KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

DPS Telecom

Is this your company?

DPS Telecom

Add a Review

DPS Telecom Reviews

Updated May 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 of over 30 reviews

3.2
49%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
DPS Telecom President and CEO Bob Berry (no image)
Bob Berry
17 Ratings
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Empty Promises

    May 16, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Fresno, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are lots of good ideas on how to build a great company culture and give employees opportunities to learn and grow. Lots of smart, hardworking people work here. I appreciate that they do their bests to part on good terms and if you really want to leave they send you the paperwork and cut you a check in good time. They don't attempt to punish you financially by withholding checks or refusing to sign paperwork.

    Cons

    I answered an ad for a writing job and got a telemarketing job just like all the other telemarketers that worked there. The promise is that if you work in that role for a period of time and use it to learn about the company, other opportunities will open up. The problem is turnover and because people get fired or quit at such a high rate there is never an opportunity to move up or move to a better role. As part of the onboarding, they had everyone take a personality test which categorizes each employee with a combination of two dominant colors. The CEO and everyone close to him have the same two dominant colors (I think it was red and green). If you were blue/yellow it was like you had AIDS in the 90s; people who are red/green can rationalize that your personality is not transmitted in any way that they need to be worried about but, the fear that it is still lingers and you can tell people are scared no matter how polite people try to be. The test is supposed to create a culture of awareness and sensitivity but instead creates an excuse to "other" people who actually are sensitive, creative, and intuitive over people who are direct, rational, decisive... The person who actually got the writing job that we all wanted was, of course, a red/green. To be fair, she had been working there for a while. She had performed well in a lot of different roles and what they were really hiring for was her replacement. Still certain red/greens all hung out and favored each other and lauded the virtues of the personality test that brought them together. It's a weird way to form a clique. All together with the personality test favoritism, high turnover rate, fake job listings and such it starts to feel like a trap. What kept me coming back to a job I didn't really want was the people. I liked them in all of their diverse color combinations. That experience was really precious to me. Most of the people I met seemed to be nice people, agreeable, polite, really smart, and interesting. There's always that one person, though, who works in another department, in another part of the building, that doesn't really need to cross my path, ever, who likes to gossip. That for me was too much. There are not enough selling points for this job to allow for a manager, of all people, to make it her DAILY order of business to march all over the property spreading gossip that nobody asked for.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    I have been working at DPS production for 15 years it been great .

    Nov 23, 2020 - Production Tester Assistant in Fresno, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The Monthly luncheon is great .The owner of the company comes in and gives us a update on whats going on with the company anything new that the world is going through and how it effects us as a team in DPS . The bonuses are great .Depending where you work at the dress code is casual ,for example production its casual at admin you have to dress up. Managers are great they help us succeed in what we are doing in are jobs and sometimes in our personal lives when we ask.

    Cons

    Well the only cons I know of is what I do to myself . I can not blame DPS if I do not come in ,have a bad attitude thats on me.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    A Fantastic, Fast-Paced Learning Experience - If That's What You Really Want

    Nov 9, 2020 - Marketing Manager in Fresno, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've worked at DPS for 14 years. In 2006, with $278 in my bank account and rent looming on the horizon, I responded to a newspaper ad looking for a "Techical Writer to write user manuals & promotional material" at an unnamed company. I called the number and scheduled an appointment. As it remains today, our interview process was rigorous then. I had turned off my cell phone to avoid disrespectful interruptions. After 5 hours of radio silence, my parents convinced themselves that their recent college graduate had been quickly rejected by DPS and was now wandering the streets in despair and refusing to answer incoming calls. In truth, I was taking a few computer-based tests and interviewing with multiple people. One manager was busy, so he gave me $20 to go get lunch for an hour (that was 7% of my net worth, remember!). I came back, had my last interview, and got an offer. The starting wage, as others have noted here, wasn't particularly thrilling. The printed Monster.com salary estimate I had brought with me (based largely on jobs in major metros where rents are 3x Fresno) started burning a hole in my pocket. I'm still not sure precisely what motivated me back then, but I accepted the offer. I started working for the Engineering Director writing user manuals and promo material. Later that month, I learned how to write and send our email newsletter. Having proved myself somewhat capable with HTML, I began updating pages on our website. To analyze web traffic, I learned SQL to query our database for information. To modify the website more deeply, I learned server-side scripting (PHP). My advancing web skills meant I could write internal reports for the various DPS departments (ex. how fast are orders being shipped?). Today, I think of myself as a "white blood cell". I go to where the problems are and whip things back into shape. I've learned how the water jet in our metal shop works, optimizing it to cut smoother and faster. I've worked on the SMT machines that put parts onto our circuit boards. I traveled to New York when a client was having trouble, knocked out their list of concerns, visited several other clients in the area, and flew back to California triumphantly. In summary, I now have an AMAZING set of skills for a resume that I hope I never need to update. My annual income is a combination of a base wage that was and will remain low, ample overtime hours, and quarterly bonuses that are now more than half of my total pay (that lofty Monster.com salary estimate would thoroughly disappoint me now). It's amazing what 13 years and a 4% employer match will do to your 401k balance. I've visited about 20 US states, plus Canada, to host trainings and visit DPS clients. That's a pretty wild leap for a kid who walked in the door with $278 to his name. If DPS is the right fit for you, it's an excellent experience. If you want to work hard, learn new things, and grow your skills, you'll get that from the very first day. Some people do that for a few months or a few years, taking everything they learned to wherever else they decide to go. Others, like me, make a career at DPS.

    Cons

    At DPS, our hiring process is rigorous. We run lots of tests and interviews to ensure you have a reasonable chance of success. Doing anything else wastes our time and yours. Once you start, we challenge you quickly to see if you'll keep moving forward when you encounter obstacles. Some people do, and many others don't. As a result of this high selectivity, the majority of people who interview at DPS are not hired. Of those who do start, a significant percentage decide that DPS is not for them within a few weeks. That, of course, means that there is a sizeable, motivated, and perfectly honest group of people who didn't really enjoy their interaction with DPS. As with most things, one person's cherished "pro" is another's lamented "con".

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee

    It's fine

    Oct 5, 2020 - Marketing Writer in Fresno, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's an ok place to work.

    Cons

    No life with you want bonuses

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Complete Disregard for Safety

    Aug 26, 2020 - Junior Embedded Software Engineer in Fresno, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Luncheon was good. Many of the employees and supervisors were amazing people to work with.

    Cons

    A complete disregard of safety for newer employees. Tricking new employees into doing free work on their own time.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    You get what you put in, but it takes time

    Aug 22, 2020 - Software Engineer in Fresno, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You'll have a lot of chances to work on interesting projects, and traveling is pretty fun. Everyone is pretty receptive to teaching people new things, and they're all very friendly.

    Cons

    Keeping legacy compatibility feels like barrier to newer things. Your responsibilities are also not centered purely on engineering. If you don't feel comfortable talking to clients and managers on a near daily basis, you're not going to enjoy this job. The entire company is super conservative, can be a pro or con depending on the person.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Well Rounded

    Mar 17, 2020 - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I enjoy the culture at DPS Telecom. Generally, the managers are friendly and encouraging. Mr. Berry, the CEO, is eccentric and entertaining. The clients are kind and focused. The job never ends as you grow and develop in the company, your knowledge and skill set grows with the amount of time you spend in the company. There is positive reinforcement and the procedures in place for the different jobs are constantly under review in order to better help our employees and future employees.

    Cons

    There is some tension at times when sales are low, but the procedures are usually reviewed to changed how we do things. Don’t work here if you aren’t ready to actually put in effort.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee

    A mystery...

    Feb 3, 2020 - Office in Fresno, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice interviewer. She was accepting and understanding

    Cons

    The IQ test was... unorthodox

    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Customer Service - Back Office

    Jan 3, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It’s a paycheck and there about it.

    Cons

    Everything about this place is a con. It’s harder than a job at McDonald’s but the pay is actually less. They prey upon everyone. Once you are of no value then you are tossed away like nothing. They are very stats oriented. If you don’t live up to the stat they believe you should be then you will be terminated. Keep looking. It’s a waste of time and it won’t be a perm job.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great career

    Dec 22, 2019 - Accountant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are oppurtunities for advancement if you are looking, everyone knows each other, the managers are involved and willing to help you, the CEO is involved in the everyday operations and also with the employees, monthly company meetings that keep everyone on the same page with what is going on, over time is available. If you are willing to work hard and show initiative this is the place for you.

    Cons

    Low pay wage but opportunity for increase and also bonuses.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews

Popular Careers with DPS Telecom Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at DPS Telecom? Share Your Experiences

DPS Telecom logo
or