DMI "dmi" Reviews | Glassdoor

DMI Employee Reviews about "dmi"

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
63%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
DMI CEO Jay Sunny Bajaj (no image)
Jay Sunny Bajaj
164 Ratings
Pros
  • "DMI is a people company that invest in its employees, cultivates new ideas and drives innovation(in 32 reviews)

  • "As a retired Army Officer, I enjoy the work environment, teamwork and the excellent morale of the employees(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "None; DMI is one of the best companies, I have had the opportunity to be a prat of(in 43 reviews)

  • "More needs to be done for work life balance(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "dmi"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Inclusive and Innovative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DMI full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    DMI is a people company that invest in its employees, cultivates new ideas and drives innovation.

    Cons

    None; DMI is one of the best companies, I have had the opportunity to be a prat of.

    DMI2019-07-15
  2. "Decent Pay, Other Experiences Will Vary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carmel, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DMI full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is more or less inline with most of the Indianapolis area. You can potentially work on some really interesting projects.

    Cons

    Your experience will vary widely based on client. If you are at a client near the offices in Carmel they it will likely be a good experience. If you're at a client not near the offices then it's very variable. A client that doesn't require you to be on-site daily can be beneficial. If you do have to be on site daily you may feel very isolated and left behind by leadership. Additionally there is still a great number... of process issues still two years after DMI acquired Allegient and it makes for an unpleasant experience. Recruiting continues to be a continuous issue. I've referred two friends and they both got "ghosted" by the recruiter. That doesn't bode well.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    1. Transparency, especially for those who can't get to the offices. Clear communication on processes, like promotions, and easy to find information are key! 2. Get your act together. The technology integration post-merger should have already been done. It's a technology consulting company, you have the people to do this work on your pay roll. Processes should have already been aligned as well by now. Employees are... getting whiplash. 3. Fix the management system. Managers need time to manage and should get an automatic pay raise when they become a manager. More work should mean more guaranteed pay. Not the promise of bonuses 4. Fix the recruiting staff. They can't seem to get back to candidates, so they either need a new system to work out of or more people. Something is wrong.

    Show More
    DMI2019-09-16
  3. Helpful (3)

    "It was nice while it lasted."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at DMI full-time

    Pros

    As one of the team members on one of the 4 or 5 companies DMI acquired back in 2014, the first few years of growth were great. Everyone was seemingly on board across the company with giving everyone the opportunity to grow within the organization, communication was as transparent as it could be in an organization of that size, and we were taking on new clients that we may not have had the opportunity to get... otherwise. Depending on the office and division you work for, the experiences will vary and I was one of the lucky ones that got to do cool work, surrounded by dedicated and collaborative teammates, and supportive middle management willing to help me learn and grow. If you like company-sponsored quarterly events, DMI has them with an annual summer picnic, Oktoberfest, Holiday/Awards party where they recognize employee accomplishments every year, and Tech Chef. I didn't work at HQ so I didn't always attend, but it's a nice perk regardless.

    Show More

    Cons

    Unfortunately, as DMI continued to grow, that transparent communication got lost in the noise. New management members would get announced without clear explanation as to what their roles were or how it would impact the organization. It seemed like we were only growing at the top and not bringing in team members to do the work. Work/Life balance truly depends on which office you are in and what your job/role is. I... hear it was better in some offices than others but at the end of the day, it's an agency and working late is unfortunately the norm at DMI and everywhere. The benefits played a huge role in my decision to depart. The health insurance offered is extremely expensive, and I was only paying for myself and a spouse. It also didn't cover a lot, we were paying a lot out of pocket on top of paying hundreds every month for coverage. There is no paid family leave, which is a benefit offered at all of DMI's competitors both at the local level and national level. PTO is generous and I liked that it is combined sick and personal leave, but you could not roll it over year over year. Ultimately I wanted to continue to learn and grow beyond the position I was in and even though I was getting support at office management level, I felt as though it wasn't able to go any further in the organization. Through thorough research, I also learned I was underpaid for the position and duties I had. Ultimately there wasn't anything I could do here, as right around the time that I was discovering this a significant portion of the staff was laid off and I knew there would be no leg to stand on as far as asking for more money.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to some of the management of the companies you acquire to continue to improve the organization. During my exit interview, I was told that the attitude of management is to tell these new DMI employees that "your company was bought, so your former policies and procedures need to conform to DMI's" which is such a toxic attitude. None of those employees signed on to be DMI employees. And there could be a lot of... opportunities to improve the company or be more innovative if instead of just forcing everyone to adapt, everyone adapted together.

    Show More
    DMI2019-08-29
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Dishonest and Toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DMI full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You get a paycheck By and large they have good employees (sadly this is overshadowed by inept leaders, toxic culture and 0 company direction)

    Cons

    Where to begin. If someone were to write a book about how to successfully torpedo a company, DMI would be the perfect case study. -Unprofessional, ineffective and inept executive leaders -honesty and integrity do not exist here, especially at the executive level -toxic cut throat corporate culture -losing work at a rapid pace and not replacing it with new wins -revenue is in free fall -the good leaders they... have , are leaving in droves -fractured relationships with customers and partners -work life balance does not exist here -no company direction, they can't figure out what they want to do or what they're good at and because of that, they aren't particularly good at anything they try to do.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None and even if I did, they wouldn't listen to it, which is why they find themselves in the position they are currently in. They don't and never will listen to their employees because they don't value their employees.

    DMI2019-08-29
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Federal Recruiting Manager in Bethesda, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DMI full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture that promotes upward mobility Managers who care about their employees and empowers them to take charge of their career Great benefits Strong leadership on our Federal team Smart and effective operations managers Genuine camaraderie on our Federal team

    Cons

    Every company has cons but I've found that DMI always does their best to actively address cons and turn them into pros, it's another one of the reasons I love working here!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work, it's a pleasure working with you!

    DMI2019-07-10
  6. Helpful (5)

    "DMI Acquired Lochbridge and Killed its Integrity and Heart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Bethesda, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DMI full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hired by Lochbridge, wonderful opportunities, people were properly trained and worked together. Great pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Acquired by India-based DMI. My contract was missing the necessary middle management from day 1. No follow through on directives to employees. Laid off since the development team could not get their act together after 8 months and anyone traveling was moved off the contract. Pitiful bonuses for worker bees. Often one's direct supervisor has no idea what you actually do on a day-to-day basis.

    Advice to Management

    Give the training to employees you promise so we're all on the same page. Do not scream and berate employees in front of others. Tacky, classless, mean individuals.

    DMI2019-04-11
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Steer Clear After Merger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DMI full-time

    Pros

    offered fair salaries for tech industry in Indianapolis and had generous grandfathered PTO plan if you were hired before the merger.

    Cons

    -bonuses that we were promised during our recruitment were never paid out company cutting several benefits due to "budgeting" including key internal roles, company holiday party (after they sent out invitations they announced it wasn't happening anymore), and other various perks. -all those I talked to prior to leaving, hired on prior to the merger, were not impressed with what DMI had brought to the table and... felt like they company had gone downhill (not a small tech firm anymore, no sense of community, felt like employees were treated as numbers...etc.) -management frequently failed to communicate and be transparent with employees and at times, were blatantly dishonest and were later called out for those discrepancies by other members management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Become more transparent, be honest, support those employees working at difficult clients much more than what is occurring currently, meet with the entire team about internal company satisfaction surveys and their TRUE results, and when issues are escalated to managing consultants and practice leads -- please address them in an accurate manner. There are a few members of management that have several complaints... against them that even have been classified as HR issues and those individuals have been promoted, not disciplined.

    Show More
    DMI2019-02-21
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Unstable Hostile Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carmel, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DMI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is nothing positive about working at DMI

    Cons

    Hostile environment with openly sexist leadership that doesn’t value female workers Inept management that has driven away the majority of talent and is destroying all goodwill and moral with employees in a death march for minimizing cost for short term goals and no long term vision

    DMI2019-03-02
  9. Helpful (2)

    "New to this line of work, but love it so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bethesda, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DMI full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, ability to work from home or another DMI location, casual monday & Friday

    Cons

    typical office work place drama, nothing serious or not expected

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work. Maybe do a handful more company events or encourage team leaders to do more with their team. Morale is fine, but could be better.

    DMI2018-10-04
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Cover Your Self/Watch Your Back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at DMI full-time

    Pros

    Their aren't any. Sad huh?

    Cons

    Where do I begin? The management is dumb, blind and naive. They only care about themselves and have no clue how HR, Recruiting and Benefits run (which is poor by the way). They need to clean house in those departments because upper management is incompetent and are out for blood. They will look you in the eyes, and lie straight to you to save face. Job security is laughable. Their isn't any of that. When other... department managers go to the CEO and CFO to tell them just how poorly HR is run, they ignore it without taking actions to ensure their company is in good hands. This to me, is disgusting. The turnover rate at DMI is TOO HIGH, and your job IS NOT SAFE HERE. DO NOT APPLY.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    clean house - starting with HR . Then maybe your turnover rate won't be as high, and you can count on good people with a good sense of morals and ethics. The people back their don't know the meaning of loyalty or empathy. Who wants to work for people like that? Clearly you are okay with how poor your company is ran by the leadership you have hired and continue to employ. If you want better results, hire new.... "People don't leave companies - they leave management"

    Show More
    DMI2018-06-13
Found 68 reviews
</>Embed