Cover image for DIY Media Group
Logo

DIY Media Group

Engaged Employer

DIY Media Group

Add a Review

DIY Media Group Reviews

Updated Aug 12, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 11 of over 11 reviews
2.3
46% Recommend to a Friend
DIY Media Group CEO Tony van Veen
38% Approve of CEO

Found 11 of over 11 reviews

2.3
46%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
DIY Media Group CEO Tony van Veen
Tony van Veen
8 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Dream jobs do come true!

    Aug 19, 2021 - Prepress Operator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    PTO, pay, insurance, profit gain bonuses, diversity. The CEO is a great leader by example and isn't intimidating. My team leader and manager are both awesome at communicating and not micromanaging. It feels good to be treated like I matter. The company is growing greatly and the opportunities are endless. Supporting the art world is what we do. It's an amazing feeling!

    Cons

    I honestly can not think of one thing that I do not like about DIY Media Group.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Wonderful but Changing

    Jul 19, 2022 - Press Operator in Pennsauken, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great coworkers with great teamwork

    Cons

    Changing management affecting work culture

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    DIY Media Group Response

    Thanks for your feedback. As you know, we pride ourselves on being a transparent company, and creating a great work environment for every team member is very important. If you have concerns about changes you're seeing, please bring them up with your manager or the department director... or if you prefer, discuss with HR or myself. We want to hear how we can do better.

  3. Join the DIY Media Group team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Soul-crushing

    Aug 12, 2022 - Machine Operator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Co-workers (fellow factory workers), vending machines and cafeteria

    Cons

    Hard work will go unrecognized, ESPECIALLY for BIPOC employees. Over-time is expected; management will not be there! Management is lazy and the entire company is ran by those who are paid the least (but work the most). Expect to spend every waking moment dedicated to a factory that produces mass amounts of waste and at it's core thrives off exploitation.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    DIY Media Group Response

    Well this is awful to read... At DIY we take tremendous pride in the culture we have created - one where hard (and smart) work and initiative are recognized regardless of who you are or where you're from. We have an engaged team of 300+ who do great things for our author and musician clients, and I think the proof is in the fact that we've been voted by our team members as a top Philly workplace for three years in a row. Is there room for improvement? Always. As a company we believe in Continuous Improvement, and we make steady strides to be a better workplace each day. But to accuse us of massive waste and exploitation is just plain fiction. Our waste is low, and we work on reducing it every day. And we're very proud of our total compensation package offered to team members - including some of the best medical benefits in the area. I wish that before you had left we would have had an opportunity to hear your feedback. Our average employee tenure at DIY is 11 years. If the things you mention are actually true I certainly do not believe people would stick around this long. Tony van Veen

  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    It’s calm

    Jun 7, 2022 - Digital Marketing Specialist in Pennsauken, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fully remote work is convenient.

    Cons

    Too much micro managing for me.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    DIY Media Group Response

    Thanks for the feedback. Have you brought up your concern with your manager? Listening to team member feedback is important to us, and we are always open to making changes.

  6. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Used to be a great place to work

    Mar 12, 2022 - Replication Technician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Healthcare and profit sharing and 401k

    Cons

    DIY Media Group discriminations the older workers. If you get sick with a major illness they find a way to terminate your employment. Older employees are past up for promotions while younger less knowledgeable employees are promoted. When you tell your supervisor about a work related issue you are told it is not your concern

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    DIY Media Group Response

    We would NEVER look for ways to terminate team members because they are ill. In fact, we pride ourselves on offering benefits that are better than most, plus a supportive environment to those individuals who are seriously ill. It has happened, however, on occasion, when someone seriously ill is no longer able to perform their duties on a permanent basis that by law we cannot retain them. In those extremely difficult cases we try to handle it as empathetically as possible, offering assistance (including COBRA for health insurance) to ensure the best possible transition during such challenging times.

  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    It's NOT a good company

    Aug 16, 2021 - Printing Press Operator in Pennsauken, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Hours are abundant if you want them.

    Cons

    There is a high amount of nepotism and favortism in this company. Employees are also underpaid. They will hound you to work overtime, too. Often times will ask you to work weekends. If you tell them NO, they'll accept it, but you can tell they get upset by it when you don't. I worked my butt off for this company. There is a huge lack of communication amongst management & employees. I would not recommend this workplace to anyone. They don't even stand by the core values that are posted on the walls as you enter the building. I was bullied into leaving my position. They gave me no other choice but to walk out and leave. A year and a half of my service in the middle of a pandemic no less.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    DIY Media Group Response

    The interesting thing is that your feedback is so counter to how we pride ourselves to be operating our company. We communicate transparently from the top down -- every team member gets a monthly update from me on how the company is doing, what we're working on, and where we're going. Are there opportunities to do better? Always, and we are always working on them. Do we have people (including managers) who have relatives who also work here? Sure, and we pride ourselves on the fact that our team members feel so good about working here that they recommend it to their relatives and friends. But we also have vetted practices in place that promotions are based on merit -- it's about how you perform, not who you are or who you know.

  8. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Save yourself the trouble and don't bother working here

    Jun 11, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The workers (except the management) are all great. They are the only reason I can't give this place a 1 star rating.

    Cons

    1. The management sucks. The management is a bunch of men who refuse to take into consideration the needs of their workers. The company encourages feedback on ways to improve, but whenever you provide criticism or suggestions you will find that your written suggestions end up in the trash. 2. There is no advancement, and if you do manage to get any additional jobs you won't be paid extra for it. 3. The customers are all angry, rude, and make you hate yourself while talking to them. Rarely you will get a nice person on the phone, but that is incredibly rare.

    5 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Company Only Cares About Their Managers

    May 19, 2020 - Bookbaby Support 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people you work with and suffer with.

    Cons

    The management, the workload, the communication(lackthereof), the lack of foresight, the lack of longterm planning, the clear disregard for the wellbeing of employees, the short staffing, the fact none of the managers except the VP really have any power, the customers are allowed to be abusive without consequence, the company's essentially run by the whim of one man.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Every worker is fearing that they are going to lose their job

    May 14, 2020 - Bookbaby Support 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The benefits and the non management staff are great - Company decided to make Face Masks to help fight COVID

    Cons

    They have a higher manager making poor and biased decisions for the other managers and staff, and as a result many people were fired and laid off during this COVID pandemic. Multiple people I personally am close with, were some of the backbones of this company and wore many hats in the field. Now that they are gone not only do we need to cover for them, we have to do our jobs too. They also cut back on overtime so we can't get any of the work done.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  11. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    They fire loyal employees in the middle of a GLOBAL PANDEMIC

    Apr 22, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Pennsauken, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None. Literally nothing good to say

    Cons

    Overwork their employees. Sometimes FORCING them to work 7 days a week (which is illegal by the way). Demand overtime even when you tell them you can’t. And then fire people in the middle of a pandemic. Don’t work here. It’s not worth the stress.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with DIY Media Group Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at DIY Media Group? Share Your Experiences

DIY Media Group logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

  • Bookbaby Support(2)

DIY Media Group Photos

+ Add Photo
DIY Media Group photo of: Welcome to our headquarters in Pennsauken, NJ!

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Glassdoor has 11 DIY Media Group reviews submitted anonymously by DIY Media Group employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if DIY Media Group is right for you.