DST Output Reviews | Glassdoor

DST Output Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 78 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Steve Towle
36 Ratings
  1. "Manager (Former Employee)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DST Output full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Best company ever!! I worked DST for 5 years and was not disappointed. I would have continued to work there but my family relocated and I had to resign. Excellent benefits, excellent sick and vacation accruals. Career advancement was not a problem for me and I was challenged to do my best work every day.

    Cons

    Can't think of any that don't exist at any company.

    Continue reading
    DST Output2013-08-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "An over stayed employment at the labor camp... Trapped and should have left much earlier."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DST Output full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great training options & benefits.

    Cons

    Short staffed, over worked, antiquated systems, morale is low. Many colleagues compare it to loosing your soul.

    Continue reading
    DST Output2013-06-15
  3. "Fair company to work for, but not as good as in the past"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in El Dorado Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DST Output full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flex-able work schedule, but depends much on the manager. Advancement opportunities good. The people there are very dedicated and work hard.

    Cons

    Changes direction too often in my view. I had a new manager every year for 10 years. They are competing in an industry that is very competitive. Moral in recent years has declined.

    Continue reading
    DST Output2013-04-18
  4. "machine operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at DST Output

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers. Good benefits. Great location

    Cons

    excessive work hours, no opportunity for growth

    Continue reading
    DST Output2013-04-05
  5. "Can't go anywhere in the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at DST Output full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work environment, fantastic atmosphere, flexible scheduling, good people to work with.

    Cons

    DST Output has been on a hiring/promoting freeze for what seems like three years now (at least in my department). There is essentially a glass ceiling on most employees unless you're friends with management. Also, no matter how well your annual performance review is, you get the same raise as everyone else, which is insignificant.

    Continue reading
    DST Output2013-04-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good salary, Good people (excluding management), Poor moral"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrator in El Dorado Hills, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DST Output full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary, and the non management associates were a pleasure to work with.

    Cons

    No reason to go above and beyond, Management didn't follow its own processes.

    Continue reading
    DST Output2012-09-09
  7. "Positives shadowed by negatives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in South Windsor, CT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at DST Output full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great personnel, laid-back employees, steady work. Very good benefits, great vacation time for long-time employees.

    Cons

    Upper management keeps employees in the dark when things get tough, management styles can run the gamut between quiet detachment and fearful panic. Training is readily available if you're a supervisor or above. Tuition reimbursement seems geared towards 2 year colleges DST has deals with rather than the established state university that they don't have a deal with.

    Continue reading
    DST Output2012-09-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "DST Output"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in El Dorado Hills, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DST Output full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    DST Output is a very interesting and dynamic enviornment. It's a mix of professional staff and factory workers. There are many positions at DST and it's a great place to gain experience. It's located outside of Sacramento in a country enviornment.

    Cons

    DST Output was once a great place to work. Prior to the merger with DST this was a great company to work for. Managers cared for their employees and there was a lot of opportunities. The management from the Kansas City office began dictating policy to the El Dorado Hills campus which had always been inovative and a trend setter for new technologies and methodologies. In addition to some of these poor management changes, DST Output began outsourcing technical staff to Bangkok. This resulted in hundreds of employees losing their jobs. Many of the layoffs were people that had worked at DST Output for over 10 years.

    Continue reading
    DST Output2012-07-18
  9. "good company overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Manager in South Windsor, CT
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DST Output

    Pros

    they have the best people working here

    Cons

    the hours can be very long

    Continue reading
    DST Output2012-02-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Could have had great potential, but very poorly managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DST Output

    Pros

    Good vacation time, especially after ten or more years there. Great, bright employees overall but ham-strained by management.

    Cons

    Greedy, ineffective, short-sighted, self-inflated management. No training program for employees to better themselves and thier performance for the company, not that the company would acknowledge or reward it. Employees given projects with unrealistic deadlines and sub-par tools to accomplish the task with. Insultingly low 'merit' increases and bonuses if at all. Management has a keen lack of insight to the business climate as a whole, instead, focusing on knee-jerk and short-sighted quick-fixes to long-term problems.

    Continue reading
    DST Output2012-02-26
Found 78 reviews