DaVita "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

DaVita Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Jan 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
DaVita CEO Javier Rodriguez
Javier Rodriguez
108 Ratings
Pros
  • "The core values of the company are extremely important and they do their best to live by them(in 148 reviews)

  • "great work life balance and great culture(in 91 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "It is still Dialysis"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ccht in Evans, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DaVita full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Ratio of 4:1 is a good management amount. Working four days a week. Our manager is very knowledgeable and approachable for information. She truly cares for the clinic.

    Cons

    Long hours, 14 hour days sometimes

    Continue reading
    DaVita2019-11-14
  2. "Good benefits low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dialysis Technician in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DaVita full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits scholarship of 25k to go to nursing school

    Cons

    Low pay and long hours

    DaVita2020-01-06
  3. "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Care Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DaVita full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Many Locations around the world

    Cons

    Rather not say to much but will say somr cons are the long hours, stressful turn-overs and lack of appreciation.

    Continue reading
    DaVita2019-12-29
  4. "Great opportunity to gain experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Care Technician in Renton, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DaVita full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    DaVita really stands behind their core values. The teammates are friendly and welcoming in the beginning. Continuous improvement is one of my favorite core values, as the company gives plenty of feedback regarding work performance and etc. DaVita does make it their mission to provide the best care the world has ever seen. Also they do annual events to get teammates together to have some fun (bowling, etc.).

    Cons

    I believe that there could be a better work life balance as PCTs are expected to work long hours. Compensation is pretty fair, however, you might have to work a lot of overtime just to make ends meet. Other facilities in the area are always in need of PCT coverage. You will see that there tends to be a lot of drama in various DaVita facilities between teammates. My advice would be to keep to yourself and remain professional at all times. Don't converse confidential information to teammates as they will not keep your personal life confidential. Most of the patients are nice but there are some that are somewhat difficult to work with. Also beware of some of the nurses who may try to insult new PCTs or make them feel stupid. DaVita tends to praise their nurses and not give much recognition to their PCTs, unless you have a manager that deeply cares and understands what it is like to be a pct. Hence, manager has former pct background. Teammates tend to form cliques/social groups. They gossip a lot. Expect call outs from teammates in some facilities.

    Continue reading
    DaVita2019-12-25
  5. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse 

    I have been working at DaVita full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, encourage education advancement.

    Cons

    Early mornings, long hours, hard work.

    DaVita2019-12-04
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Severely Overworked For What It Was Worth!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Social Worker in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DaVita full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only good thing said about working with this company were the teammates at the clinic I was located at. The health care experience in a dialysis setting can translate anywhere as well! Honestly didn't complain much about salary but living in a high cost of living area, it does make a difference in how much you are paid.

    Cons

    The challenge was the caseload as a social worker--expected to work with over 150+ plus patients is madness! Burnt out so quickly even when I asked for help I never received it just to manage the workload (assessments, KDQOLs, PHQs, case management work, patient complaints/behavioral conflicts, interim Admin Assistant work and more! Felt like the work of 3-4 peoplewas being done for 1 person!) Even the local hospitals don't kill you with the workload! Frankly work/life balance was non-existent as there were phone calls even on days off and before/after work hours from teammates/management (worked over 40 hours a week just to clean up the mess left by previous workers!) PTO was frankly terrible as they lump sick time, PTO and holidays which were taken out of your total balance and if you did not have enough time you did not receive your regular pay. What people to quit was the disrespect from the management and a side note, in previous pulse surveys, there was mention stopping the hiring of FAs from Target and Best Buy when they should get someone with direct clinical experience or health care experience (SW, RD, RN, MPH, MHA, PA, NP for examples!) Management was condesending, insulting and gaslighting teammates which made you question your own intergrity and sanity. The higher ups take things too personal when someone leaves as they strong arm you to stay even though a resignation is given. The pay /raises are crap, the workload is unbearable and frankly nothing will change. A bunch of empty promises and people being full of crap/super phony to work for non-competitive pay! Felt so insulted when notice was put in that coming back to the company will never happen even if given $1 million dollars. How stupid do you take people for!? Feeling bad for the people who stay for their teammates/friends and are taken advantage of working long hours for garbage pay! The clinic was so toxic as it was run so horribly by management I had to get out! Even the patients complained about management! The work will break you and if it wasn't for the horrible management, I definitely would have lasted longer! Not worth the money or stress!

    Continue reading
    DaVita2019-11-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Tough work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Care Technician 

    I have been working at DaVita full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Basic benefits, PTO, Accommodating Manager

    Cons

    Low pay, Long hours, Stressful

    DaVita2019-11-20
  8. "Fast paced environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Staff RN 

    I have been working at DaVita full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, team oriented environment

    Cons

    Long hours, oftentimes too fast paced

    DaVita2019-10-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Valuable experience, difficult work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Dialysis Tech 

    I worked at DaVita full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great way to get valuable healthcare experience for pre-nursing or pre-med students; you will be hands-on very quickly

    Cons

    Long hours, low pay, high stress and terrible staffing ratios in many clinics

    DaVita2019-10-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RnD Engineer in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DaVita full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Well paying Career advancement opportunities

    Cons

    Long hours Understaffed Can be very stressful at times

    DaVita2019-09-25
Found 159 reviews