Cytokinetics Reviews

Updated Dec 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
56%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Cytokinetics President and CEO Robert I. Blum
Robert I. Blum
15 Ratings
  1. "Best !"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist II 

    I have been working at Cytokinetics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent place to work

    Cons

    None that I can think off

    Cytokinetics Response

    January 13, 2020Human Resources

    We’re glad you enjoy being a member of the Cytokinetics community. Your dedication is what helps fulfill our mission and reach our ambitions goals. We are all looking forward to a year of great opportunity and being on the precipice of delivering on our promises of bringing novel medicines to patients.

  2. Helpful (3)

    "BEWARE: Stay away!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Individual Contributor in South San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cytokinetics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some nice people, occasional events and free lunch on Wednesdays

    Cons

    Members of the leadership team that have around for over 20 years seem to lack reasonable accountability and would rather degrade their teams and direct reports instead of taking ultimate ownership over their inability to lead. It is hard to work at a company where management does not trust their employees. Watch your back if you come here.

    Continue reading

    Cytokinetics Response

    October 11, 2019Human Resources

    We’re disappointed to hear about your experience, especially your concerns about the senior leadership team. We believe the management team upholds our values of Integrity & Respect, and Goals & Accountability but understand that you had a different experience. We hope that you were able to share your concerns with your manager and HR to enable us to share the feedback with management.


  3. "Sr. Software Engineer"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Cytokinetics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good tools and technology used for the application development.

    Cons

    only few people work in software teams

    Cytokinetics Response

    April 26, 2019Human Resources

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. We’re glad you valued our commitment to applied technology in your time with us. As a smaller company, we know our teams can be “lean and mean,” however we continuously evaluate where our work force should be expanded as we advance our pipeline and evolve to a commercial stage biotech.

  4. "Culture is great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cytokinetics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It’s a small sized company with a great pipeline. I like that I know everyone and people seem to care about each other. The company has fun activities like themed beer busts, company picnic, giants baseball game, holiday party, and community events.

    Cons

    We don’t have some of the amenities like the newer buildings do but I heard we are looking to move in a couple years to a new building that offers it.

    Cytokinetics Response

    March 12, 2019Human Resources

    We’re pleased to hear that you enjoy our culture and employee events. We believe that being able to enjoy time with coworkers helps develop bonds and create an energized, connected community. We’re excited for more fun events to come this year!

  5. "Nice company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Cytokinetics full-time

    Pros

    Good working environment, nice people

    Cons

    Need to build more platforms to be competitive

    Cytokinetics Response

    July 24, 2018Human Resources

    Thanks for sharing your experience, it’s great to hear that you enjoy working here. We agree we have some pretty great people on our team. We are focused on our future and expanding our pipeline, and before the end of the year we will be advancing three new muscle biology directed compounds from research to development.

  6. Helpful (2)

    "A great company to work for if you are 'all in'"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cytokinetics full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have been at CK for over 10 years and have thoroughly enjoyed my time there. It is a job that will continuously challenge and stretch your abilities, but there is ample opportunity to have great impact on your surroundings. Leadership is very strong at CK, and most of the people in the company share a common phenotype of very intelligent, hard working, and very helpful and collaborative

    Cons

    The biggest downside to working at CK is continually having too much on your plate at once. It is sometimes difficult for me to spend enough time on any given effort, since there is often many simultaneous competing demands on my time.

    Continue reading

    Cytokinetics Response

    April 5, 2018Human Resources

    Thank you for your dedication and commitment to Cytokinetics, it is this shared passion and drive that makes our culture special. We’re pleased to hear that over the past 10 years you’ve had the opportunity to be challenged and grow your career. We do recognize that we ask a lot of our employees because we know that success in biotech requires extraordinary dedication. However, if you’re feeling overextended or that you do not have the bandwidth to maintain the standard of work you take pride in, please speak with your manager or HR to address expectations and work/life balance. A two way dialog is essential to finding this equilibrium.

  7. Helpful (4)

    "Toxic Culture"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cytokinetics

    Pros

    'Fun community' primarily due to positive relationships fostered onsite.

    Cons

    The company is stuck in the noughts. 'Innovation, open dialogue, integrity & respect, goals & accountability, work/life balance, professional growth' are not a thing at Cytokinetics.

    Continue reading

    Cytokinetics Response

    April 2, 2018Human Resources

    We appreciate you sharing your perspective and wish your experience at Cytokinetics was more positive. We take great pride in our culture and with an average tenure over 5 years, we believe our employees embrace it as well. We hope you gave us the opportunity to respond to your concerns while at Cytokinetics, as we are always open to feedback and recognize the need to listen and improve. We hope you have found a culture that is better aligned with your needs and expectations.

  8. "Great Company and coworkers but expect a bit of chaos"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cytokinetics for less than a year

    Pros

    I have a lot of respect for my coworkers. Most go above and beyond typical job descriptions to ensure the job gets done correctly and ethically. The company is actually interested in putting forth the best science, and budgets are fair. Management is the most transparent of any company I have every worked for.

    Cons

    It is a small company, so sometimes it feels a little disorganized when pushing for tight (and sometimes unrealistic) timelines. Embrace a bit of chaos, get your part done and you will be fine.

    Cytokinetics Response

    February 26, 2018Human Resources

    Thanks for sharing your feedback, we very much appreciate it. We’re glad to hear about your positive experience at the company. Setting challenging goals is an important cultural value here at Cytokinetics, because we believe it’s required for success in our unique and challenging business. Some would argue a little chaos is a good thing!

  9. Helpful (4)

    "Step into the 21st century"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cytokinetics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free employee lunch on Wednesday's.

    Cons

    No tele commuting, management needs a major over haul, too many directors live the motto it has been done this way for over 16 years!

    Continue reading

    Cytokinetics Response

    January 8, 2018Human Resources

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. We’re disappointed to hear about your discontent. We do have high expectations for our employees, but we also aim to ensure that hard work and dedication are recognized and rewarded. We do have a formal Flexible Work Options Policy that does include consideration of working remotely. We encourage you to reach out to your manager or HR for a more in-depth conversation.

  10. "Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cytokinetics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cytokinetics is very committed to the community with ample opportunities for community service throughout the year. They are equally committed to the patient populations we are developing treatments for.

    Cons

    Not all areas are as collaborative as they could be.

    Cytokinetics Response

    October 6, 2017Human Resources

    We’re happy to hear that you appreciate our commitment to patients and the communities we serve. We’d love to hear more regarding your feedback on collaboration, and encourage you to reach out directly to a member of the HR team.

Found 23 reviews