DICK'S Sporting Goods Reviews

Updated May 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
DICK'S Sporting Goods President and CEO Lauren Hobart
Lauren Hobart
105 Ratings
Pros
  • "nice work environment and a good staff(in 297 reviews)

  • "Friendly staff fun work environment flexible hours(in 231 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "long hours and a lot of hard work(in 154 reviews)

  • "Very competitive to get a job part time(in 151 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of DICK'S Sporting Goods and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      The giant of sports retail

      Nov 16, 2020 - Assistant Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good management staff, good work life balance, friendly associates, good benefits

      Cons

      If you do not manage your time you will work quite a bit

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Excellent work environment

      May 8, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      clear direction team efforts flexible hours good salary quality products

      Cons

      early shifts late shifts quiet at times self-direction low stocks

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Fun place to work, but temper your expectations

      May 5, 2021 - Department Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work around your schedule mostly Areas to grow if you stay long enough

      Cons

      Low pay for the work you are expected to do when you start to rise in rank Promotions are often time based and not experience based A lot of people that don't care about their job, you get to pick up the slack Hard push to sell credit cards to the store Only 2 days they are closed are Christmas and Easter. Expect to work at ~5pm on Thanksgiving until about 2am

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fun place to work

      Apr 24, 2021 - OMNI Lead in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      25% is pretty good. Schedule is flexible.

      Cons

      The dress code changes are awful! It's fine that we all wear matching shirts (we used to be able to wear any plain tech tee), I get that change. But Now we have to wear pants where we used to be able to wear shorts. This is a problem because 1.) We are expected to be hustling and it's hot! 2.) Pants are more expensive and we have to wear brands we sell. 3.) A lot of people are wearing sweatpants so it's far less professional than the shorts. I know many people have complained about this change and we haven't hear anything from corporate. Even if they just allowed shorts during the summer months that would be a great improvement!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Summer Job in College

      Apr 20, 2021 - Retail Associate in Grandville, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fast paced environment especially on weekends. Time flew while working because I was usually pretty busy helping customers and keeping the sales floor clean and organized.

      Cons

      Cons were that I had to work long hours on holidays (4th of July I had to work from open to close). We were short staffed all summer but I handled it pretty well so they weren't quick to hire any more help. I was drowning in work and felt like I was extremely underpaid for all the responsibilities I had. The managers were always quick to remind me what work I needed to do yet but they never lifted a finger to help me out - this is why I ended up leaving. They did offer me a raise before I left which was nice.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Okay

      May 6, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      hours team Being able to pick your days as a part timer

      Cons

      They want you to make sure people are not stealing but once you report it , they do not do anything besides ask you to follow and when that customer makes a complaint, they end up telling that next time dont follow them even though the manager told you to do it. Also pay is okay but as a graduate from university, you would think it would be more

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Management

      May 5, 2021 - Footwear Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      the lead manager at my store is great he truly cares about us and loves to see us succeed

      Cons

      just like every job there is good leaders and bad over all its a great place to work and a friendly environment

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Wonderful Job

      May 7, 2021 - Associate in Las Cruces, NM
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team to work with

      Cons

      Didn’t really have any cons.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Depends on Store Management

      Feb 24, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in North Haven, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I loved my store managers during my tenure at DSG. They made working in retail a relatively painless experience and really recognized when you did great work. In store rewards and discounts are incredible for a retail role and you genuinely feel like the company cares about the little guy which is incredibly foreign in corporate retail. Most customers aren't really bad and will let you know if they need help.

      Cons

      Working on the register is horrible. This is the corporate part that drives most associates insane. You have to ask every customer to enroll in a rewards program and if you're not above 70% you're written up. On top of that you have to ask every customer if they want to sign up for a credit card that has 36% APR. If you don't you'll be penalized for that as well.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great and fun environment

      May 3, 2021 - Anything Available in Olathe, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Your coworkers and customers at DSG are fantastic! It's a fun and chill environment.

      Cons

      The managers make it their mission to make DSG your life, and if you can't cooperate they schedule you once every 3 weeks.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 5,906 Reviews

    Popular Careers with DICK'S Sporting Goods Job Seekers

    Store Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Holiday Retail Sales Associate
    Learn About the Job
    Merchandising Training Program
    Learn About the Job

    Work at DICK'S Sporting Goods? Share Your Experiences

    or