DHL Express Field Service Supervisor Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Field Service Supervisor

DHL Express Field Service Supervisor Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
DHL Express CEO Ken Allen
Ken Allen
3 Ratings
  1. "Truly a Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Supervisor in Tulsa, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DHL Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    DHL Express is innovative in its approach to international shipping. Our welcome to new hires ensures that they understand our business and our goals from the moment they begin their new role with the company. There are numerous opportunities to advance within the company and employees have the ability to transition into roles with different facets of the business. DHL Express rewards their employees for outstanding work...

    Show More

    Cons

    In an industry as dynamic as international logistics, you must be willing to have flexibility in your schedule. We operate 24/7 all year long. Even with the hours required, DHL Express strongly encourages its employees to maintain a healthy work life balance and ensures employees have ample vacation and personal time at their disposal.

    Advice to Management

    The management team at DHL Express displays a genuine passion and energy for the work we are doing. You can always count on your senior leadership to be enthusiastic and approachable. We show equal appreciation for our employees and encourage them to take responsibility for their career and personal development. Providing regular feedback to our employees is such an integral part of the success of DHL Express.

    DHL Express2018-02-01
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Services Supervisor in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DHL Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities to advance locally and globally Good salary Big company Can transfer to anywhere in the world Most international company in the world

    Cons

    Union environment which causes grudges between management and employees. Constantly trying to break down the walls of distrust between management and employees only to have them build up again.

    Advice to Management

    Upper management needs to listen to middle management

    DHL Express2018-03-31
  3. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Field Service Supervisor in Philadelphia, PA

      I worked at DHL Express full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      good pay, nice manager and very helpful

      Cons

      long hours. customers are very demanding

      Advice to Management

      none

      DHL Express2017-11-13
    • "warehouse agent"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Field Service Supervisor in Atlanta, GA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at DHL Express full-time

      Pros

      room to grow your career

      Cons

      work life balance is lacking

      Advice to Management

      development of your employees

      DHL Express2016-05-13
    • "Supervisors being overworked with little guidance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Field Service Supervisor in Trenton, NJ

        I worked at DHL Express full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The starting salary is decent.

        Cons

        You get very little support from management. The union is very bitter due to a 2008 mass layoff.

        Advice to Management

        Stop expecting the impossible

        DHL Express2014-09-02
      • Helpful (1)

        "Get out now!!!!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Field Service Supervisor in Chicago, IL
        Doesn't Recommend

        I have been working at DHL Express

        Pros

        There are none! A highly dis-organized company. I should have known better from the beginning.

        Cons

        Everyone is allowed to do what ever they want to. Management very seldom uses corrective action. THe drivers are not payed based on performace, they get raises based on time in position. As a former employee of the competition, my raises were based on how well i did my job. If i wanted a nice raise, i had to work for it. The fleet of vehicles are poorly maintained. Every day we have breakdowns.

        Advice to Management

        It's to late, the company is sinking. If DHL international plans on surviving, they need to rid themselves of the highly compensated management team that made DHL Express sink in the first place. The express division should have kept the money makers. I.E., overnight by 10:30, and 3:00 pm delivery service. They could have made this work.

        DHL Express2008-12-05
      • Helpful (1)

        "company that doesn't care about employees"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Field Service Supervisor in Fullerton, CA
        Doesn't Recommend

        I have been working at DHL Express

        Pros

        none now, was much better when it was airborne, if they would have made moves thinking them thru without rushing this company would have made a name fore itself.

        Cons

        upper management is very disorganized, makes discissions without thinking out the ratifications.

        Advice to Management

        to care about the company to make it better and treat employees like people. the company should have used the airborne name instead of dhl in the u.s. since it was a much more known name in the u.s. then they should have gotten rid of i.c. and had more professional appearance drivers with accountability. hire sales people back and get new customers not get rid of customers

        DHL Express2008-10-30
      • Helpful (3)

        "Don't do it, worst career decision of my life."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Field Service Supervisor in Dallas, TX
        Doesn't Recommend

        I have been working at DHL Express

        Pros

        I really can't think of any! It was the complete wrong turn for my career. Long hours and low pay. I gues the most positive this i can say is that I finally got laid off.

        Cons

        Managing a union environment with management that was afraid to stand up to the union. Upper management is completely out of tough with the front line managers therefore consistantly make the wrong decsions. They treat front line managers like trash by constantly threatening their jobs. Many managers are working 16-17 hour days, six days a week. Not to mention stealing 4 week vaction from me and not compensating me or...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Sell off the Express side. you have the wrong management team in place. Get rid of the IC model, it's costing your customers.

        DHL Express2008-10-19
      • Helpful (2)

        "DHL needs to improve their financial picture."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Field Service Supervisor in Seattle, WA
        Doesn't Recommend

        I worked at DHL Express

        Pros

        DHL is the best at international Transportation of small parcels.

        Cons

        DHL has been losing money for about 8 years now. In the early 2000s the german post office bought DHL and then in 2003 the German post office bought Airborne. in 2004 they merged the two companies together and their losses have increased every year since then. There is still a great divide in the company between the former employees of each company. Senior management seems to be making mistake after mistake. DHL is now...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Do not do the UPS deal. Raise your prices so that they cover the true costs. Cut back on your out of station management.

        DHL Express2008-06-12
      • Helpful (1)

        "DHL is a Modern Sweatshop"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Field Services Supervisor in New York, NY
        Doesn't Recommend

        I have been working at DHL Express

        Pros

        They are often hiring because they can't retain people; its relatively easy to get a job here.

        Cons

        Bone crushing hours that just keep increasing the longer you work here. Salary gets worse with no raises. Mnagement hostile to time off, even when legitimately sick; long hours means you are likely to skip excercise and Dr. appointments and your health could suffer. Dirty dock environment. Long hours and no time off means when you get fed up with the place, you won't have the time or energy to find a good job and...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Treat people with more respect, don't be penny wise and pound foolish with short sighted cuts.

        DHL Express2008-06-12
      Found 10 reviews