DISYS Reviews in Washington, DC | Glassdoor

DISYS Washington DC Reviews

Updated December 27, 2017
49 reviews

Filter

Filter

Washington, DC Area

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
DISYS CEO Mahfuz Ahmed
Mahfuz Ahmed
27 Ratings

49 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • The back office here is a mess, too many emails coming out to too many people and the on boarding process is often cumbersome (in 18 reviews)

  • Work-life balance depends on the client (in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "DISYS employee for almost 2 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DISYS full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Executive Management is accessible and cares about the Company. Comfortable working environment with nice coworkers. Major improvements in shared services support the last two years

    Cons

    Sales growth has been struggling. Many changes in direction

    Advice to Management

    Keep reaching out and communicating how we are doing. Set high standards but don't change the bar as often

    DISYS Response

    Sep 13, 2017 – Vice President, Global Human Resources

    Thanks for the feedback! There is a lot of focus on sales growth and we're confident that we are heading in the right direction. As you have likely noticed, we are building a culture of radical... More


  2. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Senior Project Manager in Herndon, VA
    Current Contractor - Senior Project Manager in Herndon, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at DISYS as a contractor (More than a year)

    Pros

    I have nothing positive to say about this company.

    Cons

    1. They did not find me. My hiring manager sent me to them. So they did absolutely no work to on-board me.
    2. The hiring manager wanted me to start quickly and they did a bait and switch on me at the last minute on my rate. $15 less an hour! I went ahead and took the rate, because it was supposed to be a 90 day to hire position. It turned into remaining a contracting position due to an acquisition and hiring was frozen. They also lead me to believe I had PTO by sending me the information on it and when I submitted the hours for vacation pay, they told me that wasn't part of my package! Make sure you read your contract carefully and make any changes prior to signing.
    3. They never contacted me for over a year, other than to ask that I submit my time sheet.
    4. When they contacted me over a year later, they wanted to know how I was doing. (probably because they wanted to find out about the acquisition and see how it was moving along) I had nothing to discuss and was pretty confused what they thought I would have to discuss. By the way - I had switched groups and I'm pretty sure they had no idea.
    5. Over 2 years later, they never made an effort to have my performance evaluated or tried to raise my rate. (and trust me, they knew I wasn't happy when the contract started and the client was very happy with my performance)
    6. They never contacted me to let me know my contract was ending. My hiring manager at the company I was working for let me know.
    7. During the last two weeks I asked for a release letter so another vendor could submit me for another position in the same company, because I had the opportunity to stay for 7 more months, with only two weeks remaining in my current position, because the PMs were being centralized in Plano in the group I was working in and I was located in VA. No letter was provided and they acted like they didn't know what I was asking for. That's after they had made $ off of me for over two years and had made no effort to reassign me.
    8. The group I was contracting with will not use them again.
    9. I would not recommend this company under any circumstances.

    Advice to Management

    I have no words. Read above. Your processes for caring for employees and being a professional company are seriously broken and in need of a complete re-haul.

  3. "Lead Software Test Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Test Engineer in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Lead Software Test Engineer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DISYS full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    From the recruiting process, through onboarding, to the first day on the job and now nearly 4 years later, my DISYS managers Kristen and Kimia both have been with me along the way! They have always been there for me, lending an ear and a helping hand. They listen to my needs and have always acted quickly when needed. DISYS is great in offering e-Learning aids, great tools to help us advance our skills

    Cons

    Nothing to share at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Thanks for always keeping an open mind and open ears!

    DISYS Response

    Sep 13, 2017 – Vice President, Global Human Resources

    Our leadership team does strive to keep open minds and ears for all our colleagues. Thank you for this wonderful review and I'm quite certain that Kristen and Kimia will enjoy seeing it! Thanks... More


  4. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Ashburn, VA
    Current Employee - Sales in Ashburn, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DISYS full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great corporate culture and technical support

    Cons

    Could use more technical resources

    DISYS Response

    Oct 31, 2017 – Vice President, Global Human Resources

    I hope your experience remains positive! Best wishes to you and THANKS for posting your feedback.
    Best wishes, Laura Smith, VP of Global Human Resources


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Corporate HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in McLean, VA
    Current Employee - Manager in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DISYS full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I have had a great experience thus far during my time at DISYS. The leadership truly cares about their employees and are constantly making efforts to improve the employee experience here at DISYS. The company is always taking the pulse of the employee population and very quick to react when a change or improvement can be made.

    Cons

    No cons for me so far...

    Advice to Management

    Just keep up what you're doing to focus on employees and culture to continue the improvement of the employee experience and decrease turnover.

    DISYS Response

    Aug 12, 2017 – Vice President, Global Human Resources

    Thank you! We will definitely continue our focus on building a winning and thriving culture! Thank YOU for being part of it! Best regards -- Laura Smith, VP of Global Human Resources


  6. "Corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA

    I have been working at DISYS full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I have been here for less than 6 months, but have had great experiences so far. Dayna Corona brought me on board and her genuine personality and love for this company drew me to DISYS. I have worked with a lot of recruiters and she is by far the best. I have had extensive one on one training with my manager and I feel as though I can confidently succeed in my role. Since I have been here I have found that upper-level management truly cares about their employees, and the CEO & President are very involved. Everyone so far has been very friendly and happy to help others. I am really glad to be part of the DISYS family.

    Cons

    I have not found any so far.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing to improve DISYS as a whole.

    DISYS Response

    Aug 12, 2017 – Vice President, Global Human Resources

    Thanks for the wonderful feedback! I hope your DISYS experience remains positive. Feedback is always welcomed. Best regards -- Laura Smith, VP of Global Human Resources


  7. "Working at Disys into my third year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Manager in McLean, VA
    Current Employee - Tax Manager in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DISYS part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Comfortable work environment
    Open access to management team
    Not micro managed
    Freedom to do your best
    Friendly atmosphere
    Great fellow employees

    Cons

    I wish I had come here earlier in my career

    Advice to Management

    Keep up your present practices of encouragement, challenges, and rewarding excellent performance.. I have noticed a marked improvement in morale since I came on board

    DISYS Response

    Aug 4, 2017 – Vice President, Global Human Resources

    Thanks for posting this review! I'm thrilled to read the positives and we wish you had joined us sooner as well! You and every DISYS employee contribute to our great culture and that includes... More

  8. "It is a great place to kick start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DISYS full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Good work life balance. Managers are flexible
    - Good compensation
    - Opportunity to work with senior management and even executives at times. Which is great for gaining experience

    Cons

    - Very limited management feedback (one needs to know what they should improve upon)
    - No designed career path. People get promoted but there is no clear path

    DISYS Response

    Aug 3, 2017 – Vice President, Global Human Resources

    I appreciate your feedback! Receiving feedback is very important and we are committed to working with managers to help ensure they are providing feedback as well as discussing career path options... More


  9. "Micromanaged!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Contracts Specialist in McLean, VA
    Former Employee - Junior Contracts Specialist in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DISYS full-time

    Pros

    Bagel Fridays was the only thing I looked forward to.

    Cons

    I was referred by an employee for a position at the McLean office. I knew from the first day that I wasn’t going to like working here. I was hired to support a higher level employee, however, I reported to someone else. I was giving grunt work (mail merges, simple updates, etc.). I knew that I would have to do some but I didn’t think it be my entire day. Also, it’s hard to learn if you’re not able to do tasks on your own. The person I supported hovered over me and took over—this made it extremely difficult to learn. When that person wasn’t there, people would come to me and I wouldn’t know how to answer. This made me feel incompetent. This person also didn’t take criticism well, for example-- sending emails with exclamation points and letter with all caps (there is something called Netiquette). I told the person that it’s best to not write emails like that because the reader might interpret it as yelling—the employee didn’t like that. I did talk to my manager but plainly said that she didn’t want to hear it and the employee that I was helping was not going anywhere (I never asked for anyone to get terminated). Also, she said that she just needed me to get the job done. I saw the writing on the wall and was in the process of looking for something else when they let me go. They made sure to let me go on my 89 day—very telling. Also, the person that referred me got let go (this happened a few weeks before me) In addition, in my opinion, I don’t think they like certain American-born minorities (if you catch my drift) from what I observed.

    Advice to Management

    Micromanaging is not effective—you can’t learn that way.

    DISYS Response

    Aug 15, 2017 – Vice President, Global Human Resources

    I'm sorry that your time with DISYS was a disappointment and I hope that you are now in a job that makes you happy. We do appreciate your feedback and wish you the best. Laura Smith, VP of Global... More


  10. Helpful (2)

    "The Worst Company on Earth!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Coordinator in McLean, VA
    Former Employee - Marketing Coordinator in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DISYS full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The only pro I can think of is that I learned to appreciate any job after I left here.

    Cons

    Where do I begin...Everything you could possibly hate about a job you will experience here. This company makes you appreciate the one you left and motivates you to look for a new place to work right away. The day I started working here I knew I could not stay for more than a week or two, and that is how everyone else at the company felt. No one wanted to work for this company so those who joined would quit after two weeks and if you did not quit you were fired after two-three weeks of employment. The VP's are so hungry to stay on top they suffocate those who wish to do well and those that are terrible at their jobs are praised and comforted to stay longer. The only way to get promoted at this company is to wait for the person in front of you to leave, they will give anyone any job as long as they wait for it. Turnover at this organization is through the roof and HR accepts it and says "it is what it is, it's the nature of the business". Even if you are desperate for a job don't work here, take your time and find a place that makes you feel like you want to be at work.

    Advice to Management

    Hire qualified employees for management roles. You are losing top candidates because your management team doesn't know how to lead.

    DISYS Response

    Aug 2, 2017 – Vice President, Global Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your feedback is taken very seriously. Turnover of leading talent at DISYS is always a concern. We are making strides to make DISYS a place people... More


Showing 49 of 446 reviews
Reset Filters