DHL Express "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

DHL Express Reviews

Updated Jun 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1299 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
DHL Express CEO Ken Allen
Ken Allen
602 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Plantation, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DHL Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Global company- Learned where I didn't want to work. Not much to say. Sad when I sit down to think about it.

    Cons

    The politics in DHL Express are down right scary. No work life balance. No tools to do your work. HR is a gossip train. Everything is not confidential. The first ones to open their mouths. Upper management is clueless, always changing policies without communicating , knows nothing about keeping complaince. EEOC needs to look into this company especially when we have government contracts. Discriminating is BIG at DHL...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fire the non-performing people. Bring in some fresh set of eyes. Actually do what the company stands for and preaches.

    DHL Express2015-06-16
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Ok company to work for...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DHL Express full-time

    Pros

    Good company with a lot of options for moving around into different positions,and the company has jobs worldwide.

    Cons

    The work life balance at DHL is not optimal in my opinion. Mandatory overtime is implemented almost daily, and most of the people work on average between 10-13 hours a day at the gateway locations. Management works around the clock, which is not very healthy.

    DHL Express2015-03-15
  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Plantation, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DHL Express full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Most international company . Offer opportunities to people flexible to move. Good work-life balance. Clean, safe, modern facilities. Open door policy.

    Cons

    Flat Organization. No opportunity to grow in the existing role , must change roles / departments for increase. Poorly executed, perception based performance reviews. No company pension and inadequate 401k. Expensive health care. No stock options. Yearly merit increase does not even CPI.

    DHL Express2015-02-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "be prepared to work endless hours and not get ahead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DHL Express full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    competitive salary, some good senior managers, learned much

    Cons

    not much room for advancement, lip service to work life balance, lip service to training and employee development, certain "in crowd" managers survive and even get promoted despite very poor performance and high turnover on their watch, some people are held to exacting standards while others get by with mediocrity.

    Advice to Management

    hold everyone to the same standards

    DHL Express2014-12-30
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Interesting Corporate Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Formal Entry Writer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DHL Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    DHL provides a reasonable salary and good benefits. The Corporate strategy is strong and growth opportunities are very good.

    Cons

    The leadership culture is a top down approach. Communication from the Top level regarding general information is good, however, communication from a departmental perspective is poor. Due to the nature of the business, the work hours are demanding and do not support a realistic work/life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Ensuring employees have 2 consecutive days off would help to improve employee moral tremendously. The mandatory overtime combined with split days off do not allow an employee the time to regenerate and perform a their best.

    DHL Express2014-11-03
  6. "I love my DHL Express"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DHL Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -1st class global network. I email countries all over the world (i.e. South Africa, China, Brazil, etc.) -Great compensation. -Amazing culture. You get what you put in and some people dislike the work-life balance because they do not understand how to utilize our network to handle issues or get things done.

    Cons

    Selling is the easiest part of the job. There are so many factors that come into play with international shipping that can go wrong and give an easy out for customers. US based customers are so used to FedEx or UPS that if one thing goes wrong they will no longer want to do business with you. -Promotions should be given in reference to performance and not tenure within the company.

    Advice to Management

    Love the atmosphere and the goals of the company. There is never a time that I felt our management team on all levels does not care about the company, the customer, and the employee. -When implementing salaries for young professionals cost of living should factor in rent. The housing market in certain areas might be cheaper than others but rent is still high. Most young professionals are looking to rent and not buy...

    Show More
    DHL Express2014-09-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "By far, the WORST company to work for!! DO NOT WORK HERE!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Adviser in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DHL Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits, nice desk space, you can use your phone while on the floor and taking calls.

    Cons

    Where do I start.....the work life balance in this place is horrible. If you get in a car accident and are stuck in the hospital and even have a doctors note, they hold that against you, and the longer that your out, you are at risk of loosing your job. The management sucks big time, I had some performance issues, I CORRECTED those issues and was informed that I was doing great and was told by my boss that I had a career...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Grow some balls and take my advice and shove it.

    DHL Express2014-10-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "its okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DHL Express full-time

    Pros

    good pay, vacation, work-life balance, office culture

    Cons

    very difficult work, long hours, poor cafeteria food, poor parking

    DHL Express2014-09-03
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Great culture, but not efficient business practices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager, International Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DHL Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    fast paced, great compensation plan, interesting industry, they generally try to promote from within which is great. the culture is amazing too.

    Cons

    work-life balance, outdated internal systems, just not an efficient company. business model is flawed. they want you to have a minimum of 25 visits per week on top of prospecting/cold calling, all of the admin work like pricing, tracking shipments, onboarding new customers, maintenance of existing accounts, etc. You can't just focus on what is important, you have to do it all.

    Advice to Management

    Cut out some of the KPI's. They aren't helping, but inhibiting sales people. Raise the quota, and believe that your people will do what they need to do, how they want to do it.

    DHL Express2014-08-21
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Extreme Micromanagement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DHL Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong international brand. Great global logistics reach. Largely hard-working employee group. They invest a lot in training and support. Often promote from within and good advancement opportunities for strong performers (but you often must be willing to relocate to another part of the country, or even outside the U.S.)

    Cons

    Even coming in as an experienced professional you'll be treated like a recent college grad that must be completely molded into the person they want you to be. Extremely long work hours, stress, and lesser product offering than competitors (no domestic, no international economy, etc.). Very short-term commission structure so your salary is often only as good as the work you've done in the past 1-2 months and often the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue funneling employees from Enterprise Rent-A-Car into sales roles because they seem to have been even more micromanaged there and also worked long hours for only so-so compensation that they think DHL Express sales is a great place to work. Beyond that, allow employees to be individuals that can leverage their strengths to help the business grow. Not everyone fits into a single corporate mold. Finally, find ways...

    Show More
    DHL Express2014-06-28
Found 1299 reviews