DGI Supply Reviews | Glassdoor

DGI Supply Reviews

Updated Oct 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
DGI Supply CEO Jim Hobbs  (no image)
Jim Hobbs
1 Ratings
  1. "Good Company - Getting Better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at DGI Supply full-time

    Pros

    Solid leadership, great coworkers. HR does a lot of fun stuff for coworkers.

    Cons

    Industrial Supply industry is very cyclical

    Advice to Management

    Interact more with your team.

    DGI Supply2017-08-08
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DGI Supply full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great work environment and learning opportunities

    Cons

    Too many chiefs and unsure about the future state

    DGI Supply2019-10-04
  3. "pass on DGI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at DGI Supply full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good people in warehouse and staff

    Cons

    company is riddled with nepotism and politics

    DGI Supply2019-05-15
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Don't Invest your time into DGI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DGI Supply full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule, DGI did work with me when I needed time off due to my children.

    Cons

    Nobody is safe with this company. They shut down too many locations to count when I was there, mine being one of them. They would not let me work remotely after the closure, yet they allowed my co-worker to do so. You can not trust who you work with or your boss at this company (which changed five times when I was there). I had enough time invested into this company to warn others not to waste yours.

    Advice to Management

    Try to hang onto your senior employees and salesman that (if any) you have left.

    DGI Supply2018-07-24
  5. "Weld Center Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DGI Supply full-time

    Pros

    New Facility with changing processes and evaluations. The people in the Weld-Center treated one another like family.

    Cons

    Slightly disorganized and going through many changes.

    Advice to Management

    Take the time to speak to and listen to employees. Would be beneficial to host monthly company-wide meetings to go over ups, downs, and recent changes that are occurring. Knowledge is power, and involving employees allows for an inclusive workplace.

    DGI Supply2018-05-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "General Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wheeling, IL

    I have been working at DGI Supply full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and friendly staff

    Cons

    Low staff count making long hours and minimal work life balance

    DGI Supply2018-04-16
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Don't Believe the Positive Reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DGI Supply full-time

    Pros

    Great coworkers and that's really it

    Cons

    Company treats you like an indentured servant, low pay, dishonest

    Advice to Management

    You all should be fired. There's not an ounce of integrity out of any of you. You will literally lie, cheat and steal from your employees at every chance and then continue the revolving door of employees.

    DGI Supply2018-03-01
  8. Helpful (5)

    "OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at DGI Supply full-time

    Pros

    Can be a good stepping stone for your future career, if you can stick for a while feeling underpaid and underappreciated. Good learning experience.

    Cons

    VERY noncompetitive compensation, way below market value.

    Advice to Management

    Start treating your employees like your most strategic asset and not "help to hire".

    DGI Supply2017-07-24
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Its a fine starter job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at DGI Supply

    Pros

    Lax work environment for the most part

    Cons

    Managers are either related to the family or under qualified

    DGI Supply2017-04-11
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Keep looking, but not here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at DGI Supply full-time

    Pros

    The location is easy to get to.

    Cons

    Low salaries. Company is doing very poorly financially, and have way too many upper level leaders. People are constantly being let go. Revolving door.

    Advice to Management

    Thin out upper level management to increase profit margins. The salaries at that level are high. Disperse some of that savings to other employees. Reduce the number of managers. Too many cooks. Increase Inside Sales Department, and pay them more. And take a look at how the Sales department is run. Needs fresh blood.

    DGI Supply2017-04-10
Found 30 reviews