Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union Reviews | Glassdoor

Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union Reviews

Updated Jan 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
83%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union President and CEO Cameron C. Dickey (no image)
Cameron C. Dickey
11 Ratings
  1. "Busy place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to learn. Very challenging environment

    Cons

    Managers work long hours consistently.

    Continue reading
    Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union2020-01-13
  2. "Cy-Fair FCU is a great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee engagement Friendly Staff Positive working culture Outstanding leaders

    Cons

    I have no cons for this employer.

    Continue reading
    Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union2020-01-09
  3. "Excellent place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good compensation, end of the year party, candy or drinks at random.

    Cons

    Company only offers part time, no room for advancement.

    Continue reading
    Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union2019-08-13

    Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union Response

    October 21, 2019President/CEO

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback, especially regarding our work to create an employer of choice environment for our team members including competitive compensation, team celebrations, bringing lunch in for our employees, and little thank you's with treats from Bahama Bucks, or chiropractic and chair massage professionals brought in for our teams. We believe happy employees provide great service to our members. There are a few items in this review that are not quite correct. Cy-Fair FCU actually offers many more full-time positions than part-time. We employee 70-75 employees at various times of the year and only approximately 20% are part-time positions. Additionally, internal promotion is always our preferred manner for filling an opening. Of our current employees, over 20 of them started in a different position than the one they work in today. That includes the Branch Manager at our Skinner Rd location who started as a part-time teller, moved into our training department and was recently promoted to Branch Manager. Another terrific example of internal promotions is our Director of Member Experience, Georgette Salazar, who started with our organization in the call center, moved to the Accounts Payable position in our accounting department for nearly two years, was promoted to our lending team, applied for (and was hired) as the Executive Assistant to the President/CEO where she worked for three years before she was promoted to her current role as a Director overseeing all of our branch teams. Cy-Fair FCU is an organization that rewards and appreciates hard work, talent and a strong work-ethic. Every CFFCU employee participates in one-on-one coaching and mentoring monthly with their supervisor and has the opportunity to grow in their career at Cy-Fair FCU. If you are reading this, we hope that you will join our fast-growing organization and see where your career can grow at CFFCU. Feel free to contact me at cdickey@cyfairfcu.org if you would like additional information about Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union. Or you are also welcome to contact Valarie Prillman, VP of Human Resources at vprillman@cyfairfcu.org. Thank you for taking the time to read this. -Cameron Dickey, President/CEO Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union

    Continue reading
  4. "Fast Paced, Exciting, Family Oriented Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Training Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The VP of HR/Compliance is wonderful. She takes the time to get to know the employees of the CU. She is understanding and compassionate while also being firm when necessary. The other members of the Executive Leadership team are dedicated to the overall success and growth of the organization. The CEO is personable, has a wonderful sense of humor, and does not hesitate to reach out directly to individual managers when there is a question or a need. Fellow co-workers are dedicated and want to create an environment of success for not only the Credit Union but also the members.

    Cons

    Benefit cost to employee could be improved.

    Continue reading
    Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union2019-07-03

    Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union Response

    October 21, 2019President/CEO

    Thank you for your wonderful review. You know that we all miss you too.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great Place to Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This CU has offered up some many additional trainings and various opportunities. If you want to learn about the Credit Union movement and grow with an organization, this is it.

    Cons

    A corporate wellness program would be great. At my last employer, we got an incentive for being active. The program was great. Health insurance is a little costly, but good coverage.

    Continue reading
    Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union2019-03-12

    Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union Response

    June 4, 2019President/CEO

    Thank you for this great review. We appreciate your feedback and your trust in CFFCU as your employer. Your advice to management concerning continued investment in training is excellent. I promise that we will do that. Well trained and supported employees help up to provide knowledgeable, kind, and happy service our members. Thank you again for your 5-star rating.

    Continue reading
  6. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, hour lunch, fair management team.

    Cons

    Workload can be a bit stressful due to staff shortage.

    Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union2017-10-08

    Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union Response

    June 4, 2019President/CEO

    As a current employee of CFFCU, thank you for your feedback. As you indicated, Cy-Fair FCU strives to provide competitive compensation, reasonable rest periods, and fair management for our team members. Though we work hard to minimize staff shortages (even occasionally hiring for future openings in advance,) sometimes an unplanned illness or an open position can create a temporary shortage. When they do occur, we try to periodically bring in lunch for our employees, supervisors try to share the extra load by taking on some of the extra responsibilities with their teams, and/or we may provide an equivalent period of time off on another day. We will continue to work to minimize these occurrences. Thank you again for your feedback. -Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union

    Continue reading
  7. "Room to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to learn a lot about the financial world. There was a lot of room to improve and a lot of job openings to get promoted to. You can get close to your branch, and even from other branches. It feels like you're in a family.

    Cons

    Upper management is not great with employees. They always talk about becoming more involved with their employees to get a better understanding of what's working and what's not. However you only see them once in a blue moon, and never talk to you. FSR's and managers are always quitting mostly due to extreme pressure put down their necks. If you're applying for manager, get ready to get yelled at and chewed out by the VP when not meeting almost impossible goals. They don't take into consideration the amount of members that go into each branch when they set goals for the branches.

    Continue reading
    Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union2017-09-20

    Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union Response

    September 26, 2017President/CEO

    As one of six senior managers at Cy-Fair FCU, it is disappointing to hear that one of our former team members was frustrated by aspects of their job, their goals, and expectations to interact more frequently with the credit union’s senior team. It is our practice to clearly communicate with job applicants and new employees so that those kinds of expectations are clarified at the start of their employment. In fact, one of the parts of my job that I love most is the time I get to spend with groups of new employees going over the credit union’s vision, plans for growth, and opportunities for career pathing with Cy-Fair FCU during new employee orientation. This is dedicated time with new employees and the credit union’s Chief Executive Officer. Additionally, each member of our senior team also participates with new employees during orientation. Following new hire orientation, many of our newer (and long-term employees) have gone on to excel at their jobs, exceeded the responsibilities assigned to them and their goals, and obtained promotions and raises. At CFFCU, we have a very strong record of internal promotions and cross-department job movements that allow our employees to try out new areas and create careers with us. Branch goals are established in coordination with branch managers and align with industry standards. In fact, often we have found that new employees are surprised by how much lower their goals are at CFFCU than they were in their previous organization. The vast majority of our employees (and their branches) meet their goals each month. Like the above reviewer, one of the recurring themes that we hear from some of our branch employees is a desire to have more interactions with the credit union’s senior management team. To this end, we have implemented a number of recurring opportunities for interactions including periodic all-staff training days, departmental meetings with senior managers, volunteering together at community events, team volleyball/softball/bowling tournaments with other credit unions spread throughout the year, and our annual employee appreciation banquet. We have also hosted two after-hours employee socials where employees at all levels of the organization can interact, talk, and enjoy food and beverages together. Our senior managers and volunteer board members also are members of the credit union and they frequently visit our branches or call our call center regarding their CFFCU accounts. These are terrific, casual opportunities to visit and get to know one another better. It’s important to also note that CFFCU senior managers have VERY large areas of responsibility. As of the writing of this review response, CFFCU’s senior management team is working on over 50 active organizational projects. In the same manner that the reviewer thinks that their job is not understood well, there may be a misunderstanding of what a senior manager does. As a branch or call center employee of Cy-Fair FCU, you predominately interact with your direct manager, VP of Sales & Lending (that oversees our branches and call center), and the VP of Human Resources & Training because their daily job duties directly connect to front-line employees (as well as other areas). However, other members of the credit union’s senior management team have very large roles that are tied to our accounting functions, information systems, marketing, loss prevention, compliance, community engagement, and outside business development. Those responsibilities require many hours a week (far in excess of 40 hours) and they do not directly interface with the our branches nearly as regularly. The interactions that do result are usually the product of a major project implementation (of which there are many at CFFCU because we are a growing, evolving organization) or some of the many training, volunteer, networking, or employee appreciation events described above. On behalf of CFFCU, we appreciate the feedback provided in this review. We strive to improve and provide a positive experience for all of our employees and have shared this review with the appropriate organizational resources. We will continue to look for ways to be a strong employer of choice for all of our team members. If you would like additional information about Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union, please contact Valarie Brittain, VP of Human Resources at vbrittain@cyfairfcu.org or Cameron Dickey, President/CEO at cdickey@cyfairfcu.org. Thank you for taking the time to read this. - Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (7)

    "A complete waste of my time, and efforts."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Service Representative II in Cypress, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    That I am no longer employed and ruled under those Megalomaniacs

    Cons

    Can't describe it with a 20 word minimum. See under 'Advice to Management'

    Continue reading
    Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union2017-07-20

    Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union Response

    August 4, 2017President/CEO

    As I read the above review, it was clear that this person was writing in response to the credit union’s difficult decision to terminate their employment. While I am very familiar with the details that led to this decision, I am regrettably not at liberty to enumerate them. What I can say is that there were multiple reasons, that they were sustained and uncorrected, and that the employee’s violations of the credit union’s procedures resulted in a financial loss to the credit union that left no other alternative. Their unkind and defamatory comments also bear no resemblance to the heart, passion, intellect, and compassion of the many fine people who work at Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union including its senior leadership team. I have the privilege of working with these exceptionally bright and kind people every day and I am so proud to be associated with them. Their character, their dedication and their focus on always doing what is right for our members, our team members, and our community are just a few of the reasons that Cy-Fair FCU continues to grow and thrive. Here’s the real Cy-Fair FCU... Each year, we contract with an independent 3rd party to administer an employee satisfaction survey. All responses are submitted anonymously and tabulated by the third party. In 2017, the credit union’s overall employee satisfaction score was a very strong 79%. Not only do we conduct an annual survey, we also conduct exit interviews when an employee leaves to find out what we could have done better. More than that, we also conduct periodic “stay” interviews with groups of current employees to find out what we can do better BEFORE they seek employment elsewhere. 2 years ago, we deployed acrylic “solutions” boxes to every work site so that if our team members see a process that isn’t working and they have a better idea, or a way to improve the way we serve our members, or something that would just generally make our organization better, they can easily provide that feedback. If you had been an employee of Cy-Fair FCU over the past year, you would have: • been encouraged to take time away from the office (up to 16 hours paid) to volunteer at your son or daughter’s school or with a community group • attended a murder mystery employee appreciation banquet with a spouse, partner, or guest • had ice cream bars delivered by our HR team on National Ice Cream Day • participated in a monthly Random Act of Kindness where you helped us surprise unsuspecting community residents with a potted plant, delicious treat, or gift card just to brighten their day • submitted nominations (or have been nominated by a co-worker yourself) for our employee of the quarter recognition program • received information about our NEW tuition reimbursement program for employees • possibly volunteered with other CFFCU team members on our employee events committee to plan fun and engaging activities for employees • attended monthly one-on-one coaching and mentoring meetings with your immediate supervisor • attended our first quarterly after hours staff get together at Mo’s Irish Pub • attended our February and October all-staff training day consisting primarily of cross-functional/cross-department team-building activities and problem solving games (for example, passing all team members through a vertical web of strings without them touching the ground or touching any sides of the web) or a timed cup-stacking team challenge • been asked to select which of the credit union’s five core values (Accountable, Genuine, Responsive, Innovative, or Dedicated) most describes you and then received a t-shirt with that word to participate in training events • participated in our Houston Chapter of Credit Unions food and toy drive • submitted a “solution” to how we open new accounts and increased the speed to help our members. A gift card and a thank you note came in the interoffice mail about a week later • participated with co-workers and family in a fundraising bowling tournament against other local credit unions • been urged to utilize every interaction with our members on the phone or at a branch as an opportunity to “write” something positive into the “story” of their lives Since our first Glass Door review in 2014, we have had just 3 reviewers rate us poorly. That’s less than 1 employee per year. For an organization our size, I believe that says a lot about Cy-Fair FCU. This is a place that many people have worked for years and been able to grow in their careers. This month, we announced 5 internal promotions of hard-working people that joined our organization in the past 2 (or less) years and all of them shined in their previous roles. If you would like additional information about CFFCU, please contact me at cdickey@cyfairfcu.org or Valarie Brittain, VP of Human Resources, at vbrittain@cyfairfcu.org. Thank you for taking the time to read this.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Loss Prevention Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Loss Prevention Specialist in Missouri City, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company it has a family feel.

    Cons

    Collections is always a roller coaster ride.

    Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union2016-08-02

    Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union Response

    June 4, 2019President/CEO

    Thank you for this great review. We appreciate your feedback and your trust during your tenure with CFFCU.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "This was a horrible experience. Upper management and policy and the branches are all on different pages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Teller 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Most of the staff are nice. Pay is decent

    Cons

    People get fired almost every Friday. You have to figure out a lot on your own. Extremely short staffed. Upper management doesn't care about you

    Continue reading
    Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union2016-07-20

    Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union Response

    August 4, 2017President/CEO

    While this reviewer from three (3) years ago doesn’t provide much information or detail, the low score they gave CFFCU refers to three areas: Training, Feeling short-staffed, and Terminations. According to the reviewer, they were employed by Cy-Fair FCU as a Teller. A branch teller job is an entry-level position and admittedly comes with a learning curve including how to process transactions, getting familiar with industry vocabulary, getting to know the organization’s products, the necessity of accurate cash-handling processes, some basic regulatory compliance elements associated with teller transactions (such as check holds & large transaction reporting requirements), fraud prevention skill-building, use of email and browser-based software solutions, and controls and security requirements for cash. It’s a lot. And sometimes, a job applicant may underestimate what they will need to learn in order to be successful in this role. CFFCU has a comprehensive, multi-week training program for all new employees including tellers. The first parts are taught in a classroom setting. The latter parts are taught in a “live” branch with supervision and input from more experienced tellers, trainers, and branch managers. Additionally, we host two full-day all staff training days annually, a comprehensive online training library with recorded presentations, skill-assessments, and we send staff to role appropriate workshops & conferences. In 2017, we also introduced a new tuition reimbursement program for employees. A typical credit union or bank branch runs with between 3-8 employees (depending on its design, volume of customers, how transaction handling occurs, whether businesses also conduct large transactions in the branch or not, etc). When all open positions are filled, there are more than enough employees to serve members in a quick, efficient manner. But, unforeseen circumstances can occur. If someone is on vacation, someone unexpectedly calls in sick, an employee is promoted or leaves for another position (so there is an opening), and then staff lunch periods occur, suddenly you can have a temporary shortage of branch personnel. CFFCU has a small number of part-time employees that can expand hours and help fill in as well as employees that are available to temporarily “float” to an open position. But the overall effect is slightly fewer hands (temporarily). This requires employees who are adaptive, who are empathetic to waiting customers (and co-workers) and who can calmly and efficiently help during this period. Because so little information is provided by the reviewer, it’s difficult to know if this occurred for more than a few days or if there were different circumstances. Termination of employment is ALWAYS a measure of last resort. Anyone that has had to look in the eyes of another person and tell them that their employment is being terminated wouldn’t easily suggest it was done routinely or arbitrarily. It’s a very difficult thing to do and I’ve NEVER participated in one that wasn’t handled compassionately and respectfully. In addition to the profound impact on the employee, it also has a detrimental impact on the organization and other team members. Happy, successful employees are a win-win and the goal for everyone. CFFCU employees get strong support to ensure that they are successful in their positions. Coaching, training, and re-training is always the preferred and most-used solution when a performance issue is identified. When/where possible…depending on the circumstances….we have also worked with employees not succeeding in one role to find a better fit in another role at CFFCU. A few years ago, we invited our employees to help write our Core Values, our Mission Statement, and our Vision. I would assert that not many organizations would do that. But our employees did a phenomenal job. And the statements that they come up with guide the actions of our managers, our board, & our team members. Under our Vision Statement, this is our vision for our team members: --OUR team members bring our Vision to life; therefore, we value them by investing in their development and well-being. --WE foster an inclusive, collaborative culture with a family feel. --WE offer opportunities, recognition and rewards for our team members and encourage community involvement. I think it’s important to acknowledge that, though Cy-Fair FCU is a VERY good organization, we are not a perfect organization. But we aspire to be. We are invested in (and working on) this aspiration every day. THAT’S the organization that I’m proud to be a part of. That’s Cy-Fair FCU. If you would like additional information about CFFCU, please contact me at cdickey@cyfairfcu.org or Valarie Prillman, VP of Human Resources, at vprillman@cyfairfcu.org. Thank you for taking the time to read this.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 15 reviews