DTE Energy "detroit" Reviews | Glassdoor

DTE Energy Employee Reviews about "detroit"

Updated Feb 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
79%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
DTE Energy CEO Jerry Norcia
Jerry Norcia
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good experience depending on your manager, and good pay(in 35 reviews)

  • "Pay, work environment, supervision(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "Traffic coming from Downtown Detroit(in 17 reviews)

  • "there were no cons in my opinion everyone was nice(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "detroit"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Senior Project Engineer 

    I have been working at DTE Energy for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Manager and Co-workers. All around good environment

    Cons

    Traffic coming from Downtown Detroit

    DTE Energy2020-02-19
  2. "Great Place to Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern - Hourly 

    I worked at DTE Energy

    Pros

    Great company culture, FTE's want you to learn, great learning experience, they actually give you meaningful work to do

    Cons

    Really no big ones besides traffic in Detroit

    DTE Energy2019-10-13
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - SBA in Detroit, MI
    Recommends

    I worked at DTE Energy full-time

    Pros

    Positive work culture, great people, management actually cares about their employees, stable industry, good work life balance in most units, opportunities to rotate and try new units

    Cons

    not always as competitive in terms of salary/vacation for young professionals compared to other big companies in Detroit, but it is made up for with the good culture/life balance

    DTE Energy2019-08-28
  4. Helpful (5)

    "A dark and decpetive place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DTE Energy full-time

    Pros

    Leaving this company was a new lease on life! I finally got my personal time back and balance in my family life. This company and its management slowly suck the life out of its employees.

    Cons

    Very poor senior leadership; way too political and lazy! The company and CEO takes pride in telling investors that it "tensions" its employees. This is code for "we load people up with work and maximize what we get from them until they are on the edge - or tensioned" I was disgusted the first time I heard him say this. That was the day I knew I had to leave this company! Candidates beware! You will be forced to work on your own time without pay doing Public Safety duty during power outages. Nobody told me when I joined the company that I would have to basically be a police officer on the streets of Detroit when the power is out. Again, no pay for the many times a year this is required and a very dangerous job! With all the money DTE makes, they can afford the hire a battalion of officers to perform Public Safety every time there is a storm.

    Continue reading
    DTE Energy2017-08-16
  5. "Major Enterprise Project co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at DTE Energy

    Pros

    Great company to work for, offers alot of opportunity for students

    Cons

    Pure office work can get tedious at time, Detroit can be tough to get around.

    DTE Energy2017-02-07
  6. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at DTE Energy

    Pros

    DTE had Good pay Most of the employees were kind and willing to help.

    Cons

    Never really got to meet interns during work hours. They had after hour events, but it was more of interns from Detroit than interns of DTE.

    Continue reading
    DTE Energy2017-02-05
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Student Co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Co-Op in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DTE Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay for a student. Overtime pay during wide spread power outages. When working on "storm" duty, all three meals are paid for along with snacks.

    Cons

    It can be hard to stand out among a crowd of interns. Location is in Detroit, which can be hard to commute during sports games

    Continue reading
    DTE Energy2016-11-03
  8. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DTE Energy

    Pros

    DTE Energy is an amazing organization that is driving the industry and fueling Detroit's revitalization. Not only is the pay great, but the opportunities are abundant. No matter your role, you can be a part of great teams to broaden your professional experience. I have LOVED my experience at DTE so far, and I have been here since May. You will definitely grow.

    Cons

    There really are no cons to working at DTE Energy. The only one is the commute. If you do not live in or right around Detroit, the traffic can be a big pain.

    Continue reading
    DTE Energy2016-08-21
  9. "Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Engineering Co-Op in Detroit, MI
    Recommends

    I worked at DTE Energy

    Pros

    Interesting work environment. Getting out into the power plants is fun.

    Cons

    Headquarters are located in downtown Detroit. This means you have to deal with city traffic jams.

    DTE Energy2016-02-16
  10. "Scheduling and Coordination Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Scheduling and Planning Analyst in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DTE Energy for less than a year

    Pros

    People, co-workers and management taught me the skills needed to succeed and learn.

    Cons

    I do not reside in Detroit, hence not good for me. If I did reside in Detroit this would get 5Star

    Continue reading
    DTE Energy2016-01-02

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 17 reviews