KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

DPS Telecom

Is this your company?

DPS Telecom

Add a Review

DPS Telecom Reviews

Updated May 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 of over 30 reviews

3.2
49%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
DPS Telecom President and CEO Bob Berry (no image)
Bob Berry
17 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    I have been working at DPS production for 15 years it been great .

    Nov 23, 2020 - Production Tester Assistant in Fresno, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The Monthly luncheon is great .The owner of the company comes in and gives us a update on whats going on with the company anything new that the world is going through and how it effects us as a team in DPS . The bonuses are great .Depending where you work at the dress code is casual ,for example production its casual at admin you have to dress up. Managers are great they help us succeed in what we are doing in are jobs and sometimes in our personal lives when we ask.

    Cons

    Well the only cons I know of is what I do to myself . I can not blame DPS if I do not come in ,have a bad attitude thats on me.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    A Fantastic, Fast-Paced Learning Experience - If That's What You Really Want

    Nov 9, 2020 - Marketing Manager in Fresno, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've worked at DPS for 14 years. In 2006, with $278 in my bank account and rent looming on the horizon, I responded to a newspaper ad looking for a "Techical Writer to write user manuals & promotional material" at an unnamed company. I called the number and scheduled an appointment. As it remains today, our interview process was rigorous then. I had turned off my cell phone to avoid disrespectful interruptions. After 5 hours of radio silence, my parents convinced themselves that their recent college graduate had been quickly rejected by DPS and was now wandering the streets in despair and refusing to answer incoming calls. In truth, I was taking a few computer-based tests and interviewing with multiple people. One manager was busy, so he gave me $20 to go get lunch for an hour (that was 7% of my net worth, remember!). I came back, had my last interview, and got an offer. The starting wage, as others have noted here, wasn't particularly thrilling. The printed Monster.com salary estimate I had brought with me (based largely on jobs in major metros where rents are 3x Fresno) started burning a hole in my pocket. I'm still not sure precisely what motivated me back then, but I accepted the offer. I started working for the Engineering Director writing user manuals and promo material. Later that month, I learned how to write and send our email newsletter. Having proved myself somewhat capable with HTML, I began updating pages on our website. To analyze web traffic, I learned SQL to query our database for information. To modify the website more deeply, I learned server-side scripting (PHP). My advancing web skills meant I could write internal reports for the various DPS departments (ex. how fast are orders being shipped?). Today, I think of myself as a "white blood cell". I go to where the problems are and whip things back into shape. I've learned how the water jet in our metal shop works, optimizing it to cut smoother and faster. I've worked on the SMT machines that put parts onto our circuit boards. I traveled to New York when a client was having trouble, knocked out their list of concerns, visited several other clients in the area, and flew back to California triumphantly. In summary, I now have an AMAZING set of skills for a resume that I hope I never need to update. My annual income is a combination of a base wage that was and will remain low, ample overtime hours, and quarterly bonuses that are now more than half of my total pay (that lofty Monster.com salary estimate would thoroughly disappoint me now). It's amazing what 13 years and a 4% employer match will do to your 401k balance. I've visited about 20 US states, plus Canada, to host trainings and visit DPS clients. That's a pretty wild leap for a kid who walked in the door with $278 to his name. If DPS is the right fit for you, it's an excellent experience. If you want to work hard, learn new things, and grow your skills, you'll get that from the very first day. Some people do that for a few months or a few years, taking everything they learned to wherever else they decide to go. Others, like me, make a career at DPS.

    Cons

    At DPS, our hiring process is rigorous. We run lots of tests and interviews to ensure you have a reasonable chance of success. Doing anything else wastes our time and yours. Once you start, we challenge you quickly to see if you'll keep moving forward when you encounter obstacles. Some people do, and many others don't. As a result of this high selectivity, the majority of people who interview at DPS are not hired. Of those who do start, a significant percentage decide that DPS is not for them within a few weeks. That, of course, means that there is a sizeable, motivated, and perfectly honest group of people who didn't really enjoy their interaction with DPS. As with most things, one person's cherished "pro" is another's lamented "con".

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Well Rounded

    Mar 17, 2020 - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I enjoy the culture at DPS Telecom. Generally, the managers are friendly and encouraging. Mr. Berry, the CEO, is eccentric and entertaining. The clients are kind and focused. The job never ends as you grow and develop in the company, your knowledge and skill set grows with the amount of time you spend in the company. There is positive reinforcement and the procedures in place for the different jobs are constantly under review in order to better help our employees and future employees.

    Cons

    There is some tension at times when sales are low, but the procedures are usually reviewed to changed how we do things. Don’t work here if you aren’t ready to actually put in effort.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great career

    Dec 22, 2019 - Accountant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are oppurtunities for advancement if you are looking, everyone knows each other, the managers are involved and willing to help you, the CEO is involved in the everyday operations and also with the employees, monthly company meetings that keep everyone on the same page with what is going on, over time is available. If you are willing to work hard and show initiative this is the place for you.

    Cons

    Low pay wage but opportunity for increase and also bonuses.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Have to be willing to invest in self

    Sep 4, 2019 - Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Promotion from within -If you are willing to work hard you can really move up in the Company -Low drama work enviroment -Ability to learn lots of skillsets if you ware willing to put in the effort -A degree or work history is not the only way you can prove that you can do the job you want. -"Put me in Coach meeting" Employees can seek guidance from management or key staff memebers in departments they want to move into and see what additional skillsets would be required to advance to that area they are interested in. -Monthly all hands meetings (managment speaks and there is food) -Self Developments classes lead by CEO of DPS -401K and Defined Benefit Plan (two retirement plans) -Free car washes -Bonuses for birthdays and work anniversaries

    Cons

    -Initial rate of pay is low, it does take a few months to get to market value. You have to make the investment into yourself -Everyone starts from an entry level position -Have to show up every day you are scheduled to come in, there are bonuses tied to attenance -You do have to push yourself if you want to advance, it is no cake-walk

    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Metal fabricator

    Jul 23, 2018 - Fabricator/Metal Shop in Fresno, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work, always some thing new to learn, this company has the leadership and culture to go so far! Fail fast guys!

    Cons

    I really have nothing bad to say.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    "I wake up every morning and enjoy going to work!"

    Feb 20, 2016 - Shipper/Receiver in Fresno, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked at DPS now for just about a year and honestly the people are a pleasure to work for and with. It's easy for me to say I enjoy both my job and the individuals I work with. It's fast paced quick learning and there's always seems to be challenge to overcome that becomes a learning experience for future reference. I like the fact tat I am apart of something that is created for a client and that they use on a daily basis. The CEO is the most down to earth boss I've ever had the opportunity to work for as well as the other managers. Some have said that they don't like them but if hey would do their job according to the SOP's that are provided their wouldn't be any issues. Its been an awesome experience thus far and look forward to staying for a while.

    Cons

    There really isn't much I can say thats a downfall to working at DPS. Like all people my opinions are my own and I do believe our metal shop could use some upgrades to be a little more efficient but besides that I found what I've finally been looking for and hopefully I'll be able to advance there soon.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great opportunity

    Nov 21, 2014 - Silk Screener in Fresno, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Owner very employee orientated.

    Cons

    Some managers are petty

    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company if your smart...

    Jul 16, 2019 - Front Desk in Fresno, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of room for growth, clearly everyone hired is fairly smart and feels much like a family.

    Cons

    Little notice when layed off and they have kids (teens) running departments, not a complete bad things but its lowers your moral since you know the younger ones will take your job.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Company to Learn A LOT

    Sep 10, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Fresno, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to learn as long as you have a thick skin, can welcome criticism and use it to improve your output, and are willing to work long hours. Generous 401k and benefits.

    Cons

    You will be likely not be recognized for hard work unless you have actual results that you are able to pitch effectively to the management team and CEO. If you can't sell your value as an employee with RESULTS, you likely won't stay long. (This is a crucial skill to have anywhere though, so really this is just a good place to make sure you got it...if you got it here, you are pretty much are golden anywhere.) The pay for management is based on company profits and the CEO's discretion. You won't get significant pay increases when you have been there a while and have worked your way up to management. The only guaranteed portion of your paycheck is your base wage which is ridiculously small for the market and the amount of work that will be expected of you. What they do to get around this for the people that they want to keep around is offer a management bonus based on the company profits and if the CEO likes you. Problem is that portion of your pay is in no way guaranteed. It's really a great way for the company to keep employees on their toes and be invested in the company's success, but if you don't feel like wagering your livelihood on what is hugely CEO's "gut" (how he thinks the economy is, how hard he thinks you are working, personal biasses, etc.) as well as some measurabble numbers like quarterly sales, you should probably plan on settling down long-term elsewhere. The CEO seems to thrive on butt-kissing. If you have some self-respect, you don't have to fall prey to kissing butt to move up, but you better have a grasp on what will or won't fly. You have to know what to and not to say. Dicernment and a civil tongue is a virtue anywhere you go, but in the presence of some of the petty audience you will inevitably be exposed to here, it is crucial to the opportunities you have here that you have an inordinate ammount of self-control at times. Keep your mind on your goal, and don't let a moment of indicretion in an imbecile-invoked fury ruin your path. Don't work unless you have a very specific goal in mind. Whether that goal is to work here long term and move up, or that goal is to learn as much as you can and get out: KNOW YOUR GOAL and work towards that ruthlessly every day. In order to accomplish either goal though, you will have to let management believe that you are there long term. They will not keep anyone there that they know is just using them as a stepping stool to bigger things.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews

Popular Careers with DPS Telecom Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at DPS Telecom? Share Your Experiences

DPS Telecom logo
or