DHG Reviews | Glassdoor

DHG Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 245 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
DHG CEO Matt Snow
Matt Snow
112 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Good Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DHG full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The recruiting process I had coming into the firm years ago was superb! It took 2 weeks from applying to receiving an offer. Introverted firm filled with (mostly) really nice people – who seem to genuinely care about helping their clients succeed. When you ask people how they’re doing, a typical reply is “Good. And I hope you are too.” The firm’s leadership comes across as forward thinking and pretty transparent....

    Show More

    Cons

    It’s a medium-sized firm (e.g. 2400). There’s not a lot of career mobility if you’re not a client-facing professional. The lack of diversity in the firm overall. There are pockets of diversity: e.g. the New York office – because..well, it’s new york. The Health Care practice. Many areas in HR. But in the Tax & Assurance areas, it’s still VERY vanilla. The technology situation is abysmal. Every day we receive...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I believe the only way to improve diversity is for Hiring Managers to demand that the Talent Acquisition team ensure that candidate slates are filled with at least 50% diverse candidates.

    DHG2018-11-05
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Innovative and very people-focused company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DHG full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    DHG does a great job of creatively rewarding employees. There are endless programs and new offerings for employees to further their careers, enjoy better benefits and stay connected, despite being a large company.

    Cons

    Being a larger company, it can sometimes be tough to feel plugged in to the happenings around the firm. Decisions are often laden with endless approvals, but this is improving.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to understand your employee base as it evolves and grows and work on trying to stay nimble as a mid to large size company.

    DHG2018-09-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Culture - High Performing Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DHG full-time

    Pros

    Strong coworkers, engaged executives, commitment to public service and work life balance.

    Cons

    Can sometimes be difficult to arrange meetings (everyone is busy!).

    DHG2018-09-28
  4. "Senior Audit Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at DHG full-time

    Pros

    Great team environment to work.

    Cons

    Not really a con with public accounting, but work life balance could have been better.

    DHG2018-09-19
  5. "Very reasonable - Changing Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DHG full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, great people, lots of runway ahead

    Cons

    Some teams are better than others. Some leaders can play the bully role too well and employee growth is driven by the employee, not by the leadership.

    Advice to Management

    Keep an eye on Advisory. Listen to the people at all levels.

    DHG2018-09-06
  6. "DHG Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at DHG full-time

    Pros

    The people at DHG are exceptional! Your team becomes your family, as you spend all of your time with them.

    Cons

    The work-life isn't always great. Public accounting firms expect a lot during the busy season, which most people knew going into the job. However, depending on the industry you work in, the rest of the year can be just as busy.

    DHG2018-08-31
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at DHG full-time

      Pros

      great benefits and great vacation time

      Cons

      need higher salary for starters

      DHG2018-08-27
    • Helpful (1)

      "Low pay good benefits, good experience, could be better. High turnover."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Valuation Associate in Winston-Salem, NC
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at DHG full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Work life balance, 4 weeks PTO, work directly with partners/managers, nice people, monthly massages.

      Cons

      Few resources and support, pay below market, less organized, high turnover that leads to reteaching over and over.

      Advice to Management

      Incentivize people to stay.

      DHG2018-08-03
    • Helpful (1)

      "Accountability Needed"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at DHG full-time

      Pros

      DHG does have great benefits!

      Cons

      The Recruiting Team needs lots of improvement - from process to leadership. Growing too fast! There is lots of favoritism and prejudice and upper management isn't listening. Hiring mangers do whatever they want - they doesn't show up to interviews or cancel at last minute.

      Advice to Management

      The HR and RAS Leadership Team needs to be more involved and hold managers accountable.

      DHG2018-08-24
    • "Tax Assosciate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Roanoke, VA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at DHG part-time

      Pros

      Very good group of employees to work with..Family like feeling

      Cons

      Wished it was a full time position at that time and I would have been able to stay and be better at what I was doing.

      Advice to Management

      Yvette was a great manager and would listen with open ears. Keep being great at your job.

      DHG2018-07-18
    Found 245 reviews