DS Services of America Route Sales Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

DS Services of America Route Sales Representative Reviews

Updated Apr 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
21%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Tom Harrington
11 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Wish I would of never left."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Route Sales Representative in Manteca, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DS Services of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay was great for being “water boys”. The hours are good as well, I was fortunate and had a good route with a lot of 2pm end times. My customers were amazing. iPhones were provided to keep in contact with customers and key in product. No weekends unless you wanted some OT on a Saturday. You WILL get your steps in.

    Cons

    Working in the rain in winter sucked. On heavier stop days, your body would be beat.

    Advice to Management

    Management at the Manteca branch was great. Always willing to help.

    DS Services of America2019-01-20
  2. "Job was great but management sucked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Route Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DS Services of America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay was good. The customers made the day so much easier til the company scrwwed them over in numbers.

    Cons

    Poor management no training Management too scared to deal with customers they screwed over but no problem treating you like a child.

    Advice to Management

    Give up yall screw too many customers and employees over.

    DS Services of America2019-04-13
  3. "Good pay very physically demanding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RSR Route Sales Representative in El Paso, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DS Services of America full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits Monday thru Friday

    Cons

    Poor management too much favoritism. Force selling to accounts. Don’t know how to treat their employees. Always threats of getting someone else to do our job if we can’t do it. Always telling us that if we don’t want to do our job to just leave. Paying employees for not delivering their load. Meaning, it was delivered by someone else rather than the person getting paid for it.

    Advice to Management

    Get retraining on how to treat people without threats of loosing our jobs. Be fair and do away with favoritism

    DS Services of America2019-01-27
  4. Helpful (2)

    "RSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - RSR Route Sales Representative in Fort Lauderdale, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at DS Services of America full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      This place is run by clowns. They aquire companies and lose their business almost immediately. They don't get customer service at all. They are greedy and don't care about the people who work for them or their customers. This is why I left not too long ago. Karma will always get ya...here it comes Tom Harrington, CEO-DS Services you chump.

      Cons

      Idiot upper management giving idiot management demands on how to run this business. They get rid of anyone who knows anything about the business or they leave because this place sucks. So all that is left are idiot wannabes. You guys will lose business daily forever, because that's who you are. Losers.

      Advice to Management

      Get rid of yourselves or hire someone to do your job. None of you are worth a crap...you know it, I know it and everyone else knows it. Now beat it!

      DS Services of America2017-09-13
    • Helpful (1)

      "Route Drivet"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Route Sales Representative in Philadelphia, PA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at DS Services of America full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good pay and good benifits

      Cons

      Management are always moody! Not enough training! No communication

      Advice to Management

      Better communication and better humor!

      DS Services of America2017-08-29
    • Helpful (2)

      "Failing miserably on many levels"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Route Sales Representative in Kent, WA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at DS Services of America full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Your truck is your office, Weekly pay, nice starting wage, paid to earn class B CDL, stress free environment (no accountability),

      Cons

      Piss-poor and disconnected management at every level, fleet is embarrassing, staffing, holiday delivery scheduling, everything related to current operating systems.

      Advice to Management

      Management needs to step their game up to the level of your expectations of others. NW Region is extremely unqualified. In fact, clueless is a more applicable term. This region currently has the equivalent of a substitute PE teacher in charge of your entire operation. It is an absolute joke.

      DS Services of America2016-10-27
    • Helpful (3)

      "Overworked and Under appreciated"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - RSR Route Sales Representative in San Diego, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at DS Services of America full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Money money money If you stay on top of things managers leave alone

      Cons

      Long hours Heavy lifting Old trucks with no a/c Some have no radios Handheld computers are garbage

      Advice to Management

      Make your employees happy and your customers will be happy

      DS Services of America2016-08-30
    • Helpful (1)

      "Okay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Route Sales Representative in Mableton, GA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at DS Services of America full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      It was a job that helped paid the Bills. Also I always got paid when I Was suppose to be paid.

      Cons

      Not the job I wanted, a lot look of hard work. They always wanted more and more but no reward ( bonuses).

      Advice to Management

      Listen

      DS Services of America2016-05-07
    • Helpful (4)

      "Troubling"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - RSR Route Sales Representative in Philadelphia, PA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at DS Services of America full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      It's a job! Good hours! Workmates are cool!! See different people thru out the day! Weekends off. Location of branch.

      Cons

      Upper management doesn't have a clue! A lot of discrimination going on and then swept under the rug! No accountability for managers. But put a lot of pressure on rsr's!!! Try to tell you how to do your job but they can't even do it!!

      Advice to Management

      Start being fair or you will have a lot of legal problems coming your way!

      DS Services of America2016-01-22
    • "Route Sales Representative"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Route Sales Representative in Sacramento, CA
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at DS Services of America for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Independent working environment with unlimited earning potential

      Cons

      Lack of leadership at the Route Manager and Branch Manager levels

      DS Services of America2015-09-01
    Found 21 reviews