHO CAN BACK UP MY CLAIMS! Find another company and avoid Cvent at all costs. Cvent is the worst company ever!

    Continue reading
    Cvent2016-01-23

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 50 reviews