Daemen College Reviews | Glassdoor

Daemen College Reviews

Updated May 11, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Martin J. Anisman
3 Ratings
  1. "academic coach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Academic Coach in Buffalo, NY
      Recommends

      I worked at Daemen College part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexible hours and I made my schedule

      Cons

      Must be a student for this position

      Advice to Management

      n/a

      Daemen College2017-03-28
    • Helpful (3)

      "tried to be positive but everyone frustrated"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Daemen College full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      benefits and holiday time good

      Cons

      departments hire/promote their friends vs. qualified people for positions. No one to turn to for assistance - always excuses and mgmt defending actions. staff very frustrated at work load - very disorganized. If you disagree with something you are marked. Too many Chiefs and unqualified directors

      Advice to Management

      capitalize on your strengths and admit your weaknesses.

      Daemen College2018-05-11
    • Helpful (5)

      "Lousy Place To Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Administrative Secretary in Amherst, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Daemen College full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The days off and the benefits.

      Cons

      The horrible pay and the self-centered egotistical staff members.

      Advice to Management

      Hire staff that believes in TEAM work, not self-centered, arrogant staff.

      Daemen College2017-05-05
    • Helpful (3)

      "Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Daemen College full-time

      Pros

      There was a team environment

      Cons

      There was no upward mobility.

      Daemen College2017-03-21
    • "Being a student comes first"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Buffalo, NY
      Recommends

      I have been working at Daemen College part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      As a student at Daemen College, I found it fairly easy to have a nice school/work life balance. My hours were based around my classes and study time.

      Cons

      A lot of events are on Saturday's, but there are usually only 1-2 Saturday events per month.

      Daemen College2016-03-27
    • "Graduate Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Graduate Assistant in Buffalo, NY
      Recommends

      I worked at Daemen College part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Awesome to receive the experience of teaching with the flexibility of having your own classroom, testing methods, behavior management, classroom management, and lessons.

      Cons

      Sometimes can be difficult to manage a full load of graduate work. Time management is crucial.

      Daemen College2015-08-03
    • Helpful (4)

      "Lack of leadership is painfully evident."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Daemen College full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Free tuition for my children, myself or spouse.

      Cons

      Many people in the higher key levels are not qualified. It is a business of making (or manufacturing) numbers, making things appear ideal to prospective students, when in reality they are not. Its all about money.

      Advice to Management

      Actually management is where the house cleaning needs to start.

      Daemen College2015-05-06
    • Helpful (3)

      "Few resources"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Daemen College full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Community is generally close-knit and some departments are very supportive of each other.

      Cons

      Year after year I saw enthusiastic new employees with great ideas lose their steam as the rest of the campus slogged on. Only the major players are listened to around the table, although much lip service is given to saying otherwise. I had high hopes for Daemen, but after giving 10+ years of my life, I'm not looking back.

      Advice to Management

      Hopeful that new administration brings change, but not certain this will be the case. To the new president, I hope you don't lose the student-centeredness Daemen has been known for. It was very disheartening to see you decline to attend student events over and over the last two years.

      Daemen College2014-08-10
    • Helpful (2)

      "Meh"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Daemen College

        Pros

        flexibility, location, benefits, cost of living

        Cons

        amateur hour, clocks don't work

        Daemen College2014-01-21
      • "The culture is one of a small community"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Daemen College full-time

        Pros

        The people, the culture, the working environment

        Cons

        little upward movement in positions

        Daemen College2013-07-28
      Found 12 reviews