Daily Bruin Reviews | Glassdoor

Daily Bruin Reviews

Updated Apr 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
94%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Great place for students from any major"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Copy Editor 
    Recommends

    I worked at Daily Bruin part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    At DB, you get the opportunity to learn valuable life and job skills for free in a legitimate newsroom setting. Working with various sections and types of people will only broaden your prospectives and practice cooperation in a group setting.

    Cons

    -Like most offices, there can be office drama among coworkers, but you are only as involved as you'd like to be. -Although you can get paid, think of it as a paid experience and not a job. You are not paid like it's a job. Print journalism is dying. Just be happy you're getting something.

    Daily Bruin2019-04-22
  2. "Great Way to to get into journalism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Intern 
    Recommends

    I worked at Daily Bruin part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Everyone at the Daily Bruin is nice, and really brings you into the team

    Cons

    -Can be big and cumbersome at times - assignments can pile up

    Daily Bruin2019-03-06
  3. "Not that close to team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Daily Bruin part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can work from dorm/room and don't need to go into the office to do the work, there's only weekly meetings that run quite fast

    Cons

    Didn't really get to know the team that well, director was pretty absent but that wasn't her fault

    Continue reading
    Daily Bruin2019-03-02
  4. "Perfect for building a writer/journalist portfolio"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Arts and Entertainment News Reporter in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Daily Bruin for more than a year

    Pros

    You get a real newsroom experience and work closely with the news team, photographers, illustrators, videographers, editors and copy editors. You also get to pitch a lot and write about some very exciting topics.

    Cons

    Sometimes it might feel "too high school"

    Daily Bruin2018-06-19
  5. "News Reporter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - News Reporter in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Daily Bruin part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Training from talented real journalists Opportunities for growth Great story opportunities and access to events/people Great coworkers

    Cons

    High turnover for news staff High stress, with no pay for junior staff

    Continue reading
    Daily Bruin2018-02-06
  6. "Pretty good I guess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Online Director 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Daily Bruin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    DB's a fun place. Lot's of really cool people here.

    Cons

    It's large, meaning you have to get involved to get to know people well. I'd say it's worth it though!

    Daily Bruin2017-11-17
  7. "Contributor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Daily Bruin

    Pros

    Great place to gain experience working in a fast-paced newsroom, rack-up by lines and be part of a collaborative community

    Cons

    Contributors do not get paid

    Daily Bruin2017-11-03
  8. "Great place to get professional experience / build skill set"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Staff in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Daily Bruin part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Professional Looks good to future employers

    Cons

    Hiccups of being run by fellow students One year nature of leadership positions

    Daily Bruin2017-10-26
  9. "Cool place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I have been working at Daily Bruin

    Pros

    Very flexible hours and understanding senior staff

    Cons

    Work is repetitive, but it's okay. The people are still nice.

    Daily Bruin2017-10-20
  10. "Great way to build your skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Daily Bruin part-time

    Pros

    A great way for burgeoning journalists to build their skills and work in a collaborative environment.

    Cons

    No big downsides, my experience has been great

    Daily Bruin2017-10-18
Found 29 reviews