DFS Furniture Reviews | Glassdoor

DFS Furniture Reviews

Updated Sep 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 93 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
DFS Furniture CEO Ian Filby
Ian Filby
57 Ratings
Pros
  • "good money to be earned there is nothing else good about the company(in 5 reviews)

  • "Very friendly and encouraging workers/boss and great pay if you work to a good enough standard(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours and majority of managers are clueless, don't look after their staff and pass off their workload to sales(in 5 reviews)

  • "make sofas 3,4 in two halfs foe easy to get in(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company new management changing a lot of things so could be different depending on when you read this"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch General Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DFS Furniture full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay is good for the amount of work

    Cons

    Working hours and work life balance

    DFS Furniture2019-09-04
  2. "Used to be great, times are changing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales in Preston, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at DFS Furniture full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Easy job, other staff are great, fun atmosphere

    Cons

    Top management have all changed recently and for the worse.

    Advice to Management

    you Are changing the company away from a sales business to a customer service business. You will lose your best staff

    DFS Furniture2019-09-06
  3. "Growing corporate business with a family feel."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Supply Chain Manager in Maidstone, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DFS Furniture full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great family feel ,always supportive , great induction program's pay /reward and benefits are good , personal development growth very good Company strategy and growth plan is really strong

    Cons

    peak planning can be hard to adjust , maybe we could look at using 3.5 tonne vehicle more in london

    DFS Furniture2019-07-25
  4. "Great company enjoyable career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Supply Chain Manager in Stoke-on-Trent, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DFS Furniture full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great salary and rewards,large company family feel.

    Cons

    Really fast pace business around peak times.

    DFS Furniture2019-07-25
  5. "Great Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Sales Manager in Hedge End, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DFS Furniture full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Good training Great team environment Manager who listens Opportunities for development opportunities to improve salary

    Cons

    Not seen anything that stands out as an obvious draw back to be honest

    DFS Furniture2019-07-25
  6. "Enjoy my job and the people are great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Administrator in Long Eaton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DFS Furniture full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company genuinely cares about it's staff and offers many benefits ,whether this being things to aid well being or fun for the family. The company is transparent with all aspects of the business and you are always kept well informed.

    Cons

    No negatives - enjoy my role, enjoy the people I work with.

    DFS Furniture2019-07-18
  7. "Challenging & busy, but surrounded by brilliant teams."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Works Manager in Doncaster, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DFS Furniture full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Challenging role but you are supported at every turn by colleagues with a massive depth of experience. Fast paced and varied where no 2 days are the same. You get a great buzz out of achieving required output. The reward & benefits are great. We have a load of fun but mixed in with proper graft!

    Cons

    No negatives - only thing you could do is smooth down the peak periods slightly but that's often dictated by the market.

    DFS Furniture2019-07-18
  8. "Fast paced and fun."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sewing Supervisor in Doncaster, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DFS Furniture full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great progression opportunities. The money is good. The people are fun to work with - we have a balance between hard work and having a laugh. Training opportunities - I have been promoted over the last 6 months and am starting a formal course to provide leadership training. They are a company that cares about their people - I have just completed a Mental Health first aid course.

    Cons

    Peak periods are fast paced and challenging. Job security.

    DFS Furniture2019-07-18
  9. "A great corporate business with a real family feel."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Group H&S Manager in Peterborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DFS Furniture full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I find that everyone is very approachable all the way through the top level and although we are a huge business DFS has that family feel. I have been with the business a long time, which I have developed my skills changed roles and areas with in the company along the way, so there have been lots of opportunity to develop my career skills too. I find as an innovative company the world of furniture is never finished..., so I love the way we are always looking to move forward, be better each and every time.

    Show More

    Cons

    I cover a large area so travelling time can be long due to traffic jams and delays. Due to longevity of employees staying with the company it can be difficult to move up the ladder, however as there are always different opportunities with in the company there is always a chance to change direction if you can't progress.

    Advice to Management

    Take the time to know your team and understand how they work as some times people are driven and learn in different ways.

    DFS Furniture2019-07-17
  10. "Career progression if you have the right attitude and work ethic."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Support Manager in Doncaster, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DFS Furniture full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good career progression is you work hard and have the right attitude. Great work life balance. The people here are good to work with, good balance of hard work and fun. Fantastic facilities!

    Cons

    Can be stressful due to the volume of work. Peak periods can be tough to get used to.

    DFS Furniture2019-07-17
Found 93 reviews