Cytokinetics Reviews | Glassdoor

Cytokinetics Reviews

Updated Apr 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Cytokinetics CEO Robert I. Blum
Robert I. Blum
14 Ratings
  1. "Regulatory"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cytokinetics

    Pros

    good team culture and spirit

    Cons

    short-handed on staff, need more staff

    Cytokinetics2016-12-16

    Cytokinetics Response

    September 13, 2017Human Resources

    We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed the company culture at Cytokinetics, it’s something we take great pride in. We have increased our headcount significantly in many key areas of the company and will continue to hire in the coming months.

  2. "salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Cytokinetics full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      wore many hats - got lots of broad expereience

      Cons

      Always short on cash soprojects ran thin

      Cytokinetics2016-05-07

      Cytokinetics Response

      September 13, 2017Human Resources

      We’re happy that you benefited by broadening your professional experience at Cytokinetics, and would like to thank you for your dedication to Cytokinetics for over 5 years. We are disappointed that you felt there were not enough resources on projects in your time here. We are working ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (1)

      "good place to stay and learn"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Cytokinetics

        Pros

        great biology around cytoskeleton and muscle

        Cons

        risky business to survive, challenging environment

        Cytokinetics2015-10-29
      • "Great Culture"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Cytokinetics full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        -People are dedicated on doing a good job and working together as a team to accomplish the task at hand. -Free catered lunch once a week -Free bagels and fruits 2x per week -CEO has quarterly catered lunch to recognize quarterly birthdays -People overall care about each other -Pay is competitive with other biopharma companies

        Cons

        -Would be nice to have an on-site gym but we at least get $500 gym reimbursement so that's a plus.

        Advice to Management

        Continue to support the employees and be transparent. It's one of the great values we appreciate in the company.

        Cytokinetics2015-10-10
      • "It felt like family here and I wish I were still there (I was part of the lay offs)."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Human Resources Coordinator in South San Francisco, CA
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Cytokinetics full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Excellent work environment, culture & people. It was a very familial, friendly place to work and the type of place where you enjoyed coming into work every day.

        Cons

        I don't think I would have had the opportunity to grow here because it was such a small department that there probably wouldn't have been anywhere for me to go.

        Cytokinetics2014-04-22
      • Helpful (13)

        "Demeaning, Demoralizing and Destructive Experience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in South San Francisco, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Cytokinetics full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Some of the people. However, some of them have been there far too long and lack the experience of knowing how proper functioning companies work.

        Cons

        Management, simple as that. Lets start with the CEO who is a nasty bully, he instills fear through public beratements and destructive and cruel emails to get his own way despite management and employees (who have much more applicable experience than him) offering their thoughts. He conveys the air of a used car salesman who is down on his luck because as you look closer you will see holes in his shoes and a frayed collar...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Stop shoving manufactured and inappropriate messages and culture down employees throats, be kind to your employees, say "thank you" and "nice job". If you don't appreciate their work then let them go. Stop the micromanaging.

        Cytokinetics2013-11-22
      • "Company cares about there employees"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Network Manager in South San Francisco, CA
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Cytokinetics

        Pros

        Opportunity to represent company and reach out to community. Friendly atmosphere

        Cons

        Not much room for growth at this point in time.

        Advice to Management

        Difficult to do, but continue working on getting partners for newly discovered drugs and investigate methods to market and deliver newly discovered drugs.

        Cytokinetics2012-03-15
      • "It's great working with smart people whose abilities you can trust."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in South San Francisco, CA
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Cytokinetics

        Pros

        Smart coworkers, decent transparency from management when compared to other companies in biotech, and flexible working arrangements. Company really tries to take care of its employees even amidst layoffs.

        Cons

        Biotech faces a challenging business model right now. CK does not have a product on the market yet, so is completely dependent on external funding and collaborations.

        Cytokinetics2012-01-24
      • Helpful (9)

        "STOP MICROMANAGING, TREAT ADULTS LIKE ADULTS"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in South San Francisco, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Cytokinetics

        Pros

        Decent and friendly co-workers, all have valuable knowledge and experience

        Cons

        Executive management overly concerned with micromanaging. Management / team cliques result in some groups getting well protected and insulated, others overly exposed and criticized.

        Advice to Management

        Stop wasting time on developing "culture." You've already set a bad example and now want to pretend to be something else? Look into your own selves and initiate changes within first. Champion your employees, don't emasculate them.

        Cytokinetics2009-10-14
      • "Good science means good therapeutics"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Cytokinetics for more than a year

        Pros

        The science Is what matters

        Cons

        Going through a tough funding time

        Cytokinetics2012-06-20
      Found 21 reviews