DS Services of America Route Operations Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

DS Services of America Route Operations Manager Reviews

Updated Mar 4, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

1.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
2%
Recommend to a Friend
3%
Approve of CEO
Tom Harrington
5 Ratings
  1. "A great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Route Operations Manager in Milpitas, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DS Services of America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people, the customers, the operation.

    Cons

    I really didn't have any. I was however not happy with the way my employment came to an end. It was my belief that my hard work and talents were noticed but it did not have anything to do with me keepng my job.

    Advice to Management

    Hang on tigher to your best people.

    DS Services of America2014-02-16
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Underpaid for the amount of hours worked."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Route Operations Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DS Services of America

    Pros

    Working with the Driver , and the positive daily interaction with employees.

    Cons

    Long hours for Management , and the ability to retain quality employees.

    Advice to Management

    Treat all Management the same , and don't show favoritism . Don't promote people to Management because you are desperate .

    DS Services of America2016-03-05
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Company soon going to hit Rock Bottom"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Route Operations Manager in Van Nuys, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DS Services of America full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very grateful for the opportunity to be developed as a ROM here. My team that I directed made it easy to do my job daily. Getting out in the field to meet customers can be rewarding. Seeing your team succeed.

    Cons

    However, to many fellow managers who love to stab you in the back due to jealousy, and their own non people skills. Too many butt kissers, not enough support for the real backbones of the company. The route drivers deserve more salary wage increases.

    Advice to Management

    Stop getting rid of good people and not just keeping the YES guys. Especially those who never carried water.

    DS Services of America2015-04-07
  4. Helpful (4)

    "24 Year Employee - Position "Eliminated""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Route Operations Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DS Services of America full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Most employees are great people. The company is stable and should continue to maintain its market share.

    Cons

    12+ hour days. Underappreciated. Always asked to do more. Advancement opportunities were rare. Technology was behind, decisions were slow to be approved.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of the people that earn your salary on their backs. They don't need to become rich, just respected. Senior management needs to come down from the ivory tower once in a while and talk to the frontline associates.

    DS Services of America2014-04-04
  5. Helpful (4)

    "This company is ran like a Chinese sweat shop. Never worked for a more greedy company in my life."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Route Operations Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at DS Services of America full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    there use to be a lot now there are none with current leadership from the top down to midlevel

    Cons

    The CEO to Division and Region Mgrs only care about one thing and that's the water bottle. They never plan for any major event before jumping in. They put the burden on the backs of the RM's and route guys. The do not want you to have a live outside of DS. Be prepared to work whenever when your behind. First level managers expect a 60+ hour work week.

    Advice to Management

    You have lost sight of who is making you the money! Your RSR's and Route Manager are working harder and longer than anyone else while mid to senior level mgrs. watch. You also continue to make acquisitions of other companies instead of rewarding the hard work done by the troops on the ground. Everyone is fed up with this mindset and you may find yourself with no one left.

    DS Services of America2014-02-12
  6. "Good Company, fast paced environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Route Operations Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommends

    I have been working at DS Services of America

    Pros

    Management helps you with good feedback. Plenty of independence. Bonuses were attainable. I would recommend anyone working here as it is a very good environment.

    Cons

    The hours are longer than most jobs. You will be expected to talk with every employee every day about there performance.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the employees motivated through training and goal setting. Match employees to their abilities in certain situations. Keep staffing as a top priority.

    DS Services of America2011-04-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "DS Waters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Route Operations Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DS Services of America

    Pros

    You can learn a lot because you are responsible for everything with very little support

    Cons

    Discrimination - Higher level management get the credit for hard working individuals and then wash their hands clean when something goes wrong and points fingers at innocent people.

    Advice to Management

    Be more involved with the first level of management. Area Managers and above are politicians that do not contribute much but take the credit of hard working Field Managers that dont get the recognition.

    DS Services of America2010-05-10
Found 7 reviews