DMI "dmi" Reviews | Glassdoor

DMI Reviews

Updated Jan 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
57%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
DMI Founder, President, & CEO   Jay Sunny Bajaj (no image)
Jay Sunny Bajaj
166 Ratings
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Cover Your Self/Watch Your Back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at DMI full-time

    Pros

    Their aren't any. Sad huh?

    Cons

    Where do I begin? The management is dumb, blind and naive. They only care about themselves and have no clue how HR, Recruiting and Benefits run (which is poor by the way). They need to clean house in those departments because upper management is incompetent and are out for blood. They will look you in the eyes, and lie straight to you to save face. Job security is laughable. Their isn't any of that. When other department managers go to the CEO and CFO to tell them just how poorly HR is run, they ignore it without taking actions to ensure their company is in good hands. This to me, is disgusting. The turnover rate at DMI is TOO HIGH, and your job IS NOT SAFE HERE. DO NOT APPLY.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    clean house - starting with HR . Then maybe your turnover rate won't be as high, and you can count on good people with a good sense of morals and ethics. The people back their don't know the meaning of loyalty or empathy. Who wants to work for people like that? Clearly you are okay with how poor your company is ran by the leadership you have hired and continue to employ. If you want better results, hire new. "People don't leave companies - they leave management"

    Show More
    DMI2018-06-13
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Reply Hazy, Try Again..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DMI full-time

    Pros

    DMI is really two companies, Federal and Commercial. Federal employees are mainly contractors who go to work at government sites. Commercial division is about 5 years old. Fun company, lots of hustle, movers and shakers can get recognized and promoted, some early-to-market advantage for commercial offering ("end-to-end mobility services") due to smart acquisitions and strategy.

    Cons

    For a company that helps other companies with digital transformation, tech at DMI is a constant struggle for employees. I have dozens of passwords because there is no single sign-on. I had to get my manager to intervene to get a MAC laptop (I was initially given a slow Lenovo that didn't even have a solid state drive). Maybe I should have taken the PC though because the helpdesk doesn't know anything about MACs so I am on my own. Mail goes down all the time. They have no unified messaging (some people on Lync, some on Slack, some on Zoom, some on Skype, some on GoToMeeting, argh!)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    We need some real leadership on tech internally. I don't think we even have a CTO or CIO. The IT group seems rudderless and too paralyzed by oldthink and budget shortfalls to make meaningful change. We talk a good game to our customers, but need to digitally transform ourselves. We are kind of like this really great auto mechanic whose personal car is always broken down. Also, there has been a real erosion of benefits since I started here. This does not bode well for retention and recruitment in a very competitive jobs marketplace. We risk losing our best performers and getting more and more deadwood build-up.

    Show More
    DMI2018-04-30
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (8)

    "Run for the hills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kearneysville, WV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DMI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fleixble hours and competitive pay

    Cons

    Management is TERRIBLE. I work on the APLES contract in Kearneysville and they have no clue how to manage people or the project. They promote and protect the worst among us, and allow bullying and improper management techniques to continue without pause. People don't leave positions, people leave managers, and DMI has a consistent exit of talented employees. I strongly encourage everyone to look elsewhere.

    Advice to Management

    Start at the top and replace the entire APLES Management Team. Promote the hard working and fair people running the project level tasking, who haven't become too big for their britches and still care about more than a title and salary.

    DMI2018-05-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Working for DMI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DMI full-time

    Pros

    DMI is very dynamic consulting firm offering opportunities to learn new technologies.

    Cons

    The variety of technology opportunities may interfere with true mastery of any one technology

    DMI2018-02-06
  6. "Performance and Queue Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at DMI full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very diverse company with great opportunity for growth.

    Cons

    I really did not have any cons about DMI experience

    DMI2017-10-27
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Employee Neglect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Administrator in Monterey, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at DMI full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Paid time off and salary.

    Cons

    DMI was eager to hire me. I relocated from out of state. I was highly motivated to learn the environment and become an asset to the team. I sat in the office doing nothing for weeks while waiting to be granted access to the network. During that time my team members ignored me unless I specifically asked them a question. Once I obtained access I wasn't given any tasks to complete. Repeated requests to work with my team members were ignored by my manager. Meanwhile my co workers were preoccupied with their assignments without any concern to my uncomfortable situation. Although I offered to assist coworkers with their work. None accepted my invitation. Numerous times I asked co workers questions in attempts to familiarize myself with the environment. Why would DMI hire a person only to ignore their existence? To make matters worse the Program Manager said he knows the job function of every DMI team member except me. That became a lengthy meeting in which I expressed my eagerness to learn as well as my disappointment with the complete lack of On Boarding process. My experience became worse over the course of a year. My immediate manager appeared to have been demoted. Thus, he accepted a new job elsewhere. My manager's replacement, a current DMI employee from another department resigned shortly thereafter. At the same time, the program manager quit while he was on vacation. I discussed my odd situation with 3 managers and 2 program managers. None of them resolved my odd, negative, uncomfortable work experience. This horrible experience caused a financial burden upon me. Working at DMI felt like a real life episode of the Twilight Zone.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Develop and implement an effective On Boarding & Training process for all new employees.

    DMI2017-08-07
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Inflated Glass Door reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DMI full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They have good Christmas parties, worth travelling to go

    Cons

    Careful of how many stars DMI has on Glass Door. The 4-5 start reviews are purposely inflated... Dishonest about compensation plan at start of employment. This issue dates back years, just scroll through the older reviews. Lots of turnover creating chaotic environment, stress of job security. Bad communication from leadership to with project teams. Projects understaffed, continual overtime is expected, not compensated for. Poorly executed professional development programs for employees. Only rhetoric.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Greater honestly about the health and direction of the company to employees and project teams.

    DMI2017-05-01
  9. Helpful (13)

    "lost cause"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Lincolnshire, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DMI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    free soda and sugary snacks, occasional potluck. office culture is "great", especially when you get to work remotely and not come in. The CEO owns a Tilted Kilt - I guess that's a pro, right? Good place if you're looking for a stepping stone to leave and get something better (don't stay for long).

    Cons

    - management keeps changing due to "restructuring" which seems to happen more than once a quarter - they're pretty lost when it comes to selling their services on the market - DMI will bid at the lowest possible price just to get a contract, which later results in cuts and layoffs because they're unable to match the cost of production - very dishonest working place: there is nothing wrong with a company hitting a speed bump, but it takes on a different mantle when you have a company meeting to pat each other on the back and tell everyone how many millions we're about to make (when this couldn't be further from the truth). In short, the sales and management team are incompetent and are deathly afraid of being honest with themselves. - I mentioned this briefly above, but during my 3 years with the company I've seen probably 4 waves of substantial layoffs. By the time I left, all that was left was a bare bones team. - DMI is unprepared to fulfill services they promise. The sales team offers solutions that the production team is unfamiliar with or has never done - this results in a hasty fire drill every time, because the expectations are not well communicated. They've lost multiple large clients due to this.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - start being honest. First with yourselves, then to your employees, then to your customers - there are surely a few actually talented people who work for you, make sure you compensate them fairly or else they'll jump ship too - learn how to bid on contracts, do so with the benefit of your employees in mind, not just closing the deal - stop the backstabbing - it's pretty obvious that someone at the DMI office is spamming this page with fake reviews. Seems desperate. Perhaps spending the same amount of energy on actual work culture could yield better results.

    Show More
    DMI2017-03-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "IT System Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Administrator in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DMI full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've been a System Administrator with DMI for over 4 years and it's been a positive experience. They seem to genuinely care about the welfare of their employees and have good training benefits.

    Cons

    None that I can think of at the moment.

    DMI2017-02-15
  11. "Would definitely recommend!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Mobility Engineer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DMI for less than a year

    Pros

    I recently joined DMI as a Mobility Engineer and my onboarding has been an absolute blast. From day one orientation to right here today at the job site DMI has really made me feel welcomed and optimistic for the future. I have already begun to refer former colleagues and those in school ready to graduate to take a look at our website.

    Cons

    I have not experienced any cons while working on my current project. I am pleased with my on-boarding and support.

    DMI2017-02-16
Found 70 reviews
</>Embed