KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

DECIEM

Engaged Employer

DECIEM

Add a Review

DECIEM Reviews

Updated Aug 9, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 210 of over 225 reviews

3.8
64%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
DECIEM CEO Nicola Kilner (no image)
Nicola Kilner
93 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The people I worked with were amazing, and there was a real sense of community within the store, and the company at large.(in 16 reviews)
  • "The pay was good that’s all(in 14 reviews)
  • "good benefits but other than that nothing much here(in 11 reviews)
  • "Some really great coworkers(in 8 reviews)
  • "Great culture and work environment(in 6 reviews)
Cons
  • "Bad management(in 15 reviews)
  • "3) The upper management is just there to combat against attacks of ELC...but hey ELC already bought you so just lay back and let the real company with REAL science.(in 10 reviews)
  • "no training for in store positions.(in 7 reviews)
  • "If the managers dont like you you will be targeted as a 'problematic employee' as they also have nothing better to do than to tell employees off for leaning in a department store with 3 customers in.(in 5 reviews)
  • "No work/life balance(in 5 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Disability

This rating reflects the overall rating of DECIEM and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Company

    Jan 5, 2022 - Transportation Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company culture and values, flexibility, growth potential and opportunity

    Cons

    Chaotic nature of a exponentially growing company, hiring has been a struggle between rapid growth and the pandemic

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Mediocre disguised as progressive.

    Feb 23, 2022 - Sales in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Deciem attempts to display a green washed brand identity depicting a company who champions environmental justice.

    Cons

    Deciem is a corporate company

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Flexible schedules, friendly team, corporate + store disconnect

    Oct 27, 2021 - Assistant Store Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone is passionate about skincare People are open and hard working

    Cons

    The corporate team seemed disconnected from what was happening within the store teams. The corporate team had many expectations for retail stores but did not recognize the team effort or valued store leadership.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    DECIEM Response

    Head of Recruitment and Talent Programs

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. Your feedback will be shared with the Leadership team as we are always looking for ways to improve and make DECIEM an amazing home for our entire team.

  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Committed to creating a healthy work place

    Jan 20, 2022 - Store Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Training on many skills to help you grow in your position and product knowledge/ training

    Cons

    There was a lack of structure. Managers got in trouble for actually disciplining staff. HR always took the side of the employees oppose to the people they put in charge.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Team

    Nov 30, 2021 - Retail Ambassador 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Get Team, Amazing discounts Genuinely learned lots about skincare and skincare ingredients

    Cons

    There could have been more opportunities for growth.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Company Values are great, The people they hire are not.

    Jul 1, 2021 - Key Holder 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They believe in doing what is right They pay well for a super low maintenance job They always take care of their employees The discounts are great.

    Cons

    The Management in store and out of store are essentially useless when it comes to most things. They never communicate properly with one another so you have 0 idea what is going on. There is no chance of moving up pretty much ever. Unless you live near one of their head offices. Like actually do not waste your time because they will have you make personal goals that will never go anywhere and no one will acknowledge your successes. Its a new company so just expect a lot of inconsistency.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    DECIEM Response

    Head of Recruitment and Talent Programs

    Thank you for sharing your feedback as it helps identify our opportunities and allows us to implement positive changes moving forward. The People team is working on an overarching development project to ensure that all employees at DECIEM see growth in their areas of interest. Your feedback will be shared with the management team to assist with changes moving forward and if you would like to discuss your experience in further detail, we are always happy to listen.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Love Deciem

    Jun 27, 2021 - Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company, positive atmosphere, management is always pushing you to do your best

    Cons

    Being on your feet and dress code

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    DECIEM Response

    Head of Recruitment and Talent Programs

    Thank you for sharing your feedback as it helps us identify our opportunities and allows us to implement positive changes moving forward. We are always looking for ways to improve and to make DECIEM an amazing home for our entire team as we continue to grow.

  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Always good in the beginning

    Jul 18, 2021 - Store Ambassador 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -decent pay -work perks - allowed wfh options at the height of pandemic

    Cons

    -upper management micromanages everything - high turnover -no opportunities for growth -no structure -management constantly lies to employees

    2 people found this review helpful

    DECIEM Response

    Head of Recruitment and Talent Programs

    Thank you for sharing your feedback as it helps us identify our opportunities and allows us to implement positive changes moving forward. We are always looking for ways to improve and to make DECIEM an amazing home for our entire team as we continue to grow.

  9. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Getting their Footing

    Apr 14, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They definitely have a Flexible Schedule

    Cons

    There were hardly any systems or protocols in place.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    DECIEM Response

    Head of Recruitment and Talent Programs

    Thank you for sharing your feedback as it helps us identify our opportunities and allows us to implement positive changes moving forward. Your feedback will be shared with the management team to assist with necessary changes. We are always looking for ways to improve and to make DECIEM an amazing home for our entire team as we continue to grow.

  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Genuinely love the products

    May 11, 2021 - Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Leading skincare company, learn so much, products are amazing

    Cons

    Needs to be more on the same page in certain aspects, have to have open availability

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    DECIEM Response

    Head of Recruitment and Talent Programs

    Thank you for taking the time to share these kind and helpful words about your experience with us. We deeply appreciate your feedback. We're working hard to make DECIEM an amazing home for our entire team. Your feedback will be shared with the management team to assist with changes moving forward and if you would like to discuss your experience in further detail, we are always happy to listen.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 210 Reviews

DECIEM Reviews FAQs

DECIEM has an overall rating of 3.8 out of 5, based on over 225 reviews left anonymously by employees. 64% of employees would recommend working at DECIEM to a friend and 61% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -5% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, DECIEM employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.7 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at DECIEM. This rating has decreased by -6% over the last 12 months.

64% of DECIEM employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated DECIEM 3.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.9 for culture and values and 3.2 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at DECIEM to be benefits, compensation, coworkers and the cons to be senior leadership, career development, management.

Popular Careers with DECIEM Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at DECIEM? Share Your Experiences

or

DECIEM Photos

+ Add Photo
DECIEM photo of: DECIEM STORE
DECIEM photo of: DECIEM is a science-first brand. That’s why each product concept begins in our lab and not in a marketing department..
DECIEM photo of: Peek-a-boo from our London, UK office :-)
DECIEM photo of: Our cozy home in Melbourne, Australia, where we are still sorting our stragedy.
DECIEM photo of: Pride is more than just rainbow-washing a logo, making an annual donation, or sponsoring a parade float. Our commitment, both within the DECIEM family and our wider community, is a long term project.
DECIEM photo of: DECIEM is not yet a sustainable beauty company, but we have made a commitment to continuously improve all areas of our operations. One way we're doing this is by partnering with Terracycle.
DECIEM photo of: Seoul, South Korea DECIEM Office
See All Photos