DIGIMIND Reviews | Glassdoor

DIGIMIND Reviews

Updated Oct 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 84 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
DIGIMIND CEO Paul Vivant
Paul Vivant
42 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "(in 3 reviews)

  • "low salaries compared to other companies, very high turnover(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "A truly global company, with great products and great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DIGIMIND full-time

    Pros

    1) One of the things I like the most at Digimind is how truly global the company is. You will find motivated and dedicated people on every continent, from Europe to North and Latin America, North Africa, and South-East Asia :) 2) The company has a 20-year experience and strong products, acclaimed by customers and independent analysts alike. 3) Unlike other players in the market, Digimind has always been... self-financed and is not relying on any external funding. This means financial stability in the long run, and a clear focus on customers, not investors.

    Show More

    Cons

    1) The market is very competitive, but that's part of the game 2) I wish we had more women in top management, unfortunately that's quite usual in the software industry :( 3) Communication could still be improved, pretty much as it can be in every company

    Advice to Management

    Top management wants to continue the global expansion of the company, so I love it even more :) Global expansion is definitely a path to accelerate growth. Continue trusting people as you already do, but show more signs of that trust.

    DIGIMIND2019-05-07
  2. Helpful (3)

    "You will have lots of independence, but no team culture, training or clarity."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DIGIMIND full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In the US, this is a remote company so you will have a LOT of independence. Honestly, I wish that I were in a company that gave me independence because they trust their team, but really we have so much independence because of mismanagement. Similarly, they hire a remote team to cut costs, so the salaries are definitely below market value since they are hiring people outside of NYC normally. The work culture itself... is quite toxic, which makes it good that the NYC office only goes into the physical wework a few days a week and the rest of the team is remote. I feel that if the team were together every work day, the turnover would be very high. The Digimind product itself is stellar, definitely one of the best on the market so it is very easy to sell comparatively. There are a lot of unique differentiators that the software has. I think that this is the strongest point of the company. The manager that has the most contact with the Account Management and Sales team is a really great guy - I think that he really does want to best for the US office. In summary, the two best parts of the company - it is REMOTE (which is great for some people, not so much for others), and the product is truly excellent. Hiring has also gotten better and the company is trying to be budgetarily intelligent by not doing what they did last year and hire a bunch of people they were never able to pay.

    Show More

    Cons

    PLEASE NOTE: Many of the reviews posted here are FAKE, posted by management. Literally 0 employees would give 5 stars to the US office. Everyone is aware that it is wildly disorganized and that employees are the lowest priority. I do not doubt that the Europe and Asia offices would get five stars, but if you are reading any 5 star reviews for the US, you can disqualify them immediately. They are not sincere.... Within the past year, there has been 100% turnover in sales, however from what I have heard, the plan is now to keep the team small and grow slowly. This came after a MASSIVE hiring and then firing of almost every salesperson. Very, very strange activity that I have never seen in a company. Management can be very manipulative when it comes to salary and commission, proving that they do not have the best interest of their employees at heart. This breeds lack of confidence and management. Salaries and commissions should be transparent and not sneaky. Zero women in management throughout the entire company, and this is also not something that the company is making a priority to change. VERY low budget for anything that involves investing in teams. No team kickoffs. No incentives outside of commission (which is lower than industry average). I know many people who work for remote teams and for them it is a priority to get the team together once a year or once a quarter. It is not a priority here at all, and I'm not sure why. I think that this would really make the team feel more united and less like independent contractors that are working for a number and not anything else. During the interview process, they show a compilation video from a team trip to Morocco that happened a few years ago. DO NOT fall into this manipulative trip - no trip like this has happened since and will likely ever happen again. My understanding is that the European and Asia Pacific offices are run quite well. Those best practices need to be sent to the US. No transparency about promotions. No company culture.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This is a remote company that became remote too quickly and without any structures put in place to manage it. You need to catch up. Organize the teams. ASK your team members what their thoughts and ideas are. It is essential to invest $$ in your team - this is a social media company and whether you like it or not, the majority of your employees will be millennials. We are seeing our peers at remote companies have... retreats, training sessions and advancement opportunities, none of which are clear at Digimind. You will continue to have major staff turnover if you are incapable of making your employees feel valued and invested in. You cannot give your employees 10000% independence with close to no sales training and then get mad at them for not hitting their numbers.

    Show More
    DIGIMIND2019-07-25
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Most the positive reviews are fake"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DIGIMIND full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Promises of global company and great technology

    Cons

    Every day is a grind. managers don’t care about people they just pretend to care and don’t back it up with anything material. We lose clients to bigger companies because the clients realize we’re small and can’t properly support them. There are some happy people but most are unhappy and leaving soon

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to run a company

    DIGIMIND2019-07-10
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Fast-paced, fun, and friendly work place with an amazing product to sell!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Demand Generation in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DIGIMIND full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is one such place an platform that you would totally love working for. It has an amazing product, an amazing team of people, and a great work culture. It is very KPI based and folks that are entrepreneurial would love the set-up just because it demands the best out of you. If you are more laid-back and not really into fast-paced set-ups, maybe this place is not for you. It has every major tool in your... business function to work with. It is a great learning opportunity as well as a great growth opportunity. You perform and grow, that is how it works. Folks here are polite, friendly, and smart. They are hard-working and very career focused. That inspires everyone around. If you are an achiever and have high aspirations, this is the right place for you!

    Show More

    Cons

    The fast-paced set-up might scare some people. It would be great to see a little more transparency especially that coming from top leadership.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing the great job you are doing. The product and the way the business is run is highly commendable. You have been around for more than 20 years for a reason. But I would also ask to be more interactive with the employees and spend a little more time with them so we can fill that leadership gap that might have chances to occur sometimes. Otherwise, be the best people you are always!

    DIGIMIND2019-03-11
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Love this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DIGIMIND full-time

    Pros

    - Product that I'm proud selling because it actually works. Constantly improving and on the cutting edge. - The people of Digimind are everything: people help each other, very collaborative across teams - Constantly trying to improve work processes and workflows. - Great Work / Life balance

    Cons

    - Communication could be improved - Not enough women in leadership

    Advice to Management

    Celebrate successes and promote from within.

    DIGIMIND2019-02-15
  6. Helpful (8)

    "A refreshing work/life balance...and some very positive changes."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Success Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DIGIMIND full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been at Digimind for almost a year and came to the company during a time of some major cultural and employee transitions (much of which you may read in other reviews). My first few months took some getting used to but I am pleased that I stuck with it here and have seen some amazing. positive changes take place. First off - management has been working to improve the cultural morale, which is very welcome and... appreciated. It's nice to be heard, and feel like you're part of a team that cares about you. A addition of work from home flexibility a few days a week has been a real game changer, as have the fun team events that take place monthly. 401K also kicked in a few months back, which has been great. Other "pros" about working here are: the collaborative team approach, being able to feel like you can positively impact things like process change (at a global level!), product enhancements, and cultural "tweaks." I also look at Digimind's "start-up" vibe as a plus. I am someone who thrives on staying challenged and have no problem rolling up my sleeves diving in to other work areas that might need my attention .

    Show More

    Cons

    That "start up vibe" may also be a con for some. You'll be in an environment where there is no where to hide. Expectations are high for employees to step up as needed, so it may not be the right fit for a lot of people. There has been a few hiring missteps with key roles in the company. Luckily, those toxic people have left the company, but the work environment suffered during those specific employee tenures.... Some redundancies when it comes to meetings, documents/presentations, processes that could be streamlined for efficiency.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work of listening to your employees and making them feel valued and part of a family. Also, take your time when it comes to filling important roles in the company: make sure they are a cultural fit and allow all employees to be involved in the hiring process, Be more clear and proactive about career paths and promotions if you're expecting to keep good talent around for more than a few... months/yearish. Finally, be more transparent and forthcoming with important company information and continue the positive work-culture trajectory.

    Show More
    DIGIMIND2019-01-28
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Like others have said "RUN AWAY!""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DIGIMIND full-time

    Pros

    The best part of Digimind are the friends that you will make as you bond over the disappointment and unhappiness that becomes a part of your everyday life. Everyone not in management is awesome. These people are genuinely nice and helpful and want to do their best. It’s sad that they will never succeed since the management team honestly has no idea what they’re doing and will just continue to operate based on their... intuition and what they “think” will work.

    Show More

    Cons

    Where do I begin? From the outside, Digimind has a lot of potential. In the social space, the company has one of the better products with constant updates and innovations to the platform while competitors in the space have stopped. However, the tweaks and upgrades come from ideas the Digimind “board” (which consists of the four decision makers of the company) thinks of or believes will help them win a big deal, it... is not based on client/employee feedback. Often times, upgrades are pushed out and the features bring zero benefits because no one asked for these updates. On top of that, the company make updates and then all the key product/engineering people will leave for vacation for the whole month so the rest of the company/clients will just have to deal with a malfunctioning platform for weeks on end with no fixes. I wish i can say that the only issue with the company are the haphazard product updates, but it’s just the beginning. The worst part about being at Digimind is the board. This company has a history of siding with and standing by abusers. In the past 6 months, the company has lost 3/4 of its talent, mainly due to the fact that the NYC office is run by people who are incapable of taking constructive feedback on company issues. When you join the company, false promises are given (work from home, 401k, commuter benefits, etc.). Everyone is told that these things are coming because they are basics a company should provide, however, as the year went on, we were then told that we weren’t getting these benefits because sales didn’t hit their quota for the year. The toxic environment that’s created by an authoritative management team (it’s their way or the highway) is then paired with the strange attitude that management has zero desire to talk to its employees. We hear through the grapevine on what leadership don’t want us to do (“don’t leave the office ever!”) but are never given this order directly by them, in fact, team meetings are nonexistent. This creates a culture of fear and uncertainty. Things you’ll hear on a weekly basis include: “so and so is going to get fired this week!” , “they want to close ANOTHER pod in the wework to save money” etc. Take note that “saving money” is a huge theme if you decide to join this company. There’s also a lot of hypocrisy that occurs on a day to day: ie. sales must work from home and can’t go into the office because their department leaders say so, but everyone else must come in the office despite asking for the chance to WFH for months. I was kidding when I said management is the worst part. The absolutely most horrendous thing that has happened in the last six months is the fact that “the board” hired awful, incompetent, manipulative bullies in the history of companies to be in charge of sales. “The board’s” idea of good sales leadership is whoever will cost them the least amount of money. Hence, they knowingly hire people that have cheap salaries, believes in only working remotely (which is strange for a sales team because it is hard to build morale when everyone is virtual), and have references that warned “the board” about the harm their potential hires can do to their people/culture. Since these sales leaders have joined, there’s been multiple complaints to HR regarding the NYC office. Sales leadership will outwardly lie to you to get you to do whatever they want and look to isolate you so that you will feel like no one is there to help you as they manipulate/bully/intimidate you. Sales leadership will tell you that they're the only ones in charge of Digimind, even if you know they are only in charge of sales. Even if you aren’t in sales, leadership will find a way to gossip about you and say you are useless to other people. Sales leadership will yell and curse at you if you don’t do what they want and will absolutely threaten to fire you for no reason. To be honest, no one actually knows what sales leadership does on a day to day other than demand you be on hours long calls , which will definitely waste all of your time. The leaders of the sales team have refused to learn how the systems work so definitely are not a resource you can turn to for advice. All you need is two weeks with this the sales leadership before you realize how awful and useless it is. Complaints fall on deaf ears at Digimind. Despite the fact that everyone has complained about the sales leaders, nothing has changed. Everyone is told to just mind our own business and keep doing our work. Even the people who runs the NYC operations is defeated and knows that nothing will change. The “board” loves the abusers and hence complaints don’t matter - you can either find a way to work with people you know are lying/emotionally abusing you constantly or you can leave.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Digimind, it’s time to break up the “board” and hire some people who can effectively lead the company. Stop being so cheap and invest in talent that will take the company to new heights. Otherwise, the company will either fold and leave the US space all together, or just chug along as is and keep losing talent every few months. Also, please stop posting fake positive reviews.

    DIGIMIND2018-11-27
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DIGIMIND full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Work from Home - A real, attainable bonus package - Probably the best health package out there - 401k - Serious growth opportunities - Great sales support

    Cons

    Typical growing pains when one is building and expanding fast.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the Work for Home option available for all. Room to grow on team building activities and incentives

    DIGIMIND2018-09-19
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Entire Sales, CS, and Marketing team left this summer. It'll derail your career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales/CS in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DIGIMIND full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They may potentially change the technology and work with some decent clients. WeWork office has perks such as free coffee to stay caffeinated. Met some great friends there that also shared the same experience.

    Cons

    I'm going to be really honest with you here and please mark my words: avoid this company at all costs because it will derail your career trajectory. The executives rule with an iron fist, and will work you to the core (w/ unmeetable quotas and goals), and with unrealistic expectations. Red flags galore. CTO is the most unqualified leader and working professional I've worked alongside in all my years in the... space. CEO is a shy introvert who is afraid to lead, instead staying quiet during tough company times. "Legal counsel" is non-existent and instead (and dangerously) impersonated during sales cycles. This type of ethical dilemma is a slippery slope you do not want to be a part of. You are not allowed to WFH (must be in the office from 9-7 weekly). No 401k or typical startup perks. Commission is promised but never paid out.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do a better job of treating your employees right, and creating a company that values culture and people first. Turnover will continue to be high, and an approach to "burn out and churn out" your employees is absolutely wrong.

    DIGIMIND2018-07-31
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Run for the hills, this company will destroy your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DIGIMIND

    Pros

    Product has potential, especially in the US market where it is not as well known right now.

    Cons

    The management in the New York City office is the sole reason why this company is failing in the US. The leadership team for the New York office has 0 management or interpersonal skills. People who speak up get fired. When employees provide suggestions to improve working conditions, they are either shot down or ignored. Recently, the "culture committee" conducted an anonymous survey that revealed that pretty much... everyone was miserable and/or looking for new opportunities. In the last quarter alone, the company has reduced by 50% (20 or so employees down to 11) because of the leadership team's erratic behavior and uncalled for bullying. To give you an example, the person who is responsible for the NYC office held 1 on 1 meetings with a small group of employees to inform them about who he was going to fire, before actually telling the employees who were going to be let go first. Every room he walks into goes silent because his presence just creates stress and anxiety. The CEO of the entire global company sits in this office as well and shows little to no interest in the state of the US office. He comes in and sits at his desk quietly, despite the fact that he sees the whole US office falling apart in front of him. There are pretty much 0 perks for working at this company. Employees have been promised the ability to work from home or bring in dogs into the office, but are told on day 1 that thats not the case. The WeWork space is filthy. The entire office sits in a fishbowl type of room with no access to windows. Very depressing in the winter. There is no HR present, so unless you've got a decent boss (none left tbh), you wont have a proper onboarding or training. We used to get free pizza once a month, but that got too expensive. People feel forced to stay at their desks till 6pm on the dot, and eat lunch at their desk and pretend to work, when all they really need is a break. Forget about running out for a doctor's appointment or running an errand, that's a risk that may get you fired. Coming to work is painful, zero fun zone. people are afraid to laugh out loud or have side conversations for too long, for fear that leadership is going to catch them enjoying themselves.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop blaming others, and take ownership for your own mistakes. Hiring top talent is not enough, you need to trust them if you want to see them succeed. If the entire company think the problem is with executive leadership, perhaps take a long hard look at the mirror instead of continuing to place blame on other teams and individuals. Stop being so stingy, if you don't invest in programs, technology, people,... you'll never grow. Its not good that your company is down to 10 people and all of a sudden you're "cash flow positive". Also, please take basic accounting classes, because office space cost should not be included in ROI calculations. Those are overhead costs you must assume when want to run a business. If you're finding that these costs are too high, perhaps consider not conducting business at all in the US market.

    Show More
    DIGIMIND2018-07-09
Found 84 reviews