DHG "great place" Reviews | Glassdoor

DHG Employee Reviews about "great place"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 245 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
DHG CEO Matt Snow
Matt Snow
112 Ratings
Pros
  • "They provide excellent work/life balance and the management is always willing to help you on your career journey(in 44 reviews)

  • "Consulting at DHG has provided me several opportunities to grow my career in the financial industry(in 41 reviews)

Cons
  • "Busy season is more like from October - May rather than Jan - April(in 24 reviews)

  • "Becoming more Big 4-like and losing the small-office culture(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great place"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great career starter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Senior Associate in Norfolk, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DHG full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Great training and resources Great place to start your career and get experience

    Cons

    Poor employee management Work employees until burnout

    DHG2019-05-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company and Great Culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Risk Advisory Services - Consultant in Tysons Corner, VA

      I have been working at DHG full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      DHG is a great place to work! Overall, DHG provides a positive and innovative work environment with wonderful people. Everyone is always willing to help when needed and work together. DHG cares about their employees and providing great client service. While working at DHG, I have seen the firm continually grow. This is very important when it comes to new opportunities, especially for Risk Advisory. It is exciting to...

      Show More

      Cons

      Sometimes late communication to others about projects.

      Advice to Management

      Continue to grow communication efforts overall, including projects in the pipeline. Otherwise, keep up the great work! The new benefits are helpful.

      DHG2019-02-27
    • Helpful (1)

      "DHG RAS Charlotte is a fantastic place to work."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Risk Ad in Charlotte, NC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at DHG full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Consulting at DHG has provided me several opportunities to grow my career in the financial industry. I have exposure to different departments at large financial institutions, help grow the firm's relationship and stay on top of new and developing trends within the banking industry. At the same time, DHG is a certified great place to work, and senior management listens to the wants and needs of employees. Compensation...

      Show More

      Cons

      While these are not cons to me, they may be to others. Some travel is required in addition to being flexible to different engagement opportunities.

      DHG2019-02-15
    • "Great Plase to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at DHG full-time

        Pros

        Great place to work.

        Cons

        Didn't have the opportunity to share my skill set with the company

        Advice to Management

        Give good skill set a chance and think outside the box.

        DHG2017-08-03
      • "cpa"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at DHG full-time for more than 20 years

        Pros

        great place to work. cares about their people

        Cons

        dont really have any cons

        Advice to Management

        keep up the good work!

        DHG2017-04-18
      • "Great Company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at DHG

          Pros

          Great place and environment. The people that work there are friendly and helpful. Everything that the company believes was portrayed by leadership.

          Cons

          For and accounting intern I didn't get as many hours as I would have liked considering the high pay. However, even with the high pay it is good to know that full time employees don't have to slave away like at the big 4.

          DHG2016-06-20
        • Helpful (1)

          "Senior Consultant"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook

          I worked at DHG full-time

          Pros

          Great place to work with great people.

          Cons

          No work life balance. Worked half of the weekends last year.

          DHG2016-04-08
        • "Senior consultant"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I have been working at DHG

            Pros

            Dixon Hughes is a great place to work

            Cons

            Communication from management needs to improve

            DHG2015-06-30
          • Helpful (2)

            "Better than other accounting firms"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - Manager in Charlotte, NC
            Doesn't Recommend
            Neutral Outlook
            No opinion of CEO

            I have been working at DHG full-time for more than 2 years

            Pros

            Great place to start for a college graduate Networking opportunities Great work life balance compared to other Tax and Audit firms

            Cons

            The pay is low Even if you're a SME in your field, management still treats you like a junior resource Absolutely no effort put into employee retention Abysmal work life balance compared to any other industry No communication strategy No remote work or telecommunication policy Out of date social media policy Poor IT support Sometimes you get put on projects where you bill a whole lot of money, provide...

            Show More

            Advice to Management

            Right now, your go-to-market strategy is being a catch-all for folks who flee or wash-out of the Big 4. Nobody wants to be the "Great Value" brand of consultant. If you want to attract and retain top talent, you need to differentiate yourself in the industry, otherwise the only people who will stick around are the ones without the talent to succeed anywhere else.

            DHG2014-10-24
          • Helpful (8)

            "I quit!"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
            Doesn't Recommend
            Negative Outlook
            No opinion of CEO

            I worked at DHG full-time for more than 4 years

            Pros

            Benefits were really good better than state and local government benefits. Initially, when i was hired, i thought this was a great place to work until the company merger with DHG. " all hell broke loose" There are good people in this company and many that i will miss dearly but i couldn't continue to work in an unhealthy environment.

            Cons

            After the merger , things changed , over worked, under-paid, and stressed out beyond being healthy. My possibility to move up in the firm was slim to none. I was not in the clique sort of speak - being african american and female working amongst predominantly white males counterparts. There is no diversity what so ever in this company to a degree that doesn't even seem legal. High turn over rate!

            Advice to Management

            Listen to your employees as they have good ideas and opinions too. Value and retain talent. Break up the cliques. Hire a work force that looks like the country in which we live in . Partners are not the second coming messiah.

            DHG2014-07-28
          Found 245 reviews