DMC Atlanta Reviews

Updated May 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
71%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
DMC Atlanta President  Adam Dorfman  (no image)
Adam Dorfman
98 Ratings
Pros
  • "Huge opportunity to grow your business, amazing work environment, everyone is there to help you grow not to work against you(in 14 reviews)

  • "It's done the right way, where hard work is actually recognized and rewarded(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "DMC Atlanta provides incredible opportunity, which in turn means hard work(in 15 reviews)

  • "Long hours -> work hard though(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great program to help young entrepreneurs"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DMC Atlanta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been working at DMC for around 9 months now and the amount of professional as well as personal growth I've gained since working here has been astounding. It's completely merit based, so what you put in is exactly what you get out. Highly recommend it to anyone trying to take the next steps in their career, and would like mentorship from senior management members to assist in getting there.

    Cons

    everything here is based on individual poor work ethic = poor results and the same goes vice versa.

    Continue reading

    DMC Atlanta Response

    April 16, 2020

    Reviewer, What fantastic feedback; thank you so much! Nothing brings us more joy than knowing that our business systems have helped you grow personally and professionally. You are correct; we are a merit-based company. We believe that an individual's work ethic and standards should determine the rate of their growth instead of seniority. Thank you for this review, and we can't wait for the quarantine to wrap up so that we can get back to the office! Sincerely, DMC Atlanta Management Team

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Work Well Worth Doing"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DMC Atlanta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    DMC Atlanta has given me the opportunity to control my own destiny. Through professional and personal development and a merit based work environment, DMC Atlanta has invested ten fold more in me than any other company I have ever worked for. The management team and culture DMC has is truly incredible. They genuinely care for the betterment and wellbeing of everyone who works there. DMC is work well worth doing, and I wouldn't change it for anything. If you're looking for an opportunity to change your destiny, and achieve things that truly matter to YOU, DMC is the place to go.

    Cons

    I didn't find them sooner.

    DMC Atlanta Response

    April 10, 2020

    Reviewer, What fantastic feedback! Thank you for sharing how you feel about working here at DMC Atlanta with the Glassdoor community. We are thrilled to read that you are enjoying our work environment, the opportunity that we provide, and our team culture. This feedback lets us know that we are on the right track! We appreciate you and your kind words. Sincerely, DMC Atlanta Management Team

  3. Helpful (1)

    "AMAZING working enviornment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DMC Atlanta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I came into this job with an open mind and it wa the best decision that i have ever made. I took a leap and went out of my comfort zone and it has been so rewarding. Having a team that is motivating and supportive is all this company is about. I have never worked somewhere that everytime you achieve something there is always some type of recognition. I love going to work and feeling appreciated. DMC found me and it has been such a blessing.

    Cons

    I do not have any cons.

    DMC Atlanta Response

    April 10, 2020

    Reviewer, We could ask for nothing better than to hear that our team members feel appreciated! We know that you work hard, and when you hit a goal, you deserve to be supported. Thank you for sharing this great feedback, and we look forward to watching your continued growth this year! Sincerely, DMC Atlanta Management Team

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Read the glassdoor reviews"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at DMC Atlanta full-time

    Pros

    They're a legit company in the sense that they have an hr and an office building only

    Cons

    1. There is no healthcare. They do offer a tele-healthcare option in which you can live chat with a doctor (a lot of modern companies offer this in conjunction with health insurance) but if you need actual care at a clinic or an emergency were to occur, you do not have health insurance to protect you. 2. The CEO actively monitors the comment section of glassdoor and retaliates with aggressive responses to anyone who offers a negative opinion about the questionable business model of the company itself. Please read through the pages of comments. 3. They're not forthcoming with what the job entails, but rather choose to focus on why you're doing it. Your role as an account manager would essentially be to stand inside of a retail store like walmart and try to sell cable packages or phone line upgrades for at&t. You're led to believe that you would be working in the sandy springs office and required to do some traveling to visit the specific retail stores, but you're actually traveling to different stores to do the marketing yourself. 4. The differences in pay structure is alarming. The base pay rate for an account manager was quoted to me by HR as $400/weekly or $10 an hour. The compensation model given: $135 per DirecTV installation, $80 per at&t tv activation, $40 per at&t internet installation, $50 per cell phone line All things people wouldn't necessarily buy from a 3rd party, making the probability of hitting manageable sales for a sustainable cost of living well below the threshold. (The probability source estimate was derived from the reports of other employees on glassdoor for DMC Atlanta sharing their own experiences) 5. They claim to promote from within and offer a quick path to promotion but neglect to mention the likelihood of obtaining the promotion and the distribution of income is tax brackets away from one another. The 3 levels of promotion are a difference in roughly $100k, giving the illusion that is easily achievable with hard work when the reality is more like a carnival game in where the game is rigged but looks legitimate on the outside

    Continue reading

    DMC Atlanta Response

    May 15, 2020President

    I'll go ahead and respond "aggressively!" Clearly, whoever wrote this is very angry about the time they spent with us., if they actually were part of our team at all. If you'd like to talk, you have my number (as does every person we ever hire). Call me, and we can talk, and I can try to make things right. Unfortunately, we did have to let some people go recently due to COVID19. There were clearly some people who were let go who felt "wronged," and, unfortunately, it was the hardest week of my life, since we've never had to lay people off before. In good news, we have now offered to have everyone come back! In regards to our interview process, we clearly explain the entire job to every applicant including showing, hands on, exactly (hour by hour) what their job will be if they are hired and choose to work with us. We have grown tremendously, and most of our team hits well above standards weekly. In regards to compensation, we pay a draw guarantee or commission, whichever is greater. We are also clear about that in the interview and in our glassdoor responses! We don't promise anyone a quick promotion. Promotions are based on merit and generally take a couple of years to go from entry level to management. Yes, there is a big difference in compensation between an entry level rep and senior manager - as is the case in most companies. The difference is, it takes years, not decades and work not favoritism to achieve. In regards to my monitoring of Glassdoor responses, well, of course I do! It's my business - I want to make sure to tell my story of it. Unfortunately, most of the time, happy employees who aren't looking for jobs don't spend much time on Glassdoor writing reviews. Most of our reviews are either written by former reps who were terminated due to integrity issues or performance standards or by competitors (as we have seen from IP address research).

  5. "Weird"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DMC Atlanta part-time

    Pros

    New opportunities, they promote from within

    Cons

    It's basically a requirement to hang out with your coworkers , feels like a pyramid scheme

    DMC Atlanta Response

    January 9, 2020President

    There are only 2 recruiters at our company, both of whom have been active members of the team for several years. Neither wrote this. Additionally, we do not have ANY part-time employees (full-time only). This person clearly does not work in the position, nor have they ever. However, if their only complaint is that we like each other and hang out a lot, we'll take it.

  6. "Get what you give"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DMC Atlanta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Learn work ethic - Speak to a wealthy person daily - Learn how to dress well

    Cons

    - You will be selling stuff in retail stores - That dream of opening your own office is further away than you think, but thats not entirely a bad thing - I interacted with a couple people really believe they had it all "figured out", and will talk to you like you're an imbecile because you didnt believe them... only to find out they were fired for cheating or lying. Not really a company issue, but still funny to mention.

    DMC Atlanta Response

    December 19, 2019

    Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to provide our team with this feedback. It is great to hear that you were able to grow professionally while employed with us. We appreciate you pointing out that success here at DMC Atlanta requires concentrated effort. To excel in our company, one must have a strong work ethic, dedication to their own self-development, and grit. Our management team works hard to protect our company's atmosphere so that those working on hitting their goals have the tools they need readily available. This is why we have had to let employees go in the past. Once again, we appreciate your feedback and wish you all the best in your future endeavors! Sincerely, DMC Atlanta Management Team

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Takes the "Right" Type of Person"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DMC Atlanta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Job for someone self-motivated with aspirations of becoming a business owner if they lack the funds or knowledge on how to run a business.

    Cons

    Not so good for someone looking for a 40 hour a week job to collect a paycheck. Expect to put in the work (50+ hours) because those are the ones that do good.

    DMC Atlanta Response

    November 14, 2019

    Reviewer, We appreciate you taking the time to leave this amazing review. You are correct, our business is perfect for individuals that are self-motivated and aspire to achieve great things in their career. We aim to hire candidates that are willing to put in the hours in order to exceed expectations. Once again, thank you for this feedback! Sincerely, DMC Atlanta Management Team

  8. "Sales job. Purely commission"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DMC Atlanta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good team spirit. Sales Training is good.

    Cons

    Pay is purely commission. It’s a lot more work for very little pay especially since there are different factors that affect your commission.

    Continue reading

    DMC Atlanta Response

    October 24, 2019President

    Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our company culture and the training that we provide! Our pay structures are covered in detail during our interview process, with management discussing compensation in both the second interview and on one's first day of training. During that time we painstakingly detail that the pay is a base/draw system plus commission and bonuses. We work in INSIDE sales, and it would be ILLEGAL for us to pay only on commission. EVERYONE, regardless of performance, gets a paycheck for hours worked every week. Period. Obviously, since Glassdoor will literally allow anyone to write anything without offensive language in a review of a company and truly doesn't care about facts, they won't take down this blatantly false claim, so I will go on! Additionally, most of our team is not making "very little pay," as their commissions are higher than the guarantee. We have an incredibly hands-on, accessible management team, each of whom is happy to answer any follow-up questions about pay as one progresses in our company. When we say open-door policy, we quite literally all work with our doors open for each other. Although it seems that sales were not the best fit professionally, we hope you leave with transferable skills you can bring to your next position. Best of luck. DMC Atlanta Management Team

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Working at Dmc"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DMC Atlanta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    During my 6 months at dmc I learned a lot about sales and team building. You get to go on road trips and business trips a lot Young people work there so it's a fun environment

    Cons

    They don't repay you for gas, I was spending 120 dollars on gas a week. Long hours They give you a base pay, but they take it from your future checks. They send you on road trips but you still have to pay for your own gas and food. You have no free time They try to guilt you into working 6 days a week

    Continue reading

    DMC Atlanta Response

    October 2, 2019President

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review! We have gotten some of this feedback before, and we have made some pretty big changes based on the feedback! For anyone who hits our minimum standards, we reimburse $50 weekly (non-taxed) for any business-related expenses, including gas. We pay based on a draw system, where we do make sure people make money, but commissions have to be greater than the base amount in order to get commissions. When someone is brand new, they get paid for their time training, and sometimes that is less than the guaranteed amount. Most of our team is WELL above the minimum by their third week. In regards to having "no free time" or working 6 days a week - our team works 5 days a week, and many of our top performers CHOOSE to work extra in order to make more money. Unlike many companies out there, we do NOT limit the amount of money someone can make by limiting their hours to under 40 per week. We have recently implemented a "flex schedule" that allows top performers to choose which days off they take weekly. This applies to anyone who earns it, so they can truly plan their work hours around their personal lives, as long as they are hitting requirements! In response to this, we have a record number of people making more money than ever due to their desire to create their own hours. I hope this addresses the concerns, and thank you again for the feedback!

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great Culture and Valuable Skills"

    4.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DMC Atlanta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked at DMC Atlanta for over a year and I acquired some extremely valuable skills such as Sales knowledge, negotiation strategies, public speaking, accountability, managing others, consistency in production, leadership skills, and building professional relationships.

    Cons

    The hours can be demanding and hard at first, but this preparation will serve as a strong foundation if you are there to get experience. You will learn a lot about yourself! Go for it!

    DMC Atlanta Response

    July 25, 2019

    Hello Reviewer! We appreciate you taking the time to leave our company a review. Your insight into as a formed employee is valuable. As you know, we focus on teaching our team skills that will help them succeed in the future like sales, negotiation, and public speaking. We are glad to hear you enjoyed learning and growing. We do understand that hard work can come with long hours, but we feel it is worth the sacrifice to make success happen! You are absolutely right in saying that you will learn a lot about yourself while working here. Again, we thank you for leaving us a review. Sincerely, DMC Atlanta Management Team

Found 140 reviews