DLA Piper Reviews

Updated May 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
DLA Piper Global Co-Chief Executive Officers  Simon Levine and Cameron Jay Rains
Simon Levine and Cameron Jay Rains
110 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Very proud to work for DLA Piper!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DLA Piper full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Caring, thoughtful, and smart leaders - OMP and PGLs Great location in downtown Austin Complementary fruit, breakfast every Friday Truly the best colleagues, willing to help anyone Great work environment overall The best clients!

    Cons

    Parking can be a pain. Spaces are tight for those who don’t have reserved spots.

    Continue reading
    DLA Piper2019-10-27
  2. "Typical Big Firm"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DLA Piper full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Over the years, I worked with some great people and on some interesting cases.

    Cons

    No real chance of partnership; Not family friendly.

    DLA Piper2020-05-05
  3. "BIG Law Firm"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paralegal 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at DLA Piper full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay, exciting projects, lots of resources

    Cons

    As with all big law firms - the hours are long and the work is complex. You are on all the time. Management is mostly disconnected from reality

    DLA Piper2020-04-23
  4. "Run"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DLA Piper full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Better than average salary and decent benefit package, although a bit on the steep side compared to other large law firms.

    Cons

    Poor management and no accountability for the behavior of the long tenured employees who rule the roost. Not a very friendly or welcoming place to be.

    Continue reading
    DLA Piper2020-03-18
  5. "Good BigLaw law firm to work at"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DLA Piper full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good culture, good to employees, good advancement opportunities, good pay scales

    Cons

    Like all Biglaw firms, hard to find work-life balance at times

    DLA Piper2020-02-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "English environment"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DLA Piper full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Anglophone culture which I enjoyed.

    Cons

    Expected to work for too many lawyers. Benefits were just ok. Too much red tape with the other offices

    Continue reading
    DLA Piper2020-03-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Poor Management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Specialist in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DLA Piper full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good salary and benefits

    Cons

    Management does not care if you are being mistreated.

    Continue reading
    DLA Piper2020-03-04
  8. "DLA Piper"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DLA Piper full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Loved the work in this position

    Cons

    Did not enjoy the environment

    Continue reading
    DLA Piper2020-03-11
  9. "Senior Paralegal"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Paralegal in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at DLA Piper full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible and friendly work environment, everybody is a ye player. Great benefits. Fabulous new building on the river- everybody, even staff, can see daylight!

    Cons

    I just joined the firm so nothing to add here.

    DLA Piper2019-12-28
  10. "Great work place"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Tax Director 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DLA Piper full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    DLA is a very young and dynamic environment, lots of possibilities to grow and develop new ideas.

    Cons

    Benefits are little less than other US Firms (e.g. health insurance more expensive)

    DLA Piper2019-12-16
Found 349 reviews