DNN Reviews | Glassdoor

DNN Reviews

Updated Feb 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Andy Tryba
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great people and a fantastic environment to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DNN full-time

    Pros

    Working here has been the best move for my career. In the short time I have been here I have been promoted and have even been offered positions in a completely different department, with the outlook of having a team assigned to me for the new department. This is a work place where you can absolutely grow and I have seen 6 others in my time get promotions and opportunities that were never available a few years ago....

    Show More

    Cons

    The work can be difficult at times, especially when there is a new release, but they always take care of us and make us feel appreciated for the extra time and effort that is needed occasionally.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing, I have seen nothing but improvement in my time here.

    DNN2016-11-18

    DNN Response

    November 21, 2016People Operations

    Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you and DNN are a good match! I encourage you to continue to always communicate with your manager regarding how things are going and how we can help you continue your career growth. Best of everything to you!

  2. Helpful (7)

    "Was fun until the ship sank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DNN full-time

    Pros

    Decent work life balance and lots of free food and drinks. Decent office location with wide open concept and lots of desk space. Good machine set ups.

    Cons

    Not much room for growth. This place used to be great when I first started and then with 2.5 year management managed to drag it down in to the dumps forcing lots of staff to leave and even the guy who started the company as well.

    Advice to Management

    Quit thinking that you know everything. You hired people to do the jobs they have expertise in. Listening to them adds a ton of value. Buzz words don't help sales numbers.

    DNN2016-10-16

    DNN Response

    November 21, 2016People Operations

    Thank you for your comments. We at DNN recognize that we have to do a much better job of communicating to our employees the company's goals and visions. More so, we realize the need for creating opportunities for leadership and our employees to communicate in real time about how we ...

    Show More
  3. "Director, Support and Customer Success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Langley, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DNN for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The career opportunities are endless. Put in the work and you will be rewarded time and again. The platform has so much potential.

    Cons

    Location at times can be a con. The office in Canada is located in Langley just off 200th, which can present some travel issues for some depending on where you are coming from.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to encourage employee contributions and opinions for where they believe the company direction should be headed.

    DNN2016-09-18

    DNN Response

    November 21, 2016People Operations

    Thank you for your review. We are truly happy to see that you thrived during your time with DNN. We wish the best of luck to you!

  4. "You Gotta Work Here!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DNN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Exceptional management team, an inspiring vision, amazing culture and lots of growth opportunities. I have never worked with a group of people who are so committed to a mission before.

    Cons

    Few things in place to measure current process performance.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up! The staff have complete faith that we will get where we're trying to go.

    DNN2016-05-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Passionate people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DNN full-time

    Pros

    The people are good... Very passionate about the product. A lot of activities, endless snacks. Big grassy area with a basketball hoop behind the office. Bright office, open layout.

    Cons

    A lot of stress. Comes with caring about what you do but it's there for sure.

    Advice to Management

    Let people be more free with ideas. Understand that people get stressed.

    DNN2016-04-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Going in the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DNN full-time

    Pros

    Company culture is superb, though turnovers happen, they happen for a reason. CEO always ensures and updates workers about the company's status and how it's doing. Every move is explained and the company is going in the right direction. Management team is excellent at keeping employees informed and happy.

    Cons

    Though culture is great and the team is excellent, salary rates could be higher. More performance reviews needed, and promoting from within should be considered more often.

    Advice to Management

    Consider promoting from within more, a lot of your current employees are very talented. Keep the team as tight as possible, overcome the time zone barriers.

    DNN2016-02-29
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Good culture, Nice manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DNN

    Pros

    Very good culture, nice food, plenty of team building activities

    Cons

    low salary, poor benefit, no professional development

    DNN2015-11-13
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Had such potential... until it was run into the ground."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Developer in Langley, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DNN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This place used to be a great place to work. The development team was largely based in Langley, Canada, was a close knit group -- good mix of experience and energy. A place where you go to work and have fun while doing it -- working towards a common goal with colleagues which also are friends. Now the only pro's for the development team in Langley is probably the free snacks, ice cream, and junk food they provide...

    Show More

    Cons

    If you work in Langley, there's no longer any leadership there. All the management is in San Mateo, CA. So pretty much the office in Langley feels like an orphaned child in terms of culture, and may as well be an outsourced office. Currently they have more outsourced developers than in house developers. A few years ago when new management came in, everything slowly went down the drain. Micromanaged to the core,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Advice to the Board Members --- you need a new CEO and a new management team. Surprised to see you are satisfied with the status quo.

    DNN2015-10-30
  9. "Nice company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at DNN

    Pros

    Nice company. Growing fast. Relaxed. Good culture. Plenty of snack.

    Cons

    Bad location. Poor management. Lack of business goal. Less opportunities.

    DNN2014-03-14
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great company truly cares about its employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Lead in Langley, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at DNN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free food Great team events Lots of potential for career growth Good benefits package for a small company

    Cons

    Long days, late nights and some weekend work at ship time

    DNN2013-04-03
Found 41 reviews