DONAN Reviews | Glassdoor

DONAN Reviews

Updated Sep 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 51 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
DONAN CEO Lyle Donan (no image)
Lyle Donan
39 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent work life balance, more work opportunities are there if you so desire(in 10 reviews)

  • "Work from home for a company that cares about you(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "High turnover- I mean high and in every department(in 4 reviews)

  • "Leaving employment with them is a nightmare, as you are restricted with a non-compete clause(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Donan is a family owned and operated company with a very driven and focused CEO."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Forensic Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DONAN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The personality of the CEO permeates throughout the company. This means that it does feel like family, objectives are focused, and employees that are naturally driven will fit in (and do) well. All in all though it is a good place to work as an engineer. Leadership has their head in the right place and the work/life balance for engineers is hard to beat.

    Cons

    Like any group of people there are individuals that do not seem to be 100% on board with the culture. There are also decisions that are made that can be hard to understand from the bottom. That all comes with working within a corporate structure.

    DONAN2019-03-22
  2. "Nice place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DONAN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility is a good work benefit.

    Cons

    More hours working than expected.

    DONAN2019-09-30
  3. "Good Start to the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Forensic Engineer in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DONAN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, good work/life balance, work from home/remotely in my region, company vehicle, resources/tools are always available (or can be gathered) to accomplish my job, willingness to change/adapt and try new things, great network of people to ask questions for new hires or if issues arise. I enjoy working on projects and the satisfaction of completing them in a timely manner (versus working on one... project for several months or years). I feel like I'm using my discipline-specific skills more here than in my past jobs while also challenging me to learn and expand my own knowledge (which is also encouraged and supported through training). I'm definitely happy that I joined the company and excited to see what's next for me.

    Show More

    Cons

    Coming from a design-orientated field there were a lot of growing pains with learning the new system, programs, expectations, and get you enough information to initially have you go out on project on your own. The first few months were difficult, but I was assigned good mentors so I could ask questions and was able to shadow several engineers on their own field projects so I could see what "good" looked like. I... took a pay cut to work for the company, but the trade off for more flexible schedules and less overtime (which I haven't run into here) have given me a better quality of life than my past jobs - I haven't been with the company long enough to see how the raises and other bonuses supplement my own salary. I would also like to be more focused on my specific discipline than dividing my time between what I know/like and roof inspections (which is typical for every employee at Donan - all the engineering disciplines perform roof inspections as a full-time employees).

    Show More
    DONAN2019-09-18
  4. "Employment Here Dampens Self Esteem and Personal Value"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DONAN full-time

    Pros

    The CEO and others do show employee appreciation throughout the year.

    Cons

    I would not recommend employment with this company. Management in some departments are fear evoking people who are unsympathetic and rude. Everything is "ASAP!" and no matter how hard you try, it goes unrecognized. I was highly disappointed with this company and decided to leave.

    Advice to Management

    Train employees properly and don't allow bullying by managers. Don't allow management to treat valuable employees like school kids. Terrible practice and not tolerable.

    DONAN2019-09-27
  5. "Customer Care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DONAN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great resources. Friendly staff. Busy.

    Cons

    Calculating leadership. No idea what they’re doing.

    DONAN2019-09-13
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Always changing, for the worse lately"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Forensic Engineer in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DONAN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great CEO and vision. Potential for great work life balance.

    Cons

    I was hired with the premise that I could manage my own time and work efficiently to increase my compensation. That all changed with centralized scheduling. Now they fill up your week with inefficient driving, reduce the expected report writing time without consideration to the type of project and actual work hours. Then if you miss a deadline you get scolded like a child and asked to explain yourself. Engineers... are required to be thorough and correct, and sometimes that takes time. This doesn't seem to fit in Donan's current business model. Also the non-compete agreement keeps employees from finding better employment or looking for better compensation. This is a tool to keep raises below average and employees scared to leave or speak up about inequities.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop increasing non-billable work requirements (endlessly changing program and client requirements), stop the disregard for time required for thorough reports and consider the hours spent on the road between studies. Road fatigue is a real thing that can have serious consequences. Also, changing the terms of employment after being hired and then scaring employees with a non-compete to stay will only degrade your... reputation. your product would be better and more profitable with more transparency, honesty & mutual respect.

    Show More
    DONAN2019-04-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great job for someone who enjoys figuring thinks out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Forensic Engineer in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DONAN full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Job satisfaction; enjoyable work; fast paced; opportunities to earn beyond salary; non-competitive environment; honesty paramount;

    Cons

    Not for someone who wishes to rise out of engineering and into highest level of management since there is very spaces in this family owned business.

    Advice to Management

    Don't just listen to those who say what they believe you would like to hear. Remember that just having an open door policy does not mean folks with actual cross the threshold and talk honestly.

    DONAN2019-03-04
  8. "Great for family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DONAN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company is focused on productivity but still allows for family life and offers great flexibility. Work from home for a company that cares about you.

    Cons

    To be a top performer, you'll have to spend at least some time during the nights and/or weekends to finish projects - somewhere between 15 minutes - 2hours.

    Advice to Management

    Continue listening to feedback from the field.

    DONAN2019-03-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DONAN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Donan is challenging, innovative, and always high speed in the best of ways. The culture here is amazing, the people are amazing, and the benefits are great. Donan is a family owned business and they do a great job of making you feel like your family too.

    Cons

    There are really no cons to speak of. There are standard things that most people would complain about when it comes to work, but there is nothing that stands out here as a "con".

    DONAN2019-03-01
  10. "Grade A-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Forensic Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DONAN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive pay, working from home, flexibility of when to write reports, company culture, salary plus ability to work more hours for more pay is great, the good company culture rubs off and everyone so far has been great. The training takes a month and its a steep learning curve. However, it was worth it. The pros certainly outweigh the cons.

    Cons

    Centralized schedule is a hit or miss. The way billable travel time is counted isn't the best for the engineer; highly depends on where you live and where the most projects tend to be. These are the only bad things which is not too bad.

    Advice to Management

    Management is good as it can be in my opinion.

    DONAN2019-03-01
Found 51 reviews