DHG "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

DHG Reviews

Updated Jun 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 247 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
DHG CEO Matt Snow
Matt Snow
113 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "DHG Is A Great Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Consultant in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DHG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture, great people, commitment to development and education of resources, flexibility, work life balance.

    Cons

    Review process, the inability to select projects

    DHG2018-04-23
  2. "Culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DHG full-time

    Pros

    A company that truly believes in work life balance and hires even better people.

    Cons

    Not as well known in NYC.

    DHG2018-03-22
  3. "McLean VA location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Tyson's Corner, Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at DHG full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Paid fair salary vs market Flexible schedule to facilitate work life balance Amazing Staff Works well cohesively for most people Opportunities for growth and training

    Cons

    Metro issues make transit commute difficult to this location Multiple C level manager support and team support for one individual

    Advice to Management

    Company has a great outlook and supports its staff well. Opportunities to improve on what is workng but could be streamlined do exists. Additional feedback opportunities should take care of that

    DHG2018-02-22
  4. "Audit Senior"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DHG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good firm, management do car.

    Cons

    long busy season hour, makes it impossible for work life balance. Busy season is more like from October - May rather than Jan - April.

    DHG2018-02-19
  5. "Disappointment in Healthcare Service line"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DHG full-time

    Pros

    Nice people, interesting work when available, work life balance

    Cons

    In effective management, very biased, lack of culture/diversity, far behind many other forward thinking healthcare firms, lack of vision, HR does not listen to the other side(one sided view). Not a productive/effective environment in the DC/Gaithersburg office for those that work in the healthcare consulting roles as managers/directors.

    Advice to Management

    You need to build your team and know your faults! There's a reason why senior consultants or lack there of leave.

    DHG2018-01-17
  6. "Senior Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at DHG full-time

      Pros

      Supportive team, leadership, growing, work-life balance

      Cons

      Post merger issues, too many offices

      DHG2017-10-19
    • Helpful (1)

      "Consultant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Consultant in Winston-Salem, NC
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at DHG part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Easy-going environment, work-life balance; flexibility.

      Cons

      Not enough training; Not great place for technical type of person to grow.

      DHG2017-02-28
    • Helpful (2)

      "Times have Changed - Tax Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Tax Associate 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at DHG full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The people; my team members where great and I learned a lot from them

      Cons

      1. Charge hours/ metrics over emphasized really getting that big 4 feel. 2. No work life balance. If you take off a week for vacation, you have to make up that time to meet your charge hour goal so really it's not time off. 3. Let's talk about charge hours - besides chargeable Work we do there are also required CPEs, trainings and meetings we are all required to attend but those hours and time don't count to the goal...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your people. We aren't happy. And the mass amounts of people that are leaving right now should show you that. I've had a relationship with the firm for 4 years counting internships and full time staff. I've seen the changes happen and seen managers being pushed out. Along with all of the other cons listed that are also happening.

      DHG2017-03-14
    • Helpful (2)

      "Executive Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Charlotte, NC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at DHG full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Competitive salary, millennial culture, onboarding/coaching system that sets you up for success, open door policy, promotion of work life balance that is almost unreal, women forward initiatives, diversity and inclusion

      Cons

      Definitely an environment for those passionate about what they do. Not a place for anyone who is just looking for a job. Some roles and projects require long hours. Anyone restricted to only 40 may have an issue excelling past satisfactory performance.

      DHG2016-10-30
    • "Excellent Firm to be apart of"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at DHG full-time

      Pros

      The people are second to none. I have enjoyed getting to work along side some of the best people I've ever gotten to work with.

      Cons

      I think the nature of accounting for anyone in the field is long hours. But I believe DHG does a good job in keeping your work-life balance in check.

      Advice to Management

      I would say that DHG should not try and become a big 4 accounting firm, or anywhere close for that matter. DHG should focus on the core values and grow organically.

      DHG2016-11-02
    Found 247 reviews