DXC Technology Software Developer Reviews | Glassdoor

DXC Technology Software Developer Reviews

Updated 12 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 101 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
DXC Technology CEO Mike Salvino
Mike Salvino
0 Ratings
  1. "Software Developer I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Developer in El Paso, TX

    I have been working at DXC Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to work on challenging tasks.

    Cons

    Pay is not great.

    DXC Technology2019-06-05
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Spin-Merger Done Wrong"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DXC Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The ability to work from home was the greatest part about DXC.

    Cons

    No company culture. No sense of unification amongst teams. Very heavily relied on existing CSC procedures/services after merging with another, very large, company. Not many attempts were made to bridge the gap between the two organizations, one was just thrown at the other and told to stick. Senior Management doesn't have great visibility into day-to-day operations of their teams, so they make sweeping... decisions without understanding impact. Only time I ever got insight into what I was specifically working on was when I was asked to put out a fire related to satisfying an client contract we had already committed to. Not making use of their local teams to develop interesting, cutting-edge tech. After a team or individual has accomplished their core task/project, they are generally let go and replaced with a cheaper 'Best Shore' alternative who will attempt the post-development support a product needs. Not great for those remaining, because they must teach the new employee something another already knew, and they must work with timezone differences. etc.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I understand that this is, at core, an outsourcing company, but you need to actually care about your local teams/employees. They are the ones who will determine whether you succeed or fail. They are the ones who will want to be tied to something they can impact and drive. Taking this sense of control away from your employees - taking the ability to make any impact away - will make everyone stagnant.

    DXC Technology2019-09-12
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Nothing good to say about this company..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DXC Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nothing other than I was made aware of what I don't want in future jobs

    Cons

    In the time that I worked for this company, everything continually got worse. There are no raises or bonuses and haven't been for quite a long time. Oddly enough, they can somehow "find" money to throw at you when you give notice of resignation . The healthcare benefits are awful because the bulk of the costs have been placed upon the employees. They advertise work-life balance, but that could not be further from... the truth. In order to make unrealistic deadlines, you will end up working nights and weekends. Performance reviews are a joke because even if you exceed in all areas/goals, there are still no raises or bonuses. I worked with a lot of smart and talented people, but the overall morale is low because employees are not valued whatsoever. This company will take advantage and suck the life out of you. I regret the time I worked at DXC because I feel like I wasted my talent and time with family for absolutely nothing other than a mediocre paycheck. My advice to anyone considering employment at DXC is to stay far away. Regardless of your current situation, you can find something better. It may be easy to get hired at DXC, but there are reasons for that...

    Show More
    DXC Technology2019-08-12
  4. "Great work ambient company not caring for employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in El Paso, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DXC Technology full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I had a great time with collaborative team members and positive work ambient. Everybody committed to get things done.

    Cons

    Company cuts positions without looking any other open vacancies. also no growth path is offered

    DXC Technology2019-06-14
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Laid off - WFR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DXC Technology full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Remote assignments; supported with a current laptop

    Cons

    Lack of knowledge transfer; small teams that lacked depth of technical issues

    DXC Technology2019-05-31
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Only work here while looking for a better job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DXC Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are not any pros.

    Cons

    No raises, low pay, , layoffs everywhere, doing the work of several people because of layoffs.

    Advice to Management

    Stop laying the people with experience off and replacing them with less experienced people.

    DXC Technology2019-07-07
  7. "Current Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in El Paso, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DXC Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible as long you deliver, rewarding and plenty of opportunity for growth. Very team oriented.

    Cons

    Working for DXC can be extremely challenging at times. DXC employees are required to get out of their comfort zone on a regular basis. There are often tight deadlines.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on culture and hiring the best and brightest team members. That is your secret sauce that can't be replicated by any competitor.

    DXC Technology2019-05-17
  8. "Getting better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DXC Technology full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Merging from many direction has been tough, but things are getting better

    Cons

    Feels like it's too big to make a difference

    Advice to Management

    Culture should be number one!

    DXC Technology2019-04-25
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Not what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at DXC Technology full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule. "Unlimited" vacation. You get paid on time

    Cons

    No career path development. The employees are not even part of the company values. Constant fear of layoffs. Constant fear of lack of demand for you

    Advice to Management

    Put it together, if you are going to reduce costs, at least make it right and follow it up to completion with better planning.

    DXC Technology2019-04-26
  10. "Good place to work but needs modernizing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in El Paso, TX
    Recommends

    I have been working at DXC Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work hours and vacation

    Cons

    Slow paced, uses old technologies

    DXC Technology2019-03-14
Found 101 reviews