DXL Group Reviews | Glassdoor

DXL Group Reviews

Updated Jun 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 332 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
24%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Harvey S. Kanter
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "Customers are great and they like to interact with you(in 24 reviews)

  • "Great people, good hours, good training program, would recommend(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "seems as if upper management does not care about the employees(in 39 reviews)

  • "Casual Males are turning into DXL's so if you inherit any Casual Male employees into a DXL 90% of the time they are disgruntled(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best in the in the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DXL Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Transparent from the top down and the bottom up. David Levin and Brian Reeves are passionate about their entire team and the guest experience. I have complete ownership of my four walls and can not imagine working somewhere else.

    Cons

    mid level technology currently but adding new systems frequently.

    Advice to Management

    continue in your passionate mission. We are BoBB.

    DXL Group2017-07-15
  2. "Its a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Holder 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DXL Group full-time

    Pros

    Love customer interaction No crazy holiday hours

    Cons

    Opportunity for growth limited Experience and talent is overlooked Management lacks the skill to manage or to develop functional teams with the skills and tools to be successful

    Advice to Management

    Find ways to show more appreciation to employees and ways to motivate them, does not have to be monetary, i.e. an extra jean day or casual day that is not attached to giving to a charity or even a christmas card during the holidays.

    DXL Group2019-05-12
  3. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandise Coordinator in Chandler, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DXL Group

    Pros

    Good benefits, pay, co workers and management

    Cons

    The hours can be difficult and working weekends

    Advice to Management

    More

    DXL Group2019-05-03

    DXL Group Response

    May 15, 2019Talent Management

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience . If you have any further feedback to share please email us at DXLGRecruiting@dxlg.com.

  4. "Quickly losing steam"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at DXL Group full-time

      Pros

      1pm dismissal on Friday is about it...

      Cons

      Benefits are severely lacking compared to competitors, be prepared to shell out $$$ to go see your doctor. Culture is severely lacking, everyone is running in their own directions with no consistency or trust between departments. It's a big competition where only the business as a whole will lose. Questionable personnel decisions -- Everyone "at the top" has been here forever, which provides zero advancement opportunity....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Seriously look at the experience from all phases of the organization. Everyone should be treated equally. When a member of senior leadership has a speech where he says "even down to the people in the DC", you just made those people feel like scum.

      DXL Group2019-06-07
    • "Too many changes at the top"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at DXL Group full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great people to work with

      Cons

      Senior Management is lousy and disorganized

      DXL Group2019-05-02
    • "Senior Vice President"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Canton, MA
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at DXL Group full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Considerate company. Good environment with solid management oversight.

      Cons

      Board is too involved in the business. Non retailers.

      Advice to Management

      Allow new CEO an opportunity to imprint the company. Less Board control and focus on little wins.

      DXL Group2019-04-28
    • "Awful Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Key Holder 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at DXL Group full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great Customers Holiday pay and vacation time

      Cons

      Corporate Management constantly adds more pressure to employees. Never feel good about job done Often feels like Management doesnt care about employees Many many 12 hour days. No personal life due to so many 12 hour days Low pay/ commission percentages awful Benefits are poor Understaffed

      Advice to Management

      Stop making everyone feel like they arent good enough all the time.

      DXL Group2019-06-01
    • "Excellent work environment...#WeAreDXL!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Canton, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at DXL Group full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Great people, team oriented! Take your dog to work on Fridays and get out early in the summer, what's better than that!

      Cons

      Really can't think of any....

      DXL Group2019-04-23
    • "As a job, simple and easy - Result though is inability to increase pay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Guest Service Associate in Oxnard, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at DXL Group part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Simple Good environment One would be able to enjoy the work experience

      Cons

      Pay - Several years of dedication and continuously ensuring I provide value to the business without a pay raise.

      DXL Group2019-04-19
    • "Store Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Retail Store Manager in Springfield, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at DXL Group full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The customer are amazing and love to be helped if they only new the conditions we worked in not safe.

      Cons

      You have to work under very dangerous conditions left to run a large store alone on time it’s all about make the company money not about the clients and forget about the employees our work life balance.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your employees and stop changing upper corporate people every other month we’re is the problem and get rid of commission You try to live on pennies and come in and service clients. And work open to close .

      DXL Group2019-05-13

      DXL Group Response

      May 15, 2019Talent Management

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We take this very seriously and would like to hear more. Please email us at DXLGRecruiting@dxlg.com.

    Found 332 reviews