Cymax Stores Reviews | Glassdoor

Cymax Stores Reviews

Updated Jul 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 116 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
Rizwan Somji
1 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management have only the vaguest idea of what they want to accomplish(in 5 reviews)

  • "Customer service department should be called the limited liability department :)(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Wish I could have the time back..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cymax Stores full-time

    Pros

    Good people that really believe and care in what they are trying to accomplish... that said, what they are trying to accomplish seems to change every 6 seconds.

    Cons

    Weak leadership, lack of respect for employees. benefits are sub-par. No work life balance, A lot of layoffs recently. Fake Promises, no mentorship or training, long work hours, lack of recognition/training at work and low salary.

    Advice to Management

    Pick a direction... communicate it and follow it.

    Cymax Stores2017-01-17
  2. "So much change (for the great)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cymax Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - so many chances to grow and learn, even outside your own team -people here are wicked - such a cool group of people - new leadership has a focus on people, not just money -stability feels really good

    Cons

    communication. it's better but not great yet. maybe more informal meetings with teams so we all know whats going on

    Advice to Management

    Keep up with the changes. Its been inspiring to be here and see the changes from 4/5 years ago to today. its a whole new company. especially since the new year.

    Cymax Stores2019-07-09
  3. "Amazing group of people and the coolest tech company in BC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Devops Engineer in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cymax Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Career growth, teamwork, work culture - there is really nowhere like Cymax where you could continue to grow in your profession, enjoy each other company, and being taken care of.

    Cons

    Unclear roles and responsibilities and business direction sometimes - it could make the employee harder to know how well of a job they are doing or evaluate their value and contribution to the team.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work you guys are doing to embracing and showing your loyalty and commitment to your employees - outstanding and no like any other organization(s) I've been

    Cymax Stores2019-06-28
  4. "Poor pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Burnaby, BC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Cymax Stores full-time

      Pros

      Super flexible in terms of work schedule

      Cons

      Compensation not on par and tough to get raises

      Cymax Stores2019-05-23
    • "Very good people"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software Developer in Burnaby, BC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Cymax Stores full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I was very happy while working there. People are very friendly and we keep seeing each other all the time even after everybody left. We created strong friendship.

      Cons

      Sometimes stressful and sometimes management problems.

      Cymax Stores2019-04-30
    • Helpful (1)

      "Destroyed my Career."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Burnaby, BC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Cymax Stores full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Talented, if under-utilized staff. Big office space (full of empty desks)

      Cons

      Blatant disregard for talent and ideas not originating from the CEO. DO NOT bring external relationships you trust to do business with Cymax. You will be burned. It has taken me over a year to recover from my relationship with this company. They do not honor relationships with vendors and partners and arbitrarily change directions on massive initiatives based on statistically irrelevant, knee-jerk reactions. There is...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Replace the CEO. Rizwan, the COO, is an insightful, smart guy who DOES care and should be leading the charge. He respects the talent and dedication of his employees.

      Cymax Stores2019-04-18
    • "This company needs some direction"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Employee in Burnaby, BC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Cymax Stores full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Less management Things don't change everyday Fun staff that likes to work together

      Cons

      You'll work hard for not much pay Lot's of uncertainty all the time Computer systems to break a lot

      Advice to Management

      Use your skills for better company

      Cymax Stores2019-02-26
    • "Cymax review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend

        I worked at Cymax Stores full-time

        Pros

        Opportunity to grow within the company

        Cons

        Did not pay employees well, no bonus

        Cymax Stores2019-02-15
      • "I worked as a sales agent at Cymax Group"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends

        I worked at Cymax Stores part-time

        Pros

        The company has a great work environment and a great culture. Overall fun place to work at.

        Cons

        The compensation is at par or below market rate.

        Cymax Stores2018-12-12
      • "Great culture"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Cymax Stores full-time

        Pros

        I have been working at Cymax for 5 years. I have experienced the rise and fall as the executive team was trying to figure out the direction. I feel really good about the company now and I see many opportunities for me to grow.

        Cons

        The team doesn't get to gather outside of work.

        Advice to Management

        More updates and keeping the team in the loop. I really liked the townhall meetings. It gives assurance to us about the company and we get to know the things that we are normally dont get to be part of.

        Cymax Stores2018-11-04
      Found 116 reviews