KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

DC Central Kitchen

Is this your company?

DC Central Kitchen

Add a Review

DC Central Kitchen Reviews

Updated Oct 4, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 of over 18 reviews

3.7
75%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
DC Central Kitchen CEO Mike Curtin  (no image)
Mike Curtin
6 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Cook for school foods and Main kitchen

    Sep 24, 2021 - Line Cook/Prep Cook in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Always clean and wipe down everything before you start to work . Wash your food off before you start, cut items or Stack your items neatly so they would not fall down and not hurt others. Cook and label your food at the right time.

    Cons

    Remember to throw out stuff that may have been in the refrigerator to long and may cause a odor.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Steady Ok pay not a lot of unity.

    Oct 4, 2021 - Production Cook in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Okay pay. Steady hours. Free lunch.

    Cons

    Lazy cooking not always quality. People talk behind your back.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    CKP

    Jan 31, 2021 - Campus Kitchens Project Regional Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits, good work environment

    Cons

    would have liked to have more connection with the many facets of the org.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Former Staff

    Apr 21, 2021 - Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great organization and a powerful mission

    Cons

    It wasn't the right fit.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Excellent company

    Nov 23, 2020 - Operations 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome mission and people all around!

    Cons

    None that I can think of!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Mission driven organization with impact

    Dec 2, 2020 - Community Outreach Coordinator in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mission driven organization, trying to make the world a better place, strong community and friendships

    Cons

    Poor organization and leadership, benefits were not great, difficulty with boss

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Life Changing.

    Apr 5, 2020 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly Stress Free Environment For Space To Grow An Prosper In The Company

    Cons

    No Cons Really Showed I’m Comfortably In Place

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Program Assistant

    Oct 11, 2019 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits, easy to apply, flexible schedules, incentives

    Cons

    Poor Management, low wages, lack of support, unfriendly environment, lack of compassion for community,

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    DC Central Kitchen Response

    Chief Human Capital Officer

    Thank you for your feedback. At DC Central Kitchen, the well-being of our staff and the community we serve is our top priority. We strive to create an inclusive, strengths-based, and respectful workplace. I encourage you to reach out to our HR team directly to share more about your specific concerns. You can contact us at HR@dccentralkitchen.org. Thank you!

  9. 5.0
    Former Employee

    A warm and collaborative place to work

    Jul 16, 2013 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The DC Central Kitchen staff is like a family. Everyone supports one another, works together and works hard to impact as many lives as possible in the DC area. All of the staff are committed to the work they do, and you can tell by their day to day attitudes. There is always a friendly face nearby.

    Cons

    The Kitchen is a little cramped, although they are working on expanding the size of their locations.

    5 people found this review helpful

    DC Central Kitchen Response

    Chief Human Capital Officer

    Thank you for your positive feedback. We agree, we ARE family, and we like to think everyone who works here feels that way, too. As you point out, we are tight on space, but we acknowledge the kitchen can feel a little busy! Thank you again.

  10. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Prepcook

    Jun 17, 2015 - Prepcook in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They are a very good organization to work for

    Cons

    When the co-worker don't work together

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    DC Central Kitchen Response

    Chief Human Capital Officer

    Thank you for your feedback! We’re glad you enjoyed interning with us. If you are interested in applying for jobs in the future, you can view openings through our website at dccentralkitchen.org/work-for-dcck

Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

DC Central Kitchen Reviews FAQs

75% of DC Central Kitchen employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated DC Central Kitchen 3.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.9 for culture and values and 4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at DC Central Kitchen to be management, senior leadership, benefits and the cons to be compensation, career development.

Popular Careers with DC Central Kitchen Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at DC Central Kitchen? Share Your Experiences

DC Central Kitchen logo
or